Old Building entrance

People

Department staff

 Management team

WestAnne

Head of Department

Professor Anne West

Room OLD 2.30
+44 (0)20 7955 7269
a.west@lse.ac.uk

 

KittySTEWART

Deputy Head of Department

Dr Kitty Stewart

Room OLD 2.36
+44 (0)20 7955 7343
k.j.stewart@lse.ac.uk

 

DamianROBERTS2

Department Manager

Damian Roberts

Room OLD 2.46
+44 (0)20 7955 7345
D.P.Roberts@lse.ac.uk

 

Academic staff

TomBIEGERT

Dr Thomas Biegert

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.54
+44 (0)20 7955 7476
t.biegert@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays, 12.00pm-2.00pm
Book via the Student Hub.

 

BurchardtTania

Dr Tania Burchardt

Associate Professor

Room 32L 3.30
+44 (0)20 7955 6700
t.burchardt@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays, 4.00pm-5.30pm
Via skype or phone, at the scheduled times. Please book in via the Student Hub in the usual way, and then email Dr Tania Burchardt to arrange the mode of communication.  

CheliotisLeonidas

Dr Leonidas Cheliotis

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.51
+44 (0)20 7955 7698
l.cheliotis@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays, 10.00-12.00
Book via the Student Hub

ExleySonia

Dr Sonia Exley

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.64
+44 (0)20 7955 7348
s.exley@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Currently on maternity leave

 

Timo_Fleckenstein

Dr Timo Fleckenstein

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.60
+44 (0)20 7955 6994
t.fleckenstein@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays, 12.45pm -1.45pm
Book via the Student Hub

DavidGARCES_URZAINQUI

David Garces Urzainqui

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.50
+44 (0)20 7955 7744
d.garces-urzainqui@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays, 10.15am-11.45am and 4.15pm-5.45pm

Via Zoom. Book via the Student Hub

TimothyHILDEBRANDT

Dr Timothy Hildebrandt

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.56
+44 (0)20 7955 7344
t.r.hildebrandt@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays, 12.30pm-2.30pm
Via Zoom. Book via the Student Hub and I will send you a link to connect.

 

Hills.John

Professor John Hills

Richard Titmuss Professor of Social Policy

Room OLD 2.62
+44 (0)20 7955 7419
j.hills@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 1.30pm-2.30pm
Via Skype on johnhills4 at the times booked. Book via the Student Hub. 

 

VanesssaHUGHES

Dr Vanessa Hughes

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.38
+44 (0)20 7955 6582
v.hughes@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays, 3.00pm-5.00pm
Via Zoom. Book via the Student Hub and I will send you a link to connect.

IshkanianArmine

Dr Armine Ishkanian

Associate Professor

a.ishkanian@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
On secondment

 

JenkinsStephenLSE

Professor Stephen Jenkins

Professor of Economic and Social Policy

Room OLD 2.29
+44 (0)20 7955 6527
s.jenkins@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours: 
On sabbatical

JonesHayley

Dr Hayley Jones

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.50
+44 (0)20 7955 6169
h.jones3@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Currently on maternity leave

JohannKOEHLER

Dr Johann Koehler

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.59
+44 (0)20 7955 6184
j.koehler@lse.ac.uk

Advice and fedback hours: 
Tuesdays, 2.00pm-5.00pm
Please email Dr Koehler directly to arrange a 30-minute Zoom slot.

 

SunilKUMAR

Dr Sunil Kumar

Lecturer in Social Policy and Development

Room OLD 2.55
+44 (0)20 7955 6195
s.kumar@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays, 4.30pm-5.30pm
Wednesdays, 12.30pm-1.30pm

Dear student, please book Advice and Feedback hours via the Student Hub as usual. I will send you a ZOOM link to my virtual waiting room. Please be present online in the waiting room and I will admit you when your appointment is due. If you have to cancel your appointment, please email me in advance.

LeGrandJulian

Professor Sir Julian Le Grand

Professor of Social Policy

+44 (0)20 7107 7353
j.legrand@lse.ac.uk



LewisDavid

Professor David Lewis

Professor of Social Policy and Development

Room OLD 2.40
+44 (0)20 7955 6037
d.lewis@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays, 9.30am-12.00pm
Via Skype, Zoom or WhatsApp at the times booked.
Book via the Student Hub.

MurphyMichael

Professor Michael Murphy

Professor of Demography

Room OLD 2.61
+44 (0)20 7955 7661
m.murphy@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Fridays, 3.00pm-4.00pm
Please email Professor Murphy directly to make appointments.

