People

People

Department staff

 Management team

HODjenkinsStephen

Head of Department

Professor Stephen Jenkins

Room OLD 2.29
+44 (0)20 7955 6527
s.jenkins@lse.ac.uk

DHODseckinelginHakan

Deputy Head of Department

Dr Hakan Seckinelgin

Room OLD 2.27
+44 (0)20 7955 6038
m.h.seckinelgin@lse.ac.uk

DamianROBERTS2

Department Manager

Damian Roberts

Room OLD 2.46
+44 (0)20 7955 7345
D.P.Roberts@lse.ac.uk

Academic staff

TomBIEGERT

Dr Thomas Biegert

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.53
t.biegert@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays 10.00-12.00
Book via LSE for You.

BurchardtTania

Dr Tania Burchardt

Associate Professor

Room 32L 3.30
+44 (0)20 7955 6700
t.burchardt@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:

CheliotisLeonidas

Dr Leonidas Cheliotis

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.51
+44 (0)20 7955 7698
l.cheliotis@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 12.00-14.00
Book via email or drop in.

DeanHartley

Professor Hartley Dean

Professor of Social Policy

Room OLD 2.59
+44 (0)20 7955 6184
h.dean@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Fridays 10.00-11.00
Book via LSE for You

GiorgioDiGESSA2

Dr Giorgio Di Gessa 

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.50
+44 (0)20 7955 6436
g.di-gessa@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Fridays 9.30-11.00
Book via LSE for You

ExleySonia

Dr Sonia Exley

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.64
+44 (0)20 7955 7369
s.exley@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours

FleckensteinTimo

Dr Timo Fleckenstein

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.60
+44 (0)20 7955 6994
t.fleckenstein@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours

GjoncaArjan

Dr Arjan Gjonca

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.45
+44 (0)20 7955 7663
a.gjonca@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays 12.00-13.00
Book via LSE for You

HildebrandtTimothy

Dr Timothy Hildebrandt

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.56
+44 (0)20 7955 7344
t.r.hildebrandt@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays 12.00-14.00
Between 12.00-13.00 book via LSE for You
Between 13.00-14.00 drop in

Hills.John

Professor John Hills

Richard Titmuss Professor of Social Policy

Room 32LIF 3.32
+44 (0)20 7955 7419
j.hills@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Wednesdays 9.30-10.30
Book via LSE for You

IshkanianArmine

Dr Armine Ishkanian

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.54
+44 (0)20 7955 7354
a.ishkanian@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 12.00-13.30
Book via LSE for You

JenkinsStephenLSE

Professor Stephen Jenkins

Professor of Economic and Social Policy

Room OLD 2.29
+44 (0)20 7955 6527
s.jenkins@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours: 
Mondays 9.00-10.00
Wednesdays 9.00-10.00
Thursdays 17.40-18.40
Book via LSE for You or email for appointment

JonesHayley

Dr Hayley Jones

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.50
h.jones3@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:

KumarSunil

Dr Sunil Kumar

Lecturer in Social Policy and Development

Room OLD 2.55
+44 (0)20 7955 6195
s.kumar@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Wednesdays 12.30-14.00
Book via LSE for You

LeGrandJulian

Sir Julian Le Grand

Professor of Social Policy

+44 (0)20 7107 7353
j.legrand@lse.ac.uk

LewisDavid

Professor David Lewis

Professor of Social Policy and Development

Room OLD 2.40
+44 (0)20 7955 6037
d.lewis@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours

MangenSteen

Dr Steen Mangen

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.62
+44 (0)20 7955 7356
s.mangen@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Wednesdays 12.30-14.00
Book via email

McmanusIan

Dr Ian McManus

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.53
i.mcmanus@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 14.00-16.00
Book via email

MunroEileen

Professor Eileen Munro

Professor of Social Policy

Room OLD 2.33
+44 (0)20 7955 7349
e.munro@lse.ac.uk

Advice and Feedback hours:
Thursdays 11.00-12.00
Book via email

MurphyMichael

Professor Michael Murphy

Professor of Demography

Room OLD 2.61
+44 (0)20 7955 7661
m.murphy@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Wednesdays 11.00-12.00
Book via LSE for You

