LondonWestminsterBridge

Our people

Who's who

Senior Management Team

Steve Gibbons

Deputy Head of Department (Education and Teaching)

Prof Steve Gibbons
s.gibbons@lse.ac.uk

Henry Overman

Deputy Head of Department (Research)

Prof Henry Overman
h.g.overman@lse.ac.uk

ben groom 2019 Cropped

Head of Environmental Economics & Policy Cluster

Prof Ben Groom
b.groom@lse.ac.uk


claire mercer

Head of Urbanisation, Planning and Development Cluster

Prof Claire Mercer
c.c.mercer@lse.ac.uk

olmo silva 2019 Cropped

Head of Economic Geography Cluster

Prof Olmo Silva
o.silva@lse.ac.uk

 

SamColegate Cropped

Departmental Manager

Sam Colegate
s.colegate@lse.ac.uk

 

 

 

Academic staff

A-Z

gabriel-ahlfeldt 2019 Cropped

Dr Gabriel Ahlfeldt
g.ahlfeldt@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Urban Economics & Land Development
Programme Director for MSc Real Estate Economics and Finance

Giles Atkinson

Prof Giles Atkinson
g.atkinson@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Policy

Felipe Carozzi

Dr Felipe Carozzi
f.carozzi@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor of Urban Economics & Economic Geography
Programme Director for PhD Economic Geography 

ryan centner 2019 Cropped

Dr Ryan Centner
r.o.centner@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor of Urban Geography
Programme Director for MSc Human Geography and Urban Studies   

Sylvia-Chant-2019 Cropped

Prof Sylvia Chant
s.chant@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Development Geography
Programme Co-Director for MSc Urbanisation and Development

paul cheshire 2019 Cropped

Prof Paul Cheshire
p.cheshire@lse.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor of Economic Geography

julia corwin 2019 Cropped

Dr Julia Corwin 
j.e.corwin@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Environment 

riccardocrescenzi 2019 Cropped

Prof Riccardo Crescenzi
r.crescenzi@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

marco-di-cataldo 2019 Cropped

Dr Marco Di Cataldo
m.di-cataldo@lse.ac.uk

Affiliate Post-doctoral Researcher

Simon Dietz

Prof Simon Dietz
s.dietz@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Policy

eugenie-dugoua 2019 Cropped

Dr Eugenie Dugoua
e.dugoua@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Environmental Economics

susanne-frick 2019 Cropped

Dr Susanne Frick
S.A.Frick@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Local Economic Development 

ian gordon 2019 Cropped

Prof Ian Gordon
i.r.gordon@lse.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor of Human Geography

ben groom 2019 Cropped

Prof Ben Groom
b.groom@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environment & Development Economics
Programme Director for MSc Environmental Economics and Climate Change

Vernon Henderson

Prof Vernon Henderson
j.v.henderson@lse.ac.uk

School Professor of Economic Geography

christian-hilber 2019 Cropped

Prof Christian Hilber
c.hilber@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

simona iammarino 2019 Cropped

Prof Simona Iammarino
s.iammarino@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

David Jones

Prof David Jones
d.k.jones@lse.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor of Physical Geography

garethones2019 Cropped

Prof Gareth A. Jones
g.a.jones@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Urban Geography

neil lee 2019 Cropped

Dr Neil Lee
n.d.lee@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Economic Geography
Programme Director for MSc Local Economic Development and BSc Geography with Economics 

Lois Liao

Lois Liao
y.liao10@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Real Estate Economics and Finance

murray low 2019 Cropped

Dr Murray Low
m.m.low@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Human Geography

alan mace 2019 Cropped

Dr Alan Mace
a.mace@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Urban Planning Studies

michael-mason 2019 Cropped

Dr Michael Mason
m.mason@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Environmental Geography

claire mercer 2019 Cropped

Prof Claire Mercer
c.c.mercer@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Human Geography

Vassilis Monastiriotis

Dr Vassilis Monastiriotis
v.monastiriotis@lse.ac.uk

Affiliate; Associate Professor of Political Economy

susana-mourato 2019 Cropped

Prof Susana Mourato
Head of Department

s.mourato@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Economics

Eric Neumayer

Prof Eric Neumayer
e.neumayer@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environment & Development

Mara 2018

Dr Mara Nogueira
m.nogueira-teixeira@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Human Geography

henry-overman2019 Cropped

Prof Henry Overman
h.g.overman@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

charlie palmer 2019 Cropped

Dr Charles Palmer
c.palmer1@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Environment & Development
Programme Director for MSc Environment and Development

erica pani

Dr Erica Pani
e.m.pani@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor of Local Economic Development and Planning

