hand-prints

People

The Centre for Philosophy of Natural and Social Science facilitates interdisciplinary collaboration between some of the world's leading scholars. 

Alongside our core team, CPNSS hosts Project Leaders and Ludwig M. Lachmann Research Fellows,  whilst maintaining close links with Research Associates from within LSE and from other institutions worldwide.

CPNSS Team

 

Roman Frigg

Centre Director and Professor in the Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method.

r.p.frigg@lse.ac.uk

 

Helena Cronin

Centre Co-director and Office Support.

h.cronin@lse.ac.uk

 

Michael Redhead

Centre Co-Director and formerly Centennial Professor of Philosophy at LSE and Professor of the History and Philosophy of Science at Cambridge.

 

Laura O'Keefe

Centre Manager. Laura works part-time at the CPNSS. When she is here you can find her in LAK 1.02.

020 7955 6172

l.o'keefe@lse.ac.uk

 

Mehrun Absar

Assistant Administrator.

Room LAK 1.02

m.absar@lse.ac.uk

 

Max Steuer

Research Associate.

m.steuer@lse.ac.uk

 

George Zouros

Research Associate and Events Officer.

g.zouros@lse.ac.uk

 

Ewan Rodgers

Marketing and Communications Manager

e.d.rodgers@lse.ac.uk

 

CPNSS Project Leaders

 

Peter Abell

Emeritus Professor of Management in the Department of Management, LSE

  • CEO Performance and Remuneration

p.abell@lse.ac.uk

 

Paul Anand

Professor of Economics at The Open University

paul.anand@open.ac.uk

 

Roger Backhouse

Professor of the History and Philosophy of Economics at the University of Birmingham.

reb@bhouse.org.uk

 

Jonathan Birch

Associate Professor of Philosophy in the Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method, LSE. 

j.birch2@lse.ac.uk

 

Richard Bradley

Professor of Philosophy in the Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method, LSE. 

r.bradley@lse.ac.uk

 

Susanne Burri

Assistant Professor of Philosophy in the Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method, LSE. 

s.burri@lse.ac.uk

 

Nancy Cartwright

Professor of Philosophy at the Department of Philosophy, Durham University

nancy.cartwright@durham.ac.uk 

 

Oliver Scott Curry

Senior Researcher at the Institute of Cognitive and Evolutionary Anthropology, University of Oxford

oliver.curry@anthro.ox.ac.uk

 

Tom Dickins

Professor of Behavioural Science, Middlesex University

 

Philippe Fontaine

Professor of Economics in the Department of Economics and Management, École normale supérieure de Cachan; Senior Fellow, Institut Universitaire de France; and Centre Research Associate.

p.fontaine@lse.ac.uk

 

Roman Frigg

Professor of Philosophy in the Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method, LSE. CPNSS Director.

r.p.frigg@lse.ac.uk

 

Fernand Gobet

Professor of Psychological Sciences at the University of Liverpool.

fernand.gobet@liverpool.ac.uk

 

Simon Hayhoe

  • Sensory Impairment and Cultural Inclusion

s.hayhoe@lse.ac.uk

 

Laurenz Hudetz

Assistant Professor of Philosophy in the Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method, LSE. 

l.hudetz@lse.ac.uk

 

Peter C Lane

Senior Lecturer in Computer Science at the University of Hertfordshire.

p.c.lane@herts.ac.uk

 

Christian List

Professor of Political Science and Philosophy in the Departments of Government and Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method, LSE

c.list@lse.ac.uk

 

Eileen Munro

Emeritus Professor of Social Policy in the Department of Social Policy, LSE.

e.munro@lse.ac.uk

 

Michael Otsuka

Professor of Philosophy in the Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method, LSE. 

m.h.otsuka@lse.ac.uk

 

Miklós Rédei

Professor of Philosophy in the Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method, LSE. 

m.redei@lse.ac.uk

 

Bryan W Roberts

Associate Professor of Philosophy in the Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method, LSE.

b.w.roberts@lse.ac.uk

 

Max Steuer

Research Associate

m.steuer@lse.ac.uk

 

 

Alex Voorhoeve

Professor of Philosophy in the Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method, LSE. 

a.e.voorhoeve@lse.ac.uk

 

Henry Wynn

Emeritus Professor of Statistics, Centre for the Analysis of Time Series, LSE

h.wynn@lse.ac.uk

 

 

CPNSS Advisory Board

Ludwig M. Lachmann Research Fellows

Ludwig M. Lachmann Research Fellows spend up to three years at CPNSS carring out research on philosophical, foundational or conceptual aspects of economics.

 

Matthew D Adler

Matthew D. Adler is the Richard A. Horvitz Professor of Law and Professor of Economics, Philosophy and Public Policy at Duke University.  His scholarship is interdisciplinary, drawing from law, welfare economics and normative ethics. Adler is the author of numerous articles and several books, including New Foundations of Cost-Benefit Analysis (Harvard, 2006; co-authored with Eric Posner); and Well-Being and Fair Distribution: Beyond Cost-Benefit Analysis(Oxford 2012) which systematically defends the “social welfare function” as a framework for policy analysis.  He is the editor (with Marc Fleurbaey) of the Oxford Handbook of Well-Being and Public Policy(2016).   Starting this year, Adler will be an editor of the journal Economics and Philosophy.

Prior to joining the Duke Law faculty in July 2012, Adler was the Leon Meltzer Professor of Law at the University of Pennsylvania School of Law. He holds a B.A. and J.D. from Yale University. Adler also received an M. Litt. in modern history from St. Antony’s College at Oxford University, where he was a Marshall Scholar. He clerked for Judge Harry Edwards of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit in 1991-1992 and for U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O’Connor during the 1992-1993 term. 


 

 

For a full list of current and former Lachmann Fellows, visit our Ludwig M. Lachmann Research Fellows page.

 


 

Research Associates

Research Associates are scholars from within LSE and from other institutions worldwide who, over the years, have made significant contributions to the achievements of the Centre.