TimNEWBURN

Professor Tim Newburn

Professor of Criminology and Social Policy

Room OLD 2.40a
+44 (0)20 7955 6220
t.newburn@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours

male-silhouette-200x200

Dr Adam Oliver

Associate Professor (Reader)

Room OLD 2.35
+44 (0)20 7955 6471
a.j.oliver@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 10.30-11.30
Drop in

BerkayOZCAN

Dr Berkay Özcan

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.32
+44 (0)20 7955 6867
b.ozcan@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
On Sabbatical leave until January 2018

PhillipsCoretta

Dr Coretta Phillips

Associate Professor (Reader)

Room OLD 2.28
+44 (0)20 7955 7974
coretta.phillips@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 14.30-16.00
Thursdays 15.30-17.00
Book via LSE for You

PlattLucinda

Professor Lucinda Platt

Professor of Social Policy and Sociology

Room OLD 2.25
+44 (0)20 7955 6829
l.platt@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays 15.00-16.00
Tuesdays 12.00-13.00
Book via LSE for You

PowerAnne

Professor Anne Power

Professor of Social Policy

Room OLD 2.57
+44 (0)20 7955 6330
anne.power@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours

SeckinelginHakan

Dr Hakan Seckinelgin

Associate Professor (Reader)

Room OLD 2.27
+44 (0)20 7955 6038
m.h.seckinelgin@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours

SheelyAmanda

Dr Amanda Sheely

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.52
+44 (0)20 7955 7348
a.sheely@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Wednesdays 12.00-14.00
Book via LSE for You

MikeSHINER

Dr Michael Shiner

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.34
+44 (0)20 7955 6355
m.shiner@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays 14.30-15.30 by appointment
Mondays 15.30-16.30 drop in

ShutesIsabel

Dr Isabel Shutes

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.58
+44 (0)20 7955 7364
i.h.shutes@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
LT and ST: Wednesdays 16.00-18.00

StewartKitty

Dr Kitty Stewart

Assocaite Professor

Room OLD 2.36
+44 (0)20 7955 7343
k.j.stewart@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Wednesdays 9.30-11.00
Book via LSE For You

WestAnne

Professor Anne West

Professor of Education Policy

Room OLD 2.30
+44 (0)20 7955 7269
a.west@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 16.00-17.00
Book via email

 

Professional services staff

DamianROBERTS2

Department Manager

Damian Roberts

Room OLD 2.46
+44 (0)20 7955 7345
D.P.Roberts@lse.ac.uk

Responsible for: The Professional Services Team;
Human, Financial and Physical Resource Management;
Strategic Planning 

AshBUTT

Aifsha Butt, 
Undergraduate Administrator 

Room OLD 2.48
+44 (0)20 7955 7501
a.butt5@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Undergraduate study:
Moodle, reading lists, events, SSLC, exams and assessment

ClareGorman

Clare Gorman,
MSc and Research (REF) Administrator

Room OLD 2.48
+44 (0)20 7106 1259
c.gorman@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc study: exams & assessment;
the REF and faculty research administration

SarahHELIAS

Sarah Hélias

PhD Administrator and Web Editor

Room OLD 2.48
+44 (0)20 7955 7375
s.helias@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Doctoral study, research programme regulations, PhD research seminars, Department website

ChrisKENNEDY

Chris Kennedy
MSc Administrator

Room OLD 2.48
+44 (0)20 7955 6646
c.kennedy3@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc study:
Moodle, reading lists, events and SSLC

LisaMcELHINNEY

Lisa McElhinney, 
Undergraduate Programmes Manager

Room OLD 2.48
+44 (0)20 7955 7367
l.mcelhinney@lse.ac.uk 

Ask me about: Undergraduate study:
student welfare, course choice, timetabling, exams and assessment and programme regulations

MariaSCHLEGEL2

Maria Schlegel,
Events and Communications Officer

Room OLD 2.48
+44 (0)20 7955 7044
m.s.schlegel@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Departmental website, events and communications

