LondonWestminsterBridge

Our people

Department staff

Our academic staff are affiliated to our three research clusters.

Senior Management Team

 

susana mourato July 2018

Head of Department

Prof Susana Mourato
s.mourato@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Economics

Steve Gibbons

Deputy Head of Department

Prof Steve Gibbons
s.gibbons@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

 

Henry Overman

Head of Economic Geography Cluster

Prof Henry Overman
h.g.overman@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

Giles Atkinson

Head of Environmental Economics & Policy Cluster

Prof Giles Atkinson
g.atkinson@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Policy

claire mercer

Head of Urbanisation, Planning and Development Cluster


Prof Claire Mercer

c.c.mercer@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Human Geography

Sam Colegate

Departmental Manager

Sam Colegate
s.colegate@lse.ac.uk

 

Economic Geography 

Gabriel Ahlfeldt

Dr Gabriel Ahlfeldt
g.ahlfeldt@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Urban Economics & Land Development

Programme Director for MSc Real Estate Economics and Finance

Felipe Carozzi

Dr Felipe Carozzi
f.carozzi@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor of Urban Economics & Economic Geography

Programme Director for PhD Economic Geography 

Paul Cheshire

Prof Paul Cheshire
p.cheshire@lse.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor of Economic Geography

Riccardo Crescenzi

Prof Riccardo Crescenzi
r.crescenzi@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

Marco Di Cataldo

Dr Marco Di Cataldo
m.di-cataldo@lse.ac.uk

Affiliate Post-doctoral Researcher

Susanne Frick

Dr Susanne Frick
S.A.Frick@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Local Economic Development 

Vernon Henderson

Prof Vernon Henderson
j.v.henderson@lse.ac.uk

School Professor of Economic Geography

Christian Hilber

Prof Christian Hilber
c.hilber@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

Simona Iammarino

Prof Simona Iammarino
s.iammarino@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

Neil Lee

Dr Neil Lee
n.d.lee@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Economic Geography

Programme Director for MSc Local Economic Development and BSc Geography with Economics 

Vassilis Monastiriotis

Dr Vassilis Monastiriotis
v.monastiriotis@lse.ac.uk

Affiliate; Associate Professor of Political Economy

Henry Overman

Prof Henry Overman
h.g.overman@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

Lindsay Relihan

Dr Lindsay Relihan
l.relihan@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Real Estate Economics and Finance

 

Olmo Silva

Prof Olmo Silva
o.silva@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Real Estate Economics & Finance

Director of Postgraduate Studies

Michael Storper

Prof Michael Storper
m.storper@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

Nikodem Szumilo

Dr Nikodem Szumilo
N.Szumilo@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Economic Geography

EnricoVanino

Dr Enrico Vanino
E.Vanino@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Economic Geography

 

Environmental Economics and Policy 

Giles Atkinson

Prof Giles Atkinson
g.atkinson@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Policy

Myung-Ae-Choi

Dr Myung-Ae Choi
M.A.Choi@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Environment 

 

Julia Corwin

Dr Julia Corwin 
j.e.corwin@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Environment 

Simon Dietz

Prof Simon Dietz
s.dietz@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Policy

Eugenie Dugoua

Dr Eugenie Dugoua
e.dugoua@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Environmental Economics 

 

Ben Groom

Prof Ben Groom
b.groom@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environment & Development Economics

Programme Director for MSc Environmental Economics and Climate Change

Nancy Holman

Dr Nancy Holman
n.e.holman@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Urban Planning

Programme Director for MSc Regional and Urban Planning Studies

David Jones

Prof David Jones
d.k.jones@lse.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor of Physical Geography

Michael Mason

Dr Michael Mason
m.mason@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Environmental Geography

Programme Director for BSc Environment and Development and BSc Environmental Policy with Economics 

susana mourato July 2018

Prof Susana Mourato
Head of Department

s.mourato@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Economics

Eric Neumayer

Prof Eric Neumayer
e.neumayer@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environment & Development

Charlie Palmer

Dr Charles Palmer
c.palmer1@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Environment & Development

Programme Director for MSc Environment and Development

 

Kasia Paprocki

Dr Kasia Paprocki
k.paprocki@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Environment

Richard Perkins

Dr Richard Perkins
r.m.perkins@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Environmental Geography

Programme Director for MSc Environmental Policy and Regulation

Sefi Roth

Dr Sefi Roth
s.j.roth@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor of Environmental Economics

Thomas Smith

Dr Thomas Smith
T.E.L.Smith@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Environmental Geography 

