Standard banner-BLPES_054


South Asia at LSE

 Find experts at LSE who focus on South Asia.

 There are over 60 full time Academics focusing on South Asia at LSE.



Alnoor Bhimani

Professor of Management Accounting


Mukulika Banerjee

Associate Professor of Anthropology

Laura Bear

Professor of Anthropology

Katy Gardner

Professor of Anthropology

Chris Fuller

Professor Emeritus of Anthropology

Jonathan Parry

Professor Emeritus of Anthropology

Nicholas Evans

LSE Fellow

Luke Heslop

LSE Fellow

LSE Cities

Richard Burdett

Professor of Urban Studies

Julia King

Researcher, LSE Cities

Philipp Rode

Associate Profesorial Research Fellow


Tim Besley

W Arthur Lewis Professor of Development Economics

Gharad Bryan

Lecturer in Economics

Robin Burgess

Professor of Economics

Greg Fischer

Assistant Professor of Economics

Maitreesh Ghatak

Professor of Economics

Nicholas Stern

IG Patel Chair of Economics and Government

John Sutton

Sir John Hicks Professor of Economics 

Economic History

Tirthankar Roy

Professor of Economic History

Prerna Agarwal

LSE Fellow 


Daniel Paravisini

Associate Professor of Finance

Amil Dasgupta

Professor of Finance

Gender Studies

Naila Kabeer

Professor of Gender and Development


Geography and Environment

Giles Atkinson

Professor of Environmental Policy

Vernon Henderson

School Professor of Economic Geography

Romola Sanyal

Assistant Professor of Urban Geography

Ganga Shreedhar

LSE Fellow in Environmental Economics

Jayaraj Sundaresan

LSE Fellow in Human Geography

Julia Corwin

Assistant Professor in Environment

Ben Groom

Professor of Environment and Development Economics 

Kasia Paprocki

Assistant Professor in Environment 

Richard Perkins

Associate Professor of Environmental Geography


Sumantra Bose

Professor of International and Comparative Politics

Patrick Dunleavy

Professor of Political Science and Public Policy

Grantham Research Institute

Sheikh Eskander

Research Officer

Architesh Panda

Research Officer

Nicholas Stern 

Chair of the Grantham Research Institute

David Stainforth 

Associate Professorial Research Fellow

Christian Siderius 

Research Fellow 

International Development

Timothy Dyson

Professor of Population Studies

Tim Forsyth

Professor of Environment and Development

Jude Howell

Professor of International Development

Mary Kaldor

Professor of Global Governance

Sohini Kar

Assistant Professor of International Development

Philipa Mladovsky

Assistant Professor of International Development

Sandra Sequeira

Associate Professor of Development Economics

Ken Shadlen

Professor of Development Studies

Mahvish Shami

Assistant Professor of Development Studies

Rishita Nandagiri

PhD candidate

Rajesh Venugopal

Assistant Professor of Managing Humanitarism

Robert Wade

Professor of Political Economy and Development

Alessandra Radicati 

LSE Fellow

David Keen

Professor of Complex Emergencies

International Growth Centre

Adnan Khan

Research and Policy Director

Robin Burgess 

Director of the IGC

Oriana Bandiera

Research Programme Director

Rocco Macchiavello 

Associate Professor

International History

Taylor Sherman

Associate Professor of International History

Gagan Sood

Assistant Professor of International History

Raghav Kishore

LSE Teaching Fellow

International Relations

Tarak Barkawi

Professor of International Relations

Martin Bayly

Postdoctoral Fellow

Natalya Naqvi 

Assistant Professor of International Political Economy

Jurgen Haacke

Associate Professor of International Relations


Health Policy

Mrigesh Bhatia


LSE Health and Social Care

Mrigesh Bhatia

Lecturer of Health Policy



Rishi Gulati

LSE Fellow

Sivaramjani Thambisetty

Associate Professor of Law



Harry Barkema

Professor of Management

Amitav Chakravarti

Professor of Marketing

Saul Estrin

Professor of Management

Shirin Madon

Associate Professor of Information Systems

Leslie Willcocks

Professor of Work, Technology and Globalisation

Naufel Vilcassim

Professor of Marketing and Head of Department

Media and Communications

Shakuntala Banaji

Associate Professor of Media and Communications

Claire Milne

Senior Visiting Fellow 


Eleanor Power

Assistant Professor

Social Policy

Sunil Kumar

Lecturer in Social Policy and Development

David Lewis

Professor of Social Policy and Development

Psychology and Behavioral Science

Catherine Campbell

Professor of Social Psychology


Chetan Bhatt

Professor of Sociology

Don Slater

Associate Professor of Sociology

Tina Basi

Guest Teacher

LSE Women, Peace & Security

Punam Yadav

Teaching Fellow

Marsha Henry

Associate Professor of Gender Studies