CraigSTEWART

Dr Craig Stewart,
Teaching Operations Manager (Postgraduate)

Room OLD 2.48
+44 (0)20 7955 6650
c.j.stewart@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc and PhD study:
student welfare, course choice, timetabling and programme regulations; Departmental workload planning

 

Research clusters: staff and associates

ALPHA

ALPHA

Ageing. Lifecourse and Population Health Analysis

Who's Who

CASE

CASE

Centre for Analysis of Social Exclusion

Who's Who

EducationResearchGroup

Education Research Group

Research in education policy and practice

Who's Who

III original

International Inequalities Institute

Inter-disciplinary analysis of inequalities

Who's Who

Mannheim

Mannheim Centre for Criminology

Provides a multidisciplinrary forum for criminology

Who's Who

Pop@LSE

Population at LSE

Population research on formal and social demography

Who's Who

Guest teachers

male-silhouette-200x200

Jeffrey Demarco

j.demarco@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays 16.00-17.00
Room OLD 1.21

GyoriMario

Mario Gyori

m.gyori@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 15.00-16.00
Room OLD 2.31

HockleyTony

Dr Tony Hockley

t.c.hockley@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours LT and ST:
Wednesdays 10.00-11.00
Room OLD 2.31

female-silhouette-200x200

Naomi Littlejohn

n.m.littlejohn@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours LT and ST:
Tuesdays 14.00-15.00
Room OLD 2.31

female-silhouette-200x200

Klara Lorenz

k.h.lorenz@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Fridays 11.00-12.00
Room LCH 3.07

male-silhouette-200x200

Mansoor Mir

m.mir2@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays 16.00-17.00
Room OLD 1.21

NandagiriRishita

Rishita Nandagiri

r.nandagiri@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays 10.00-11.00
Room OLD 2.31
Book via LSE for You

male-silhouette-200x200

Marco Palillo

m.palillo@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours MT:
Tuesdays 12.00-13.00
Room OLD 2.31

female-silhouette-200x200

Linda Pedersen

l.l.pedersen@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays 16.00-17.00
Room OLD 2.31

ProvanBert

Dr Bert Provan

j.a.provan@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 10.00-11.00
Room OLD 2.31

RATZMANN

Nora Ratzmann

n.ratzmann@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays 10.00-11.00
Room 32 LIF.3.25 

 

Emeritus and visiting staff

Emeritus

Dr David Billis
Emeritus Reader in Social Policy
d.billis@lse.ac.uk

Dr John Carrier
Emeritus Researcher
j.carrier@lse.ac.uk

Professor David Downes
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
d.downes@lse.ac.uk

Professor Howard Glennerster
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
h.glennerster@lse.ac.uk

Professor Anthony Hall
Emeritus Professor in Social Policy
a.l.hall@lse.ac.uk

Dr Christopher Langford
Emeritus Reader in Demography
c.langford@lse.ac.uk

Professor Jane Lewis
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
j.lewis@lse.ac.uk

Professor David Piachaud
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
d.piachaud@lse.ac.uk

Dr Gail Wilson
Emeritus Reader in Social Policy
g.wilson@lse.ac.uk

Visiting

Debbie Blair
Visiting Fellow
d.blair@lse.ac.uk

Professor Ama De-Graft Aikins
Visiting Senior Fellow
a.de-graft-aikins@lse.ac.uk

Ayla Goksel
Visiting Fellow
a.goksel@lse.ac.uk

Professor Judith Harwin
Visiting Professor
j.harwin@lse.ac.uk

Dr Tony Hockley
Visiting Senior Fellow
t.c.hockley@lse.ac.uk

Dr Jennifer Hsu
Visiting Fellow
j.y.hsu@lse.ac.uk

Dr Manpreet Janeja
Visiting Fellow
m.k.janeja@lse.ac.uk

Professor John Macnicol
Visiting Professor
j.macnicol@lse.ac.uk

Dr Chiara Orsini
Visiting Fellow
c.orsini@lse.ac.uk

Dr Malcolm Torry
Visiting Senior Fellow
m.n.torry@lse.ac.uk