 

kasiapaprocki 2019 Cropped

Dr Kasia Paprocki
k.paprocki@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Environment

richard perkins 2019 Cropped

Dr Richard Perkins
r.m.perkins@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Environmental Geography
Programme Director for MSc Environmental Policy and Regulation

lindsay-relihan 2019 Cropped

Dr Lindsay Relihan
l.relihan@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Real Estate Economics and Finance

davide-rigo 2019 Cropped

Dr Davide Rigo

LSE Fellow in Economic Geography

sefi roth 2019 Cropped

Dr Sefi Roth
s.j.roth@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor of Environmental Economics

hyun shin

Prof Hyun Bang Shin
h.b.shin@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Geography & Urban Studies
Programme Co-Director for MSc Urbanisation and Development

olmo silva 2019 Cropped

Prof Olmo Silva
o.silva@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Real Estate Economics & Finance
Director of Postgraduate Studies

Thomas-Smith 2019 Cropped

Dr Thomas Smith
T.E.L.Smith@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Environmental Geography 

Programme Director for BSc Environment and Development and BSc Environmental Policy with Economics 
Departmental Tutor, Undergraduate Programmes

michael-storper 2019 Cropped

Prof Michael Storper
m.storper@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

jayaraj-sundaresan 2019 Cropped

Dr Jayaraj Sundaresan
J.Sundaresan@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Human Geography

sylvander_picture

Dr Nora Sylvander
N.Sylvander@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Environment 

jason wong 2019 Cropped

Dr Jason Wong
j.c.y.wong@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Environmental Economics

austin-zeiderman 2019 Cropped

Dr Austin Zeiderman
a.zeiderman@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Geography
Deputy Director of Postgraduate Studies

 

Economic Geography

Gabriel Ahlfeldt

Dr Gabriel Ahlfeldt
g.ahlfeldt@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Urban Economics & Land Development

Felipe Carozzi

Dr Felipe Carozzi
f.carozzi@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor of Urban Economics & Economic Geography

Paul Cheshire

Prof Paul Cheshire
p.cheshire@lse.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor of Economic Geography

Riccardo Crescenzi

Prof Riccardo Crescenzi
r.crescenzi@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

Marco Di Cataldo

Dr Marco Di Cataldo
m.di-cataldo@lse.ac.uk

Affiliate Post-doctoral Researcher

Susanne Frick

Dr Susanne Frick
S.A.Frick@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Local Economic Development 

Steve Gibbons

Prof Steve Gibbons
s.gibbons@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

Vernon Henderson

Prof Vernon Henderson
j.v.henderson@lse.ac.uk

School Professor of Economic Geography

Christian Hilber

Prof Christian Hilber
c.hilber@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

simona iammarino 2019 Cropped

Prof Simona Iammarino
s.iammarino@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

Neil Lee

Dr Neil Lee
n.d.lee@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Economic Geography

Lois Liao

Lois Liao
y.liao10@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Real Estate Economics and Finance

Vassilis Monastiriotis

Dr Vassilis Monastiriotis
v.monastiriotis@lse.ac.uk

Affiliate; Associate Professor of Political Economy

Henry Overman

Prof Henry Overman
h.g.overman@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

erica pani

Dr Erica Pani
e.m.pani@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor of Local Economic Development and Planning

Lindsay Relihan

Dr Lindsay Relihan
l.relihan@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Real Estate Economics and Finance

 

davide-rigo 2019 Cropped

Dr Davide Rigo
d.rigo@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Economic Geography

Olmo Silva

Prof Olmo Silva
o.silva@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Real Estate Economics & Finance

Michael Storper

Prof Michael Storper
m.storper@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Economic Geography

 

Environmental Economics and Policy 

Giles Atkinson

Prof Giles Atkinson
g.atkinson@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Policy

julia corwin 2019 Cropped

Dr Julia Corwin 
j.e.corwin@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Environment 

Simon Dietz

Prof Simon Dietz
s.dietz@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Policy

eugenie-dugoua 2019 Cropped

Dr Eugenie Dugoua
e.dugoua@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Environmental Economics

Ben Groom

Prof Ben Groom
b.groom@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environment & Development Economics

Nancy Holman

Dr Nancy Holman
n.e.holman@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Urban Planning

David Jones

Prof David Jones
d.k.jones@lse.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor of Physical Geography

