luis-llerena-15500

People

 in the Department of International Relations

 

Academic staff

Ainley Kirsten photo

Dr. Kirsten Ainley
Associate Professor

Room: CLM.7.07
020 7107 5118
k.a.ainley@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: International political theory, international ethics, human rights

Profile


 

Alden-Chris-photo

Professor J. Chris Alden
Professor of International Relations

Room: CLM.5.13
020 7955 7386
j.c.alden@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: Foreign policy analysis, China and Africa, South African foreign policy

Profile


 

barkawi-tarak-2019-300x300

Professor Tarak Barkawi
Professor of International Relations

Room: CLM.4.07
020 7955 7526
t.k.barkawi@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: war studies, imperialism, interdisciplinary approaches

Personal website
Profile


 

bayly-martin-2019-300x300

Dr. Martin Bayly
Postdoctoral Fellow

Room: LCH.2.08
020 7107 5143
m.j.bayly@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: Historical International Relations, Historical Sociology, Constructivism

Personal website
Profile

Not available to supervise MPhil/PhD students


 

Bicchi-Federica_photo

Dr. Federica Bicchi
Associate Professor

Room: CLM.4.13
020 7955 7987
f.c.bicchi@lse.ac.uk

Profile


 

Bocse-Alexandra-head

Dr. Alexandra-Maria Bocse
Fellow

a.bocse@lse.ac.uk
+44 (0)20 7955 7705
Room: LCH.2.08
Research interests: International and regional governance, the European Union and Eastern Europe, international energy and environmental politics, energy security and emerging security challenges.
Office hours: 
Mondays 12.00-14.00
Online sign-up on LSE for You

Not available to supervise MPhil/PhD students


 

callahan-william-2018-300x300

Professor William Callahan
Professor of International Relations

Room: CLM.5.07
020 7955 6973
w.callahan@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: Global politics of China, Visual international politics

Personal website
Profile


 

chwieroth-jeffrey-2019-300x300

Professor Jeffrey Chwieroth
Professor of International Relations

Room: CLM.5.11
020 7955 7209
j.m.chwieroth@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: international political economy of money and finance

Personal website 
Profile


 

Coker-Christopher_bw-200x200

Professor Christopher Coker
Professor of International Relations
also Director of IDEAS

Room: PAN.9.1G
020 7955 7387
c.coker@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: War, US security policy, terrorism

Profile

Not available to supervise MPhil/PhD students 


 

Dafe-Florence-photo

Dr. Florence Dafe
Fellow

Room: LCH.2.10
020 7955 6237
f.dafe@lse.ac.uk

Profile

Not available to supervise MPhil/PhD students


 

dalacoura-katerina-2019-300x300

Dr. Katerina Dalacoura
Associate Professor

Room: CLM.4.11
020 7955 7398
k.dalacoura@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: Islamism, Turkey, Middle East international relations, civilization in IR

MENARA project
Profile


 

Dodge Toby head

Professor Toby Dodge
Professor of International Relations
also Head of Middle East Centre

Room: PAN.10.01
020 7955 6176
b.t.dodge@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: Middle East, Iraq

On leave 2018-19

Personal webpage 
Profile


 

economides-spyros-2019-300x300

Dr. Spyros Economides
Associate Professor
also in The European Institute

Room: COW.2.07
020 7955 7384
s.economides@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: European foreign, security and defence policies, Western Balkans, Greece

Personal webpage
Profile


 

falkner-robert-2019-300x300

Dr. Robert Falkner
Associate Professor (Reader)

Room: FAW.11.01F
020 7955 6347
r.falkner@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: Global Environmental Politics, Climate Policy, Political Economy, Global Firms

Personal website
Profile
Twitter


 

Gerges Fawaz head

Professor Fawaz A. Gerges
Professor of International Relations

Room: CLM.4.06
020 7955 7393
f.gerges@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: International Relations Middle East, Domestic Politics Middle East States

Personal website
Profile


 

getmansky-anna-2019-300x300

Dr. Anna Getmansky
Assistant Professor

Room: CLM.4.05
020 7107 5265
a.getmansky@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: Conflict, terrorism, refugees

Personal website
Profile


 

haacke-jurgen-head

Dr. Jurgen Haacke
Associate Professor
also Director of Saw Swee Hock Southeast Asia Centre

Room: CLM.7.09
020 7955 7399
j.haacke@lse.ac.uk

On leave 2018-19

Profile
More information


 

han-yuna-2019-300x300

Dr. Yuna Han
Fellow

Room: LCH.2.02
020 7955 7185
y.c.han@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: Politics of international law, International Criminal Justice

