Old Building entrance

People

Department staff

 Management team

JenkinsStephenLSE

Head of Department

Professor Stephen Jenkins

Room OLD 2.29
+44 (0)20 7955 6527
s.jenkins@lse.ac.uk

KittySTEWART

Deputy Head of Department

Dr Kitty Stewart

Room OLD 2.36
+44 (0)20 7955 7343
k.j.stewart@lse.ac.uk

DamianROBERTS2

Department Manager

Damian Roberts

Room OLD 2.46
+44 (0)20 7955 7345
D.P.Roberts@lse.ac.uk

Academic staff

Barbuscia Anna

Dr Anna Barbuscia

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.50
+44 (0)20 7955 7744
a.barbuscia@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Wednesdays 11.00-13.00
Book via LSE for You.
And at other times by mutual agreement (email for an appointment).

 

TomBIEGERT

Dr Thomas Biegert

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.53
+44 (0)20 7955 7476
t.biegert@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Wednesdays 16.00-18.00
Book via LSE For You
And at other times by mutual agreement (email for an appointment).

 

BurchardtTania

Dr Tania Burchardt

Associate Professor

Room 32L 3.30
+44 (0)20 7955 6700
t.burchardt@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 12.30-14.00
Book via LSE for You. 
And at other times by mutual agreement (email for an appointment).

 

CheliotisLeonidas

Dr Leonidas Cheliotis

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.51
+44 (0)20 7955 7698
l.cheliotis@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 10.00-11.00
Thursdays 13.00-14.00
Book via LSE for You. 
And at other times by mutual agreement (email for an appointment).

 

DeanHartley

Professor Hartley Dean

Professor of Social Policy

Room OLD 2.59
+44 (0)20 7955 6184
h.dean@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
On Sabbatical leave


ExleySonia

Dr Sonia Exley

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.64
+44 (0)20 7955 7348
s.exley@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays 10.30-12.30
Book via LSE for You
And at other times by mutual agreement (email for an appointment).

 

FleckensteinTimo

Dr Timo Fleckenstein

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.60
+44 (0)20 7955 6994
t.fleckenstein@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays 11.30-12.30
Book via LSE for You
And at other times by mutual agreement (email for an appointment).


HildebrandtTimothy

Dr Timothy Hildebrandt

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.56
+44 (0)20 7955 7344
t.r.hildebrandt@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays 14.00-16.00
Book via LSE for You.
And at other times by mutual agreement (email for an appointment).

Hills.John

Professor John Hills

Richard Titmuss Professor of Social Policy

Room OLD 2.62
+44 (0)20 7955 7419
j.hills@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 9.30-10.30
Book via LSE for You
Other times by appointment via Cheryl Conner

IshkanianArmine

Dr Armine Ishkanian

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.54
+44 (0)20 7955 7354
a.ishkanian@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Dr Armine Ishkanian will not be holding advice and feedback hours for the remainder of the Lent Term. Please refrain from emailing Dr Ishkanian during this period.

JenkinsStephenLSE

Professor Stephen Jenkins

Professor of Economic and Social Policy

Room OLD 2.29
+44 (0)20 7955 6527
s.jenkins@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours: 
Mondays 9.00-10.00
Wednesdays 9.00-10.00
Thursdays 17.40-18.40
Book via LSE for You
And at other times by mutual agreement (email for an appointment).


JonesHayley

Dr Hayley Jones

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.50
+44 (0)20 7955 6169
h.jones3@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays 15.15-17.15
Book via LSE for You
And at other times by mutual agreement (email for an appointment).


KumarSunil

Dr Sunil Kumar

Lecturer in Social Policy and Development

Room OLD 2.55
+44 (0)20 7955 6195
s.kumar@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Wednesdays 12.00-13.00
Thursdays 15.00-16.00
Book via LSE for You
And at other times by mutual agreement (email for an appointment).

LeGrandJulian

Professor Sir Julian Le Grand

Professor of Social Policy

+44 (0)20 7107 7353
j.legrand@lse.ac.uk



LewisDavid

Professor David Lewis

Professor of Social Policy and Development

Room OLD 2.40
+44 (0)20 7955 6037
d.lewis@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays 9.30-11.30
9.30-10.30 book via LSE for You
10.30-11.30- Drop in
And at other times by mutual agreement (email for an appointment).

 

MurphyMichael

Professor Michael Murphy

Professor of Demography

Room OLD 2.61
+44 (0)20 7955 7661
m.murphy@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
On Sabbatical leave

 

TimNEWBURN

Professor Tim Newburn

Professor of Criminology and Social Policy

Room OLD 2.40a
+44 (0)20 7955 6220
t.newburn@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 9.00-10.00
Thursdays 9.00-10.00
Email for an appointment at these times.
Email for an appointment at other times by mutual agreement. 

male-silhouette-200x200

Dr Adam Oliver

Associate Professor (Reader)

Room OLD 2.35
+44 (0)20 7955 6471
a.j.oliver@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 10.30-12.30
Book via LSE for You
And at other times by mutual agreement (email for an appointment).