Michael Mason

Dr Michael Mason
m.mason@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Environmental Geography

susana mourato July 2018

Prof Susana Mourato

s.mourato@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environmental Economics

Eric Neumayer

Prof Eric Neumayer
e.neumayer@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Environment & Development

charlie palmer 2019 Cropped

Dr Charles Palmer
c.palmer1@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Environment and Development

kasiapaprocki 2019 Cropped

Dr Kasia Paprocki
k.paprocki@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Environment

Richard Perkins

Dr Richard Perkins
r.m.perkins@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Environmental Geography

sefi roth 2019 Cropped

Dr Sefi Roth
s.j.roth@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor of Environmental Economics

Thomas-Smith 2019 Cropped

Dr Thomas Smith
T.E.L.Smith@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor in Environmental Geography 

sylvander_picture

Dr Nora Sylvander
N.Sylvander@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Environment 

jason wong 2019 Cropped

Dr Jason Wong
j.c.y.wong@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Environmental Economics

Urbanisation, Planning and Development 

ryan centner 2019 Cropped

Dr Ryan Centner
r.o.centner@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor of Urban Geography

Sylvia-Chant-2019 Cropped

Prof Sylvia Chant
s.chant@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Development Geography

Ian Gordon

Prof Ian Gordon
i.r.gordon@lse.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor of Human Geography

nancy holman 2019 Cropped

Dr Nancy Holman
n.e.holman@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Urban Planning

garethones2019 Cropped

Prof Gareth A. Jones
g.a.jones@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Urban Geography

murray low 2019 Cropped

Dr Murray Low
m.m.low@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Human Geography


alan mace 2019 Cropped

Dr Alan Mace
a.mace@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Urban Planning Studies

claire mercer 2019 Cropped

Prof Claire Mercer
c.c.mercer@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Human Geography

Mara 2018

Dr Mara Nogueira
m.nogueira-teixeira@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Human Geography

erica pani

Dr Erica Pani
e.m.pani@lse.ac.uk

Assistant Professor of Local Economic Development and Planning

Niranjana profile photo 2019

Dr Niranjana Ramesh 
N.Ramesh@lse.ac.uk

Leverhulme Early Career Research Fellow

Romola Sanyal

Dr Romola Sanyal
r.sanyal@lse.ac.uk 

Associate Professor of Urban Geography

kath Cropped

Kath Scanlon
K.J.Scanlon@lse.ac.uk

Distinguished Policy Fellow at LSE London

hyun shin

Prof Hyun Bang Shin
h.b.shin@lse.ac.uk

Professor of Geography & Urban Studies

jayaraj-sundaresan 2019 Cropped

Dr Jayaraj Sundaresan
J.Sundaresan@lse.ac.uk

LSE Fellow in Human Geography

austin-zeiderman 2019 Cropped

Dr Austin Zeiderman
a.zeiderman@lse.ac.uk

Associate Professor of Geography

  

 

Teaching staff

Graduate Teaching Assistants and Guest Teachers/Lecturers A-Z

lars aaberg

Lars Aaberg
Guest teacher

 

ParojNewPro

Dr Paroj Banerjee
Guest teacher

 

Sanchayan Banerjee

Sanchayan Banerjee

Graduate Teaching Assistant

erica borg

Erica Borg
Guest teacher

Leanne Cass

Leanne Cass
Graduate Teaching Assistant

 

Kate Dawson

Kate Dawson
Graduate Teaching Assistant

joris gort

Joris Gort
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Klett-Davies-Cropped-200x200

Dr Martina Klett-Davies
Guest Lecturer

MARGARIDA-MADALENO1 Cropped

Margarida Madaleno
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Email: M.Madaleno@lse.ac.uk

Sam-Page2 Cropped

Dr Sam Page 
Guest Teacher

Email: S.L.Page@lse.ac.uk

Megan Ryburn 2018

Dr Megan Ryburn
Guest Teacher

tanner regan 2019 Cropped

Tanner Regan
Graduate Teaching Assistant

AlexandraSotiriou1

Alexandra Sotiriou
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Liz_Storerimage

Liz Storer 
Graduate Teaching Assistant

Email: E.Storer@lse.ac.uk

Matthias_Tager

Matthias Täger 
Graduate Teaching Assistant

CarlTruedsson-Cropped-232x330

Carl Truedsson
Graduate Teaching Assistant

WhittenM-238x313

Dr Meredith Whitten
Guest Teacher

 

   