TimNEWBURN

Professor Tim Newburn

Professor of Criminology and Social Policy

Room OLD 2.40a
+44 (0)20 7955 6220
t.newburn@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Daily 11am – 1pm.
Please contact by email to make an appointment.



male-silhouette-200x200

Dr Adam Oliver

Associate Professor (Reader)

Room OLD 2.35
+44 (0)20 7955 6471
a.j.oliver@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Please contact me by email to arrange an appointment.

BerkayOZCAN

Dr Berkay Özcan

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.32
+44 (0)20 7955 6867
b.ozcan@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays, 3.00pm-5.00pm
Via Zoom. Book via the Student Hub and I will send you a link to connect.

AmeliaPETERSON

Dr Amelia Peterson

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.38
+44 (0) 7955 6754
a.peterson1@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Wednesdays, 9.00am-11.00am
Via Skype on akmpeterson at the times booked. Book via the Student Hub.

PhillipsCoretta

Dr Coretta Phillips

Associate Professor (Reader)

Room OLD 2.28
+44 (0)20 7955 7974
coretta.phillips@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:

Weekly via Zoom. Book via the Student Hub and I will send you a link to connect (or send me an alternate time if you are in a different time zone).

 

PlattLucinda

Professor Lucinda Platt

Professor of Social Policy and Sociology

Room OLD 2.25
+44 (0)20 7955 6829
l.platt@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
On sabbatical

SeckinelginHakan

Dr Hakan Seckinelgin

Associate Professor (Reader)

Room OLD 2.27
+44 (0)20 7955 6038
m.h.seckinelgin@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays, 9.30am-11.30am
Via Skype on elginmarbles at the times booked. Book via the Student Hub

SheelyAmanda

Dr Amanda Sheely

Assistant Professor

Room OLD 2.52
+44 (0)20 7955 7348
a.sheely@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Wednesdays, 4.00pm-6.00pm
Book via the Student Hub for an online appointment

MikeSHINER

Dr Michael Shiner

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.34
+44 (0)20 7955 6355
m.shiner@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays, 10.00am-11.00am and 3.00pm-4.00pm
Book via the Student Hub

IsabelSHUTES

Dr Isabel Shutes

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.58
+44 (0)20 7955 7364
i.h.shutes@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays, 1.00pm-3.00pm
I will be carrying out all Advice and Feedback meetings online from next week, in line with the move to online teaching and learning at LSE. This includes meetings to discuss your dissertations (for those of you carrying out dissertations at present).  Book via the Student Hub

KittySTEWART

Dr Kitty Stewart

Associate Professor

Room OLD 2.36
+44 (0)20 7955 7343
k.j.stewart@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Generally Wednesdays, 11.00am-12.30pm with some variation.
Via Zoom - book as usual on the Student Hub and Dr Stewart will send a meeting invitation. Flexible on times if there are any time difference or other constraints  - students should email Dr Stewart to work out a time.

WestAnne

Professor Anne West

Professor of Education Policy

Room OLD 2.30
+44 (0)20 7955 7269
a.west@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:

Tuesdays, 4.00pm-6.00pm.
Please email in advance so that a Zoom meeting can be scheduled. Appointments can be outside of these hours (by mutual agreement).

YifeiYAN

Dr Yifei Yan

LSE Fellow

Room OLD 2.38
+44 (0)20 3486 2908
y.yan10@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Fridays, 3.00pm-5.00pm
Via Zoom. Book via the Student Hub and I will send you a link to connect. If you have any issues booking via the Student Hub, email Dr Yan directly.

 

Professional services staff

The Professional Services team supports students and faculty to deliver the School's teaching, research, and engagement initiatives.

Please contact us via email with any enquiries.

DamianROBERTS2

Damian Roberts
Department Manager

D.P.Roberts@lse.ac.uk

Responsible for: The Professional Services Team;
Human, Financial and Physical Resource Management;
Strategic Planning 


 

AbiBlack

Abi Black
PhD and Departmental Research Administrator

a.a.black@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: All aspects of PhD study in the Department, Department Blog


 

ClareGorman

Clare Gorman
Undergraduate Programmes Manager

c.gorman@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Undergraduate study: 
student welfare, course choice, timetabling, exams and assessment and programme regulations


 

RosieJONES

Rosie Jones
Student Engagement Officer

r.r.jones@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Alumni Mentoring


 

 

ChrisKENNEDY

Chris Kennedy
MSc Administrator

c.kennedy3@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc study:
Moodle, reading lists, events and SSLC

Currently on paternity leave.