BerkayOZCAN

Dr Berkay Özcan

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.32
+44 (0)20 7955 6867
b.ozcan@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays 14.50-16.50
Book via LSE for You
And at other times by mutual agreement (email for an appointment).

 

PhillipsCoretta

Dr Coretta Phillips

Associate Professor (Reader)

Room OLD 2.28
+44 (0)20 7955 7974
coretta.phillips@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 16.00-17.30
Thursdays 14.00-15.30
Book via LSE for You
And at other times by mutual agreement (email for an appointment).

 

PlattLucinda

Professor Lucinda Platt

Professor of Social Policy and Sociology

Room OLD 2.25
+44 (0)20 7955 6829
l.platt@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays 14.00-15.00
Tuesdays 11.30-12.30
Book via LSE for You
And at other times by mutual agreement (email for an appointment).

SeckinelginHakan

Dr Hakan Seckinelgin

Associate Professor (Reader)

Room OLD 2.27
+44 (0)20 7955 6038
m.h.seckinelgin@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours
On sabbatical leave

SheelyAmanda

Dr Amanda Sheely

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.52
+44 (0)20 7955 7348
a.sheely@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays from 14.00-17.00
Book via LSE for You
And at other times by mutual agreement (email for an appointment).

MikeSHINER

Dr Michael Shiner

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.34
+44 (0)20 7955 6355
m.shiner@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 15.00-17.00
Book via LSE For You
And at other times by mutual agreement (email for an appointment).

 

ShutesIsabel

Dr Isabel Shutes

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.58
+44 (0)20 7955 7364
i.h.shutes@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
On leave in Michaelmas and Lent Term.


KittySTEWART

Dr Kitty Stewart

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.36
+44 (0)20 7955 7343
k.j.stewart@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Wednesdays 9.30-11.00
Book via LSE For You
Thursdays 15.15-16.15 Drop in
And at other times by mutual agreement (email for an appointment).

WestAnne

Professor Anne West

Professor of Education Policy

Room OLD 2.30
+44 (0)20 7955 7269
a.west@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 16.00-18.00
Book via email for a bespoke appointment.

 

Professional services staff


Student Administration Office (OLD 2.48) opening hours

Term-time: 0930-1730*
Non-term time:1000-1600

*Please note that the office is closed for meetings between 1100-1200 on one Thursday each month and between 1400-1600 on two Wednesdays per term. Exact dates will be published here once confirmed.

DamianROBERTS2

Damian Roberts
Department Manager

Room OLD 2.46
+44 (0)20 7955 7345
D.P.Roberts@lse.ac.uk

Responsible for: The Professional Services Team;
Human, Financial and Physical Resource Management;
Strategic Planning 

AbiBlack

Abi Black
PhD and Departmental Research Administrator

Room OLD 2.48
+44 (0)20 7955 7375
a.a.black@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: All aspects of PhD study in the Department 

 

ClareGorman

Clare Gorman,
Undergraduate Programmes Manager

Room OLD 2.48
+44 (0)20 7106 1259
c.gorman@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Undergraduate study: 
student welfare, course choice, timetabling, exams and assessment and programme regulations

ChrisKENNEDY

Chris Kennedy
MSc Administrator

Room OLD 2.48
+44 (0)20 7955 6646
c.kennedy3@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc study:
Moodle, reading lists, events and SSLC

MariaSCHLEGEL2

Maria Schlegel,
Events and Communications Officer

Room OLD 2.48
+44 (0)20 7955 7044
m.s.schlegel@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Departmental website, events and communications

CraigSTEWART

Dr Craig Stewart,
Teaching Operations Manager (Postgraduate)

Room OLD 2.48
+44 (0)20 7955 6650
c.j.stewart@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc and PhD study:
student welfare, course choice, timetabling and programme regulations; Departmental workload planning

CharlieTickle

Charlie Tickle
MSc Administrator

Room OLD 2.48
+44 (0)20 7955 7367
c.b.tickle@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc Administration:
assessment & assessment feedback, coursework extensions, deferrals, exam boards

 

JakeWatkins

Jake Watkins
Undergraduate Administrator

Room OLD 2.48
+44 (0)20 7955 7501
j.watkins3@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Undergraduate study:
Moodle, reading lists, events, SSLC, exams and assessments

 

Research students

Research clusters: staff and associates

ALPHA

ALPHA

Ageing. Lifecourse and Population Health Analysis

Who's Who

 

 

CASElogo

CASE

Centre for Analysis of Social Exclusion

Who's Who

 

 

EducationResearchGroup

Education Research Group

Research in education policy and practice

Who's Who

 

 

III

International Inequalities Institute

Inter-disciplinary analysis of inequalities

Who's Who

 

 

Mannheim

Mannheim Centre for Criminology

Provides a multidisciplinrary forum for criminology

Who's Who

 

 

Pop@LSE

Population at LSE

Population research on formal and social demography

Who's Who

 

 

LauraBainbridge

Dr Laura Bainbridge

ESRC Postdoctoral Fellow

l.bainbridge@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Guest teachers

LauraBainbridge

Dr Laura Bainbridge

l.bainbridge@lse.ac.uk

Course: SA221

Advice and feedback hours:
Fridays 14.00-15.00
Room OLD 2.53

 

