hand-prints

People

The Centre for Philosophy of Natural and Social Science facilitates interdisciplinary collaboration between some of the world's leading scholars. 

Alongside our core team, CPNSS hosts Project Leaders and Ludwig M. Lachmann Research Fellows,  whilst maintaining close links with Research Associates from within LSE and from other institutions worldwide.

CPNSS Team

 

Roman Frigg

Centre Director and Professor in the Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method.

r.p.frigg@lse.ac.uk

 

Helena Cronin

Centre Co-director and Office Support.

h.cronin@lse.ac.uk

 

Michael Redhead

Centre Co-Director and formerly Centennial Professor of Philosophy at LSE and Professor of the History and Philosophy of Science at Cambridge.

 

Laura O'Keefe

Centre Manager. Laura works part-time at the CPNSS. When she is here you can find her in LAK 1.02.

020 7955 6172

l.o'keefe@lse.ac.uk

 

Mehrun Absar

Assistant Administrator.

Room LAK 1.02

m.absar@lse.ac.uk

 

Max Steuer

Research Associate.

m.steuer@lse.ac.uk

 

George Zouros

Research Associate and Events Officer.

g.zouros@lse.ac.uk

 

Ewan Rodgers

Marketing and Communications Manager

e.d.rodgers@lse.ac.uk

 

CPNSS Project Leaders

 

Roger Backhouse

Professor of the History and Philosophy of Economics at the University of Birmingham.

reb@bhouse.org.uk

 

Richard Bradley

Professor in Philosophy at the Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method, LSE. 

r.bradley@lse.ac.uk

 

Nancy Cartwright

Professor of Philosophy at the Department of Philosophy, Durham University

nancy.cartwright@durham.ac.uk 

 

Philippe Fontaine

Professor of Economics in the Department of Economics and Management, École normale supérieure de Cachan; Senior Fellow, Institut Universitaire de France; and Centre Research Associate.

p.fontaine@lse.ac.uk

 

Roman Frigg

Professor in Philosophy in the Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method, LSE and Centre Director.

r.p.frigg@lse.ac.uk

 

Stephan Guettinger

  • The Role of Functional Modules in Synthetic Biology

s.m.guettinger@lse.ac.uk

 

Christian List

Professor of Political Science and Philosophy in the Departments of Government and Philosophy, LSE

c.list@lse.ac.uk

 

Miklós Rédei

Professor of Philosophy and Head of the Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method, LSE. 

m.redei@lse.ac.uk

 

Bryan W Roberts

Associate Professor in the Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method, LSE.

b.w.roberts@lse.ac.uk

 

Fiora Salis

Marie Skłodowska-Curie Fellow

f.salis@lse.ac.uk

 

Charlotte Werndl

Chair in Logic and Philosophy of Science in the Department of Philosophy, University of Salzburg and Visiting Professor in the Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method, LSE.

c.s.werndl@lse.ac.uk

 

 

CPNSS Advisory Board

Ludwig M. Lachmann Research Fellows

Ludwig M. Lachmann Research Fellows spend up to three years at CPNSS carring out research on philosophical, foundational or conceptual aspects of economics.

 

Daniel M Hausman

Daniel M. Hausman is the Herbert A. Simon and Hilldale Professor of Philosophy at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. A founding editor of the journal, Economics and Philosophy, his research has centered on epistemological, metaphysical, and ethical issues lying at the boundaries between economics and philosophy. His most recent books, are Preference, Value, Choice and Welfare (2012), Valuing Health: Well-Being, Freedom, and Suffering (2015), and Economic Analysis, Moral Philosophy, and Public Policy, 3rd ed. (co-authored with Michael McPherson and Debra Satz, 2017).


 

Matthew D Adler

Matthew D. Adler is the Richard A. Horvitz Professor of Law and Professor of Economics, Philosophy and Public Policy at Duke University.  His scholarship is interdisciplinary, drawing from law, welfare economics and normative ethics. Adler is the author of numerous articles and several books, including New Foundations of Cost-Benefit Analysis (Harvard, 2006; co-authored with Eric Posner); and Well-Being and Fair Distribution: Beyond Cost-Benefit Analysis(Oxford 2012) which systematically defends the “social welfare function” as a framework for policy analysis.  He is the editor (with Marc Fleurbaey) of the Oxford Handbook of Well-Being and Public Policy(2016).   Starting this year, Adler will be an editor of the journal Economics and Philosophy.

Prior to joining the Duke Law faculty in July 2012, Adler was the Leon Meltzer Professor of Law at the University of Pennsylvania School of Law. He holds a B.A. and J.D. from Yale University. Adler also received an M. Litt. in modern history from St. Antony’s College at Oxford University, where he was a Marshall Scholar. He clerked for Judge Harry Edwards of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit in 1991-1992 and for U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O’Connor during the 1992-1993 term. 


 

 

For a full list of current and former Lachmann Fellows, visit our Ludwig M. Lachmann Research Fellows page.

 


 

Research Associates

Research Associates are scholars from within LSE and from other institutions worldwide who, over the years, have made significant contributions to the achievements of the Centre.