 

MariaSCHLEGEL2

Maria Schlegel,
Events and Communications Officer

m.s.schlegel@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Departmental website, events and communications


 

CraigSTEWART

Dr Craig Stewart,
Teaching Operations Manager (Postgraduate)

c.j.stewart@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc and PhD study:
student welfare, course choice, timetabling and programme regulations; Departmental workload planning


 

CharlieTickle

Charlie Tickle
MSc Administrator

c.b.tickle@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: MSc Administration:
assessment & assessment feedback, coursework extensions, deferrals, exam boards


 

JakeWatkins

Jake Watkins
Undergraduate Administrator

j.watkins3@lse.ac.uk

Ask me about: Undergraduate study:
Moodle, reading lists, events, SSLC, exams and assessments


 

 

Research students

Research Staff and Clusters

Research Staff

GUTIERREZGabrial

Dr Gabriel Gutiérrez

ESRC Postdoctoral Fellow

g.gutierrez3@lse.ac.uk

View profile

 

Research Clusters

CASElogo

CASE

Centre for Analysis of Social Exclusion

Who's Who

 

 

EducationResearchGroup

Education Research Group

Research in education policy and practice

Who's Who

 

 

III

International Inequalities Institute

Inter-disciplinary analysis of inequalities

Who's Who

 

 

Mannheim

Mannheim Centre for Criminology

Provides a multidisciplinrary forum for criminology

Who's Who

 

 

Pop@LSE

Population at LSE

Population research on formal and social demography

Who's Who

 

 

Guest teachers

 

male-silhouette-200x200

Mario Battaligni

m.battaglini@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays, 16.00-17.00, room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

 

female-silhouette-200x200

Tammy Campbell

t.campbell1@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays, 10.00-11.00, room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

CHANG

Grace Chang

g.c.chang@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Fridays, 11.00-12.00, room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

 

KerrisCooper

Kerris Cooper

k.m.cooper@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours: 
Fridays, 13.00-14.00, room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

female-silhouette-200x200

Chiara De Poli

c.de-poli@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays 13.00-14.00, room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

 

HockleyTonyUpdated

Dr Tony Hockley

t.c.hockley@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays, 12.00-13.00, room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

 

female-silhouette-200x200

Rana Khazbak

r.khazbak@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Fridays, 12.00-13.00, room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

 

MANN

Liz Mann

e.c.mann@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Fridays, 14.00-15.00, room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

 

MULLINSphilippa

Philippa Mullins

p.s.mullins@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays, 14.00-15.00, room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub


NG

Jess Ng

j.ng10@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays, 15.00-16.00m room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub


ProvanBert

Dr Bert Provan

j.a.provan@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Tuesdays, 11.00-12.00, room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

 

alex-soderholm-200x200

Alex Soderholm

a.soderholm@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays, 13.00-14.00, room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

 

MadeleineStevens

Madeleine Stevens

m.stevens@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Thursdays, 11.00-12.00, room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

 

TORRISI

Orsola Torrisi

o.torrisi@lse.ac.uk

Advice and feedback hours:
Mondays, 15.00-16.00, room OLD 2.31
Book via the Student Hub

 


 

Visiting Staff

 

AltmannRos

Baroness Ros Altmann

Visiting Professor in Practice

altmannr@parliament.uk

View profile.

 


 

male-silhouette-200x200

Professor John Brennan

Visiting Professor

j.brennan3@lse.ac.uk

 


 

DavakiKonstantina

Dr Konstantina Davaki

Visiting Fellow

k.davaki@lse.ac.uk

View profile

 


 

PaulFrijters

Professor Paul Frijters

Visiting Professor

p.frijters@lse.ac.uk

View profile

 


 

HockleyTony

Dr Tony Hockley

Visiting Senior Fellow

t.c.hockley@lse.ac.uk

View profile

 


 

JohnMacnicol

Professor John Macnicol

Visiting Professor

j.macnicol@lse.ac.uk

View profile

 


 

male-silhouette-200x200

Michael Spurr

Visiting Professor in Practice

m.spurr@lse.ac.uk

 

 


 

NicholasTimmins

Nicholas Timmins

Visiting Professor in Practice

nicholas.timmins@gmail.com

 

 


 

 

The Department of Social Policy welcomes applications for Visiting Appointments from individuals outside LSE. More information.

Emeritus

Emeritus

Dr David Billis
Emeritus Reader in Social Policy
d.billis@lse.ac.uk


 

Dr John Carrier
Emeritus Researcher
j.carrier@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor Hartley Dean
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
h.dean@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor David Downes
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
d.downes@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor Howard Glennerster
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
h.glennerster@lse.ac.uk


 

Dr Christopher Langford
Emeritus Reader in Demography
c.langford@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor Jane Lewis
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
j.lewis@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor Eileen Munro
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
e.munro@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor David Piachaud
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
d.piachaud@lse.ac.uk


 

Professor Anne Power
Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
anne.power@lse.ac.uk


 

Dr Gail Wilson
Emeritus Reader in Social Policy
g.wilson@lse.ac.uk