Profile

Not available to supervise MPhil/PhD students


 

hearson martin photo

Dr. Martin Hearson
Fellow

Room: LCH.2.04
020 7955 7167
m.hearson@lse.ac.uk

Personal website
Profile

Not available to supervise MPhil/PhD students


 

Hoffman-Mark-large-cropped-4-3

Mr. Mark Hoffman
Associate Professor

Room: OLD.1.09
020 7107 5197
m.hoffman@lse.ac.uk

Research interests: Contemporary international relations theory; conflict analysis; mediation in international and civil conflicts.
Office hours: On leave 2018-19


 

hughes-christopher-2019-300x300

Professor Chris Hughes
Professor of International Relations

Room: 95A.1.15
020 7955 6157
c.r.hughes@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: China, Japan, Taiwan, China and the global south, nationalism

Profile


 

Jackson-Preece-Jennifer-200x200

Dr. Jennifer Jackson-Preece
Associate Professor
Also in The European Institute

Room: COW.2.06
020 7955 6109
j.jackson-preece@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: European Security, Multiculturalism, North America

On leave 2018-19

Profile


 

koenig-archibugi-mathias-2019-300x300

Dr. Mathias Koenig-Archibugi
Associate Professor (Reader)
also in the Government Department

Room: CON.4.08
020 7955 7193
m.koenig-archibugi@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: International organizations, Global public policy, Democracy

Personal website
Profile


 

lake-milli-2019-300x300

Dr. Milli Lake
Assistant Professor

Room: CLM.4.12
020 7955 7379
m.lake@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: Civil wars, political violence, security, state-building, rule of law

Personal website
Profile


 

Lall-Ranjit

Dr. Ranjit Lall
Assistant Professor

Room: CLM.6.06
020 7107 5264
r.lall@lse.ac.uk

Personal website
Profile


 

lankina-tomila-2019-300x300

Professor Tomila Lankina
Deputy Head of Department (Research)

Room: CLM.6.12
020 7107 5239
t.lankina@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: Democratization, Popular Protest, Russia, Eurasia, Eastern Europe

Project website
Profile


 

lawson-george-2019-300x300

Dr. George Lawson
Associate Professor

Room: CLM.5.12
020 7107 5362
g.lawson@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: Revolutions, Global modernity, Historical Sociology

Personal website
Profile


 

may-cindy-2019-300x300

Dr. Cindy May
Fellow

Room: LCH.2.04
020 7955 6887
c.l.may@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: United States Foreign Policy, Middle East, Terrorism

Profile

Not available to supervise MPhil/PhD students


 

meibauer-gustav-2019-300x300

Dr. Gustav Meibauer
Fellow

Room: LCH.2.04
020 7107 5069
g.m.meibauer@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: US foreign policy, foreign policy analysis, coercive diplomacy

Profile

Not available to supervise MPhil/PhD students


 

meierhenrich-jens-photo

Dr. Jens Meierhenrich
Associate Professor
Director of the Centre for International Studies

Room: CLM.6.07
020 7955 7394
j.meierhenrich@lse.ac.uk

Personal website
Profile


 

meseguer-covadonga-2019-300x300

Dr. Covadonga Meseguer
Associate Professor

Room: 95A.1.13
020 7955 7062
c.meseguer@lse.ac.uk 

Key expertise: International migration; International Political Economy; Latin America

Personal website
Profile


 

Millar_Katharine_2019

Dr. Katharine Millar
Assistant Professor

Room: CLM.4.10
020 7955 6788
k.m.millar@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: Gender & international politics

Personal website
Profile


 

Morrison-James

Dr. James Morrison
Assistant Professor

Room: 95A.1.14
020 7955 7171
j.a.morrison@lse.ac.uk  

Research interests: International political economy; ideas and intellectuals in foreign policy; international organisation; history of political and economic thought; British economic history; and early American history.
Office hours:  Office hours vary this term.  Days and times are via online sign-up on LSE for You.

