people banner2


Academic Leadership

The Academic Leadership team are responsible for planning and implementing the Institute's range of research and engagement initiatives, as well as developing prospective projects and external links.


Professor Andrés Velasco

Dean of the School of Public Policy

Tony Travers

Professor Tony Travers

Associate Dean of the School of Public Policy

Department of Government


Dr Babken Babajanian

Associate Professorial Lecturer; MPA Programme Director


Professor Daniel Sturm

EMPA/EMPP Programme Director

Professor of Economics

Sara Hagemann

Dr Sara Hagemann

Associate Professor in European Politics, EMPA/EMPP Programme Deputy Director


Simon Bastow

Dr Simon Bastow

Assistant Professorial Lecturer, MPP Programme Director


Professor Dilly Fung

LSE Pro-Director for Education

Professor in Practice at the School of Public Policy


Teaching Faculty

Nava Ashraf

Professor Nava Ashraf

Professor of Economics


Dr Babken Babajanian

Associate Professorial Lecturer; MPA Programme Director

Oriana Bandiera

Professor Oriana Bandiera

Professor of Economics

Gwyn Bevan

Professor Gwyn Bevan

Emeritus Professor of Economics

Gharad Bryan

Dr Gharad Bryan

Lecturer in Economics

Robin Burgess

Professor Robin Burgess

Professor of Economics

Francesco Caselli

Professor Francesco Caselli

Norman Sosnow Professor of Economics

Torun Dewan

Professor Torun Dewan

Professor of Political Science


Dr Jeremiah Dittmar

Lecturer in Economics

Tasha Fairfield

Dr Tasha Fairfield

Assistant Professor of International Development

Dr Barbara Fasolo

Dr Barbara Fasolo

Associate Professor of Behavioural Science

Greg Fischer

Dr Greg Fischer

Lecturer in Economics

Conor Gearty

Professor Conor Gearty

Professor in Human Rights

Lloyd Gruber

Dr Lloyd Gruber

Assistant Professor of Political Economy of Development

Sara Hagemann

Dr Sara Hagemann

Associate Professor of European Politics, EMPA/EMPP Programme Deputy Director

Dominik Hangartner

Dr Dominik Hangartner

Assistant Professor in Political Science

Rafael Hortala-Vallve

Dr Rafael Hortala-Vallve

Associate Professor of Political Science and Public Policy

Ethan Ilzetzki

Dr Ethan Ilzetzki

Lecturer in Economics

Stephen Jenkins

Professor Stephen Jenkins

Professor of Economic and Social Policy

Portrait photo of Chelsea Johnson

Dr Chelsea Johnson

LSE Fellow - Political Science and Public Policy


Professor Adnan Khan

Professor in Practice 

Camille Landais

Professor Camille Landais

Associate Professor of Economics

Martin Lodge

Professor Martin Lodge

Professor of Political Science and Public Policy

Henry Overman

Professor Henry Overman

Professor of Economic Geography


Dr Berkay Ozcan

Associate Professor of Social Policy

Thomas Sampson

Dr Thomas Sampson

Lecturer in Economics

Johannes Spinnewijn

Dr Johannes Spinnewijn

Lecturer in Economics


Professor Daniel Sturm

Professor of Economics, EMPA/EMPP Programme Director

Joachim Wehner

Dr Joachim Wehner

Associate Professor of Public Policy

Final selection_Tinghua-1

Dr Tinghua Yu

LSE Fellow - School of Public Policy

SPP Fellows

The School of Public Policy is delighted to host a cadre of high-quality Fellows who have made a significant and sustained impact on policy-making. Each Fellow works with the SPP, its faculty and its students to harness academic insight and complement it with real-world experience to make effective public policy.

Nick Clegg [High-Res]

Sir Nick Clegg

Sir Nick Clegg served as Deputy Prime Minister of the United Kingdom from 2010 to 2015 and as Leader of the Liberal Democrats from 2007 to 2015. He was the MP for Sheffield Hallam from 2005 to 2017 and was a Member of the European Parliament from 1999 to 2004. 

R Chang icon

Professor Roberto Chang

BP Centennial Professor

David Davis

David Davis MP

David has been a Parliamentarian Fellow of the SPP since 2014, the Member of Parliament for Haltemprice and Howden since 1997. A strong defender of civil liberties, he is also a former Secretary of State for Exiting the European Union, former Foreign Office Minister, and Chairman of the Public Accounts Committee.  

Greg Fischer

Greg Fischer 

Dr Greg Fischer is a Professor in Practice at the School of Public Policy and is the Chief Economist at YAnalytics, where he determines research direction and oversees the development and implementation of impact underwriting and assessment methodologies. Greg engages with SPP students to help them understand the impact investing sector and co-teaches on our executive degrees. Greg holds a PhD from MIT and previously worked in the private equity and finance sector.


Mr Antonio Roldán 

Visiting Professor in Practice

Professional Services Staff

The Professional Services team supports students and faculty to deliver the School's teaching, research, and engagement initiatives. 

Head of Professional Services

Paul Sullivan

Paul Sullivan

Manager, School of Public Policy

Dean's Office

Final selection_Pilar-1

Pilar Frogley

Executive Assistant to Professor Andrés Velasco, Dean of the School of Public Policy

 Programmes Team 


Caroline Milton

Head of Programme Delivery

Michelle Batten

Michelle Batten

MPA Programme Manager


Heather Gorrie

Executive Programmes Manager


Yoshi Shungu

MPA Programme Coordinator


Alex Taylor

MPP Programme Administrator

Lynette York

Lynette York

Student Advisor and Life Coach, and Admissions Manager

Person Icon


Executive Programmes Coordinator



Anne Clinton

SPP Careers Consultant

 Events, Communications and Alumni Engagement Team

Liouta Polly

Polly Liouta

Events and Communications Manager

Matea 2

Matea Krivanek

Events and Operations Coordinator

Karina 200x200

Karina Moxon

Digital Communications Officer


Hannah Shearer

Alumni Engagement Officer

Executive Programmes Development


Andrew Brennen

Executive Programmes Development Manager

Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) at LSE

LSE is committed to building a diverse, equitable and truly inclusive university. LSE believes that diversity is critical to maintaining excellence in all of our endeavours. We seek to enable all members of the School community to achieve their full potential in an environment characterised by equality of respect and opportunity.

The School’s commitment to equity, diversity and inclusion is one of its six strategic priorities, as highlighted in the LSE Strategy 2020, and ‘equality of respect and opportunity’ is one of the core principles set out in the School’s Ethics Code. The EDI Office acts to promote and further LSE’s commitment to equity, diversity and inclusion for all members of the School community.

To provide some examples of our work:

  • Athena SWAN is a national charter mark – run by the Equality Challenge Unit (ECU) – that recognises the advancement of gender equality in higher education: representation, progression and success for all. The School has been working towards an institutional bronze Athena SWAN award.
  • In 2017, LSE will be convening a self-assessment team to work towards the ECU’s Race Equality Charter Mark.  The Race Equality Charter is focussed on improving the representation, progression and success of black and minority ethnic (BME) staff and students in Higher Education.
  • LSE is a Stonewall diversity champion and is part of the Stonewall Workplace Equality Index.
  • LSE has also worked closely with DisabledGo to develop online access guides to all the School’s buildings, and route maps around campus.