BANCALARI

Antonella Bancalari

a.bancalari@lse.ac.uk

Course: SA104

Advice and feedback hours:
Fridays 14.30-15.30
Room OLD 2.31

 

male-silhouette-200x200

Mario Battaglini

m.battaglini@lse.ac.uk

Course: SA223

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays 10.00-11.00
Room OLD 2.31

 

BAYRAKDARSait

Dr Sait Bayrakdar

sait.bayrakdar@kcl.ac.uk

Course: SA429

Advice and feedback hours: 
LT only- Fridays 10.00-11.00
Room OLD 2.31

 

female-silhouette-200x200

Irene Bucelli

i.bucelli@lse.ac.uk

Course: SA451

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 13.00-14.00
Room OLD 2.31

 

female-silhouette-200x200

Tammy Campbell

t.campbell1@lse.ac.uk

Course: SA201

Advice and feedback hours:
LT only- Fridays 14.00-15.00
Room OLD 2.31

 

male-silhouette-200x200

Jeffrey Demarco

j.demarco@lse.ac.uk

Course: SA217

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays 16.00-17.00
Room OLD 2.31


DONNALOJA

Victoria Donnaloja

v.donnaloja@lse.ac.uk

Course: SA101

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays 12.00-13.00
Room OLD 2.31

 

HockleyTony

Dr Tony Hockley

t.c.hockley@lse.ac.uk

Course: SA4F8

Advice and feedback hours:

 

female-silhouette-200x200

Rana Khazbak

r.khazbak@lse.ac.uk

Course: SA319

Advice and feedback hours:
MT only- Thursdays 14.00-15.00
Room OLD 2.31

 

MANN

Liz Mann

e.c.mann@lse.ac.uk

Course: SA221

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays 10.00-11.00
Room OLD 2.31

MIRMansoor

Dr Mansoor Mir

m.mir2@lse.ac.uk

Course: SA217

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays 16.00-17.00
Room OLD 2.31


NGJessica

Jessica Ng

j.ng10@lse.ac.uk

Course: SA201/SA303

Advice and feedback hours:
Fridays 12.00-13.00
Room OLD 2.31

 

male-silhouette-200x200

Marco Palillo

m.palillo@lse.ac.uk

Course: SA201

Advice and feedback hours:
MT only- Tuesdays 15.00-16.00
Room OLD 2.31


ProvanBert

Dr Bert Provan

j.a.provan@lse.ac.uk

Course: SA4F9

Advice and feedback hours:
MT only- Thursdays 12.00-13.00
Room OLD 2.31


 

Visiting Staff

 

AltmannRos

Baroness Ros Altmann

Visiting Professor in Practice

View profile.

 

 

male-silhouette-200x200

Professor John Brennan

Visiting Professor

j.brennan3@lse.ac.uk

 

 

ClausenMadsRoke

Mads Roke Clausen

Visiting Fellow

c.clausen@lse.ac.uk

View profile

 

DavakiKonstantina

Dr Konstantina Davaki

Visiting Fellow

k.davaki@lse.ac.uk

View profile

 

GokselAyla

Ayla Goksel

Visiting Fellow

a.goksel@lse.ac.uk

View profile

 

female-silhouette-200x200

Dr Ayse Guveli

Visiting Senior Fellow

a.guveli@lse.ac.uk

 

 

HockleyTony

Dr Tony Hockley

Visiting Senior Fellow

t.c.hockley@lse.ac.uk

View profile

 

male-silhouette-200x200

Professor John Macnicol

Visiting Professor

j.macnicol@lse.ac.uk

View profile

 

male-silhouette-200x200

Michael Spurr

Visiting Professor in Practice

m.spurr@lse.ac.uk

 

 

male-silhouette-200x200

Nicholas Timmins

Visiting Professor in Practice

nicholas.timmins@gmail.com

 

 

TorryMalcolm

Dr Malcolm Torry

Visiting Senior Fellow

m.n.torry@lse.ac.uk

View profile

 

The Department of Social Policy welcomes applications for Visiting Appointments from individuals outside LSE. More information.

Emeritus

Emeritus

Dr David Billis
Emeritus Reader in Social Policy
d.billis@lse.ac.uk

Dr John Carrier
Emeritus Researcher
j.carrier@lse.ac.uk

Professor David Downes
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
d.downes@lse.ac.uk

Professor Howard Glennerster
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
h.glennerster@lse.ac.uk

Professor Anthony Hall
Emeritus Professor in Social Policy
a.l.hall@lse.ac.uk

Dr Christopher Langford
Emeritus Reader in Demography
c.langford@lse.ac.uk

Professor Jane Lewis
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
j.lewis@lse.ac.uk

Professor Eileen Munro
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
e.munro@lse.ac.uk

Professor David Piachaud
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
d.piachaud@lse.ac.uk

Professor Anne Power
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
anne.power@lse.ac.uk

Dr Gail Wilson
Emeritus Reader in Social Policy
g.wilson@lse.ac.uk