Personal website


 

Naqvi-Natalya-2

Dr. Natalya Naqvi
Assistant Professor

Room: CLM.5.09
n.naqvi@lse.ac.uk

Profile
Personal website


 

NAYLOR Tristen photo 2 Cropped 200x200

Dr. Tristen Naylor
Fellow

Room: LCH.2.04
020 7107 5068
t.naylor@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: International Summits, Diplomacy, G7, G20, UN

Profile

Not available to supervise MPhil/PhD students


 

Rossdale Chris photo

Dr. Chris Rossdale
Fellow

Room: LCH.2.02
020 7107 5066
c.rossdale@lse.ac.uk 

Key expertise: Feminist, queer, and poststructural international theory 

Personal website
Profile

Not available to supervise MPhil/PhD students


 

sedelmeier-ulrich-2019-300x300

Dr. Ulrich Sedelmeier
Associate Professor (Reader)
Deputy Head of Department (Teaching and Learning)

Room: CLM.5.06
020 7955 7166
u.sedelmeier@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: International institutions, European Union, compliance, conditionality

Profile


 

Portrait photo of Dr Serena Sharma

Dr. Serena Sharma
Fellow (50% with Government Department)

Room: CON.3.16
020 7955 7805
s.k.sharma1@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: The Responsibility to Protect

Profile

Not available to supervise MPhil/PhD students


 

sidel-john-

Professor John Sidel
Sir Patrick Gillam Professor of International and Comparative Politics jointly in the Government Department

Room: CON.4.02
020 7955 6032
j.t.sidel@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: Local Politics, Religion and Politics, Nationalism

Personal website
Profile


 

smith-karen-2019-300x300

Professor Karen E. Smith
Professor of International Relations

Room: CLM.4.09
020 7955 6332
k.e.smith@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: EU foreign policy, EU-UN relations, human rights, genocide, Brexit

Personal website
Profile


 

tardelli-luca-2019-300x300

Dr. Luca Tardelli
Assistant Professorial Lecturer

Room: CLM.6.05
020 7107 5706
l.tardelli@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: International security, Military intervention, US foreign policy, Realism

Personal website
Profile

Not available to supervise MPhil/PhD students


 

trubowitz-peter-2019-300x300

Professor Peter Trubowitz
Professor of International Relations, Head of Department also Head of United States Research Centre

Room: PEL.9.10i (TW3)
020 7107 6945
p.trubowitz@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: International security, US foreign policy, American politics  

Personal website
Profile


 

westlake-martin-2019-300x300

Dr. Martin Westlake
David Davies of Llandinam Research Fellow (DINAM)

Room: LCH.2.05
020 7107 5144
m.westlake@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: European Union; EU institutions; European Parliament; Brexit

Profile

DINAM Fellowship

Not available to supervise MPhil/PhD students


 

williams-zoe-2019-300x300

Dr. Zoe Williams
Fellow

Room: LCH.2.10
020 7106 1213
z.p.williams@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: Investor-state disputes, investment arbitration, resource politics

Profile

Not available to supervise MPhil/PhD students


 

wilson-peter-2019-300x300

Dr. Peter Wilson
Associate Professor

Room: CLM.5.10
020 7955 7391
p.c.wilson@lse.ac.uk

Key expertise: International Relations Theory, Inter-war Period International Relations

Profile


 

woolcook-stephen-2019-300x300

Dr. Stephen Woolcock
Associate Professor

Room: CLM.6.13
020 7955 7696
s.b.woolcock@lse.ac.uk  

Key expertise: International trade and investment; World Trade Organisation

Profile

Professional Services Staff

Office opening hours:

Monday to Friday 9.30am to 5.30pm.
The offices are shut between 1-2pm.


 

adams-zoe-2019-300x300

Zoë Adams
Student Experience Manager

Ask me about: Student Experience, Student Events, Widening Participation, Alumni, Staff/Student Wires Newsletters, Centre Building Move, Undergraduate Research Assistantship, IR Careers InternshipNational Student SurveyUndergraduate and Postgraduate Student Surveys

Room: CLM.5.08
+44 (0) 20 7955 6821
z.c.adams@lse.ac.uk
ir.comms@lse.ac.uk


 

carter-alison-2019-300x300

Alison Carter
IR Website Administrator and Editor

Ask me about: Website design and management, Department's blog and social media

+44 (0) 20 7955 7927
a.s.carter@lse.ac.uk

Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays


 

helias-sarah-2019-300x300

Sarah Hélias
PhD and Research Co-ordinator

Ask me about: PhD Programme, Staff-Research Student Liaison Committee, Research Excellence Framework, Research Sub-Committee, PhD Committee, Knowledge Exchange and Impact

Room: CLM.6.09
+44 (0) 20 7955 7561
s.helias@lse.ac.uk
ir.research@lse.ac.uk


 

jessop-kate-2019-300x300

Kate Jessop
IR Programmes Manager (maternity leave until January 2020)

Ask me about: Undergraduate and Taught postgraduate Student Staff Liaison Committees, Teaching Sub-Committee, Teaching Programme, Course and Programme Information System (CAPIS), Graduate Teaching Assistant contracts, Academic Group Mentoring, TQARO Surveys, Academic Code