 

PhD students

A-Z 

Economic Geography

Environmental Economics and Policy

Urbanisation, Planning and Development

  

 

Professional Services Staff

Our Professional Services Teams

Operations Team

SamColegate Cropped

Sam Colegate
Departmental Manager

Room: STC 4.11
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6089
Email: s.colegate@lse.ac.uk

Ivanilza Da Mata

Ivanilza Da Mata 
Office Co-ordinator

Room: STC 4.06
Tel: +44 (0)20 7852 3636
Email: I.Da-Mata@lse.ac.uk

james deeley cropped

James Deeley 
Deputy Department Manager 

Room: STC 4.12
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7903
Email: j.a.deeley@lse.ac.uk 

william stein Cropped

William Stein
Graduate Intern

Room: STC 4.06
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6175
Email: W.Stein2@lse.ac.uk

Programmes Team 

martha clarke

Martha Clarke

Undergraduate Programmes Co-ordinator for:
BA Geography
BSc Geography with Economics
BSc Environment and Development
BSc Environmental Policy with Economics

Room: STC 4.06
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5406 
Email:  M.K.Clarke@lse.ac.uk

For programme enquiries: Geog.ug@lse.ac.uk

mark jenkin cropped

Mark Jenkin 
Graduate Programmes Co-ordinator for:
MSc Local Economic Development
MSc Urbanisation & Development

Room: STC 5.09
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7496
Email: m.jenkin@lse.ac.uk

For programme enquiries: Geog.Pg@lse.ac.uk

tom jones

Thomas Jones

Graduate Programmes Co-ordinator for:
MSc Human Geography and Urban Studies (Research)
MSc Real Estate Economics & Finance
MSc Regional & Urban Planning Studies

For MSc REEF enquiries: geog.reef@lse.ac.uk
For MSc RUPS enquiries: geog.rups@lse.ac.uk

Room: STC 4.05
Tel: TBC
Email: T.Jones5@lse.ac.uk

LouiseMillar Cropped

Louise Millar
Graduate Programmes Co-ordinator for:
MSc Environment & Development
MSc Environmental Economics and Climate Change
MSc Environmental Policy and Regulation

Room: STC 4.05
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6061
Email:  L.C.Millar@lse.ac.uk

For programme enquiries: Geog.Pg@lse.ac.uk

Peter Mills Cropped

Pete Mills
Graduate Programmes Co-ordinator for:
PhD programmes

Room: STC 4.05
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 7587
Email: P.B.Mills@lse.ac.uk

For MPhil/PhD programme enquiries: geog.phd@lse.ac.uk

Communications and Events Team

catherine mitchell Cropped (1)

Catherine Mitchell
Communications and Events Manager

Room: STC 5.10
Tel: +44 (0)20 7107 5656
Email:
C.Mitchell1@lse.ac.uk

For communications enquiries: geog.comms@lse.ac.uk

Isobel_Jones2019

Isobel Jones
Communications and Events Officer

Room: STC 5.10
Tel: +44 (0)20 7955 6453
Email: I.P.Jones1@lse.ac.uk

For communications enquiries: geog.comms@lse.ac.uk

 

Visiting staff

A-Z


andrea ascani Cropped

Dr Andrea Ascani

Visiting Fellow

 

NAB building

Dr Maarten Bosker

Visiting Fellow

Tom Cowan

Dr Tom Cowan

Visiting Fellow

 

 

Lewis Dijkstra Cropped

Lewis Dijkstra

Visiting Professor

 

NAB building

Luisa Gagliardi

Visiting Fellow

Mara Giua Cropped

Mara Guia

Visiting Fellow

 

 

kirk hamilton Cropped

Prof Kirk Hamilton

Visiting Professor in Practice

 

 

Michael Harloe Cropped

Michael Harloe

Visiting Professor

 

ann-kathrin koessler

Dr Ann-Kathrin Koessler

Visiting Fellow

Guy Morrell Cropped

Guy Morrell

Visiting Senior Fellow

 

Antoine Paccoud  Cropped

Dr Antoine Paccoud

Visiting Fellow

 

julie ren 2019

Dr Julie Ren

Visiting Fellow

francis Salway Cropped

Francis Salway
Visiting Professor in Practice

michael spackman Cropped

Michael Spackman
Visiting Senior Fellow 

NAB building

Nigel Spence
Visiting Professor

 

 

Job opportunities

LSE Fellow in Human Geography - apply by Friday 15 November 2019 (23.59 UK time)