BRIAN ABEL-SMITH LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

Honouring the work of Brian Abel-Smith, an influential pioneer in the field of social welfare, LSE's Department of Health Policy is proud to host the Brian Abel-Smith Lifetime Achievement Award.

The award recognises individuals who during their lifetime have made a significant intellectual contribution to the field of health policy and social welfare and achieved notable policy impact, benefitting population health.

In line with Abel-Smith's own approach and achievements, award criteria place equal weight on research excellence and policy impact.

Brian Abel Smith Memorial Fund

This award is supported by the Brian Abel-Smith Memorial Fund, the Department of Health Policy and LSE Health. The Brian Abel-Smith Memorial Fund honours the work of Abel-Smith and his contributions to health economics, health systems, social welfare and population health. The Lifetime Achievement Award complements existing prizes awarded annually to LSE students working in the field of health policy and economics.

The achievements of Abel-Smith and his fellow social policy pioneers have been chronicled in an LSE biography series commissioned by the Fund – LSE Pioneers in Social Policy. Sally Sheard's critically acclaimed biography of Abel-Smith, The Passionate Economist launched the series in 2014 and additional volumes on Richard Titmuss and Peter Townsend are in progress.

You can find out more about the Fund and its activities and current LSE research activity in health policy at lse.ac.uk/health-policy.

NOMINATION GUIDELINES

■ Selection Committee

Nominations are reviewed and selected by a Selection Committee based at the LSE and comprising current leading academics, policymakers and practitioners in the field. The committee includes representatives from the LSE's Departments of Health and Social Policy, LSE Health and eminent experts from beyond the LSE.

Committee members may also nominate candidates according to the eligibility criteria below. Committee members are required to declare any conflicts of interest prior to the start of the selection process. The Selection Committee operates in line with the LSE's guidelines for committees and advisory boards complying with the School's Ethics Policy and other relevant policies and procedures. Committee members remain cognisant of the cultural and contextual barriers to achievement not always captured in CVs and nomination letters and will endeavour to take such factors into consideration as appropriate during the selection process.

Eligibility Criteria

Nominees can be from varied backgrounds, including academics, practitioners, and policy makers, but must have a minimum of 25 years of professional experience. They can be still working or retired. They must be able to demonstrate:

- A significant body of intellectual work in the field of welfare policy, health policy, health economics or health services research
- · Tangible impact on policy or health care delivery

Current LSE salaried staff cannot be nominated for an award, but can make nominations.

■ Nomination Process

To make a nomination please complete an award nomination form and submit it, along with a letter detailing the rationale behind your nomination and a CV for the nominated candidate. Letters should typically not exceed two pages. Please return the completed form and supporting documents (in PDF or DOC format) by 1700hrs on 29 May 2020 to abel-smith-fund@lse.ac.uk. Submissions must be sent electronically.

Shortlisted candidates will be asked to provide two letters of recommendation.

Nominees cannot self-nominate. Nominations and, following shortlisting, letters of recommendation should typically be submitted by academics, policymakers or any other distinguished experts in the field.

Award nominations will be retained on file for three award cycles (6 years).

Frequency of awards

Subject to the quality of nominations, an award will be made every two years.

Award

Award winners will receive a prize of £10,000. As a condition of receiving this award, the recipient will be invited to deliver a lecture at the LSE. The award will be presented at the lecture.