Urbanisation, Planning and Development 

Ryan in Cuba

Dr Ryan Centner
r.o.centner@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor of Urban Geography

Programme Director for MSc Human Geography and Urban Studies   

Sylvia Chant

Prof Sylvia Chant
s.chant@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Development Geography

Programme Co-Director for MSc Urbanisation and Development

Ian Gordon

Prof Ian Gordon
i.r.gordon@lse.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor of Human Geography

Nancy Holman

Dr Nancy Holman
n.e.holman@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Urban Planning

Programme Director for MSc Regional and Urban Planning Studies

GarethJones3

Prof Gareth A. Jones
g.a.jones@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Urban Geography

Murray Low

Dr Murray Low
m.m.low@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Human Geography


Alan Mace

Dr Alan Mace
a.mace@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Urban Planning Studies

Claire Mercer

Prof Claire Mercer
c.c.mercer@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Human Geography

NogueiraM-238x321

Dr Mara Nogueira
m.nogueira-teixeira@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Human Geography

Romola Sanyal

Dr Romola Sanyal
r.sanyal@lse.ac.uk 

Assistant Professor of Urban Geography

hyun shin

Prof Hyun Bang Shin
h.b.shin@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Geography & Urban Studies

Programme Co-Director for MSc Urbanisation and Development

Departmental Tutor, Undergraduate Programmes

Jayaraj Sundaresan

Dr Jayaraj Sundaresan
J.Sundaresan@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Human Geography

Austin Z

Dr Austin Zeiderman
a.zeiderman@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Geography

Programme Director for BA Geography 

Professional Services Staff

Sam Colegate

Sam Colegate
Departmental Manager

Room: STC 4.11
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6089
Email: s.colegate@lse.ac.uk

Ivanilza Da Mata

Ivanilza Da Mata 
Undergraduate Programmes Co-ordinator

Room: STC 4.06
Tel: +44 (0)20 7852 3636
Email: I.Da-Mata@lse.ac.uk

For programme enquiries: geog.ug@lse.ac.uk

Josh Hardman

Josh Hardman
Graduate Intern

Room: STC 4.06
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 5406
Email: j.hardman@lse.ac.uk

Mark Jenkin

Mark Jenkin 
Graduate Programmes Co-ordinator for:
MSc Human Geography & Urban Studies Research
MSc Local Economic Development
MSc Urbanisation & Development

Room: STC 4.05
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7496
Email: m.jenkin@lse.ac.uk

For programme enquiries: Geog.Pg@lse.ac.uk

IsobelJones

Isobel Jones
Communications and Events Officer

Room: STC 4.06
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6453
Email: I.P.Jones1@lse.ac.uk

Louise Millar

Louise Millar
Graduate Programmes Co-ordinator for:
MSc Environment & Development
MSc Environmental Economics and Climate Change
MSc Environmental Policy and Regulation

Room: STC 4.05
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6061
Email:  L.C.Millar@lse.ac.uk

For programme enquiries: Geog.Pg@lse.ac.uk

Peter Mills

Pete Mills
Graduate Programmes Co-ordinator for:
MSc Real Estate Economics & Finance
MSc Regional & Urban Planning Studies
PhD programmes

Room: STC 4.05
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7587
EmailP.B.Mills@lse.ac.uk

For programme enquiries: Geog.Pg@lse.ac.uk

Catherine Mitchell

Catherine Mitchell
Communications and Events Officer

Currently on maternity leave.

Luigi Pisanelli

Luigi Pisanelli
Deputy Department Manager

Room: STC 4.12
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7903
Email: L.Pisanelli@lse.ac.uk

For programme enquiries: geog.ug@lse.ac.uk

Visiting

The Department is pleased to host long-term visitors from renowned external institutions, who are able to make an important academic contribution by drawing on their specific field of expertise.

Our current Visiting Faculty members are:

Steven Arnold
Visiting Fellow

Dr Andrea Ascani
Visiting Fellow

Dr Maarten Bosker
Visiting Fellow

Andrea Filippetti 
Visiting Fellow

Amin Ghaziani
Visitng Senior Fellow

Dr Mara Giua
Visiting Fellow

Prof Kirk Hamilton
Visiting Professor in Practice

Michael Harloe
Visiting Professor

Guy Morrell
Visiting Senior Fellow

Dr Antoine Paccoud
Visiting Fellow

Dr Julie Ren
Visiting Fellow

Francis Salway
Visiting Professor in Practice

Nigel Spence
Visiting Professor

Job opportunities

We are currently recruiting for the following positions:

LSE Fellow in Environmental Economics - Apply by 19/11/2019