Room: CLM.5.08
k.a.jessop@lse.ac.uk


 

kennedy-harper-camilla-2019-300x300

Camilla Kennedy-Harper
IR Programmes Manager (maternity cover)

Ask me about: Undergraduate and taught postgraduate Student Staff Liaison Committees, Teaching Sub-Committee, Teaching Programme, Course and Programme Information System (CAPIS), Graduate Teaching Assistant contracts, Academic Group Mentoring, TQARO Surveys, Academic Code

Room: CLM.6.08
+44 (0) 20 7107 5441
c.kennedy-harper@lse.ac.uk


 

khan-adnan-2019-300x300

Adnan Khan
Undergraduate Programmes & Compliance Co-ordinator

Ask me about: BSc IR Programme Year 3, Joint Programmes, Compliance

Room: CLM.6.11
+44 (0) 20 7955 7562
IR.BSc@lse.ac.uk
a.khan16@lse.ac.uk


 

lee-woolf-nyssa-2019-300x300

Nyssa Lee-Woolf
Department Manager

Ask me about: Strategy and development of the department, planning and management of departmental resources (human, financial and accommodation), inter-departmental communication, the PSS team and its development, quality assurance, compliance, legal issues and critical incidents. Mental Health First Aider.

Room: CLM.5.08
+44 (0) 20 7852 3769 (ext: 3769)
n.lee-woolf@lse.ac.uk


 

mokogwu-romy-2019-300x300

Romy Mokogwu
Head of Department's PA and Assistant to Departmental Manager

Ask me about: Expenses, Staff Research Fund, Occasional Research Assistant Contracts, Catering, Graduation, Meeting Room Bookings

Room: CLM.6.09
+44 (0) 20 7955 7930
r.mokogwu@lse.ac.uk


 

sarpong-jackie-2019-300x300

Jackie Sarpong
Undergraduate Programmes Co-ordinator

Ask me about: BSc International Relations programme Years 1 and 2, Inclusion Plans, Welcome (week 0), General Course

Room: CLM.6.11
+44 (0) 20 7107 5310
IR.BSc@lse.ac.uk
j.b.sarpong@lse.ac.uk


 

white-troy-2019-300x300

Troy White
Postgraduate Programmes Co-ordinator

Ask me about: 

MSc International Relations programme, International Relations Double Degree (Sciences Po) programme, Graduate Course Choice

Room: CLM.6.08
+44 (0) 20 7955 7129
IR.MSc@lse.ac.uk
t.white@lse.ac.uk


 

wren-bethany-2019-300x300

Bethany Wren
Projects Officer

Ask me about: supporting the Department Manager in ongoing project work

Room: CLM.5.08
+44 (0) 20 7955 7958
b.wren@lse.ac.uk 

Emeritus and retired staff

 

mysteryperson-Cropped-200x200

Mr Michael Banks
mhbanks@aol.com

 

 


 

Brown Chris photo

Professor Chris Brown
c.j.brown@lse.ac.uk

Profile

 


 

buzan-barry-photo

Professor Barry Buzan
b.g.buzan@lse.ac.uk

Profile

 


 

Cox Mick photo

Professor Michael Cox
m.e.cox@lse.ac.uk

Profile

 


 

Kent-John-photo

Dr John Kent
j.c.kent@lse.ac.uk

 

 


 

Light Margot photo

Professor Margot Light
m.m.light@lse.ac.uk

Profile

 


 

Mayall James 200x200

Professor James Mayall
jblm2@cam.ac.uk

Profile (external)

 


 

Sims-Nicholas-photo

Mr Nicholas Sims
n.sims@lse.ac.uk

 

 


 

Taylor-Paul-photo

Professor Paul Taylor
p.taylor@lse.ac.uk

Profile

 


 

Wallace-William-photo

Professor William Wallace
wallacew@parliament.uk

Profile (external)

 


 

Yahuda-Michael-photo

Professor Michael Yahuda
m.b.yahuda@lse.ac.uk

Profile

 


 

 

Graduate teaching assistants

2018-19

Guest teachers

Guest Teacher Room: CLM.5.08

2018-19


  • Reza Arabsheibani
  • Nicholas Bayne
  • Mick Cox
  • Stephan Haggard
    (visiting Susan Strange Professor in Lent Term)
  • Arthur Kilgore
  • Ben Martill
  • Barry Maydom
  • Alvaro Mendez
  • Dave Rampton
  • James Strong
  • Shuxiu Zhang

PhD students

Prospective applicants and students should contact Undergraduate Admissions and Graduate Admissions for any queries relating to the application process. Please also visit our FAQ section which will answer many questions.