EU Law

The first major English language textbook on European Union law was published by an LSE academic. Since then, some of the leading monographs and textbooks on the subject have been written by existing and previous faculty.  Members of LSE Law School are on the editorial boards of the European Constitutional Law Review,  European Law Journal, the European Law Review, the German Law Journal and the Yearbook of European Environmental Law. LSE is only the university to have won the UACES prize, the leading prize for doctoral research on the EU, for research on EU law. It has won it twice. In recent times people doing doctoral research on EU law at LSE have gone on to posts at Birkbeck, Exeter, Leeds, LSE and UCL, In addition, LSE now attracts many postdoctoral fellows. In recent years, it has hosted British Academy, Marie Curie, and Newton Fellows working on EU law.

The law school also has two long standing research seminar series which focus on EU and European law. These have had a number of distinguished speakers. The GOLEM series has included seminars with Professors Anu Bradfurd (Columbia); Deirdre Curtin (Amsterdam); Mark Dawson (Hertie); Michelle Everson (Birkbeck); Christian Joerges (Bremen); Dan Keleman (Rutgers) Antoine Vauchez (Sorbonne); and Neil Walker (Edinburgh). The European Public Law  series has included seminars with Mattias Kumm (NYU), Hans Lindahl (Tilburg), Neil Walker (Edinburgh), Denis Baranger (Paris II), Tom Hickman (Blackstones) and Agustín Menéndez (Arena/León).


Dr Jacco Bomhoff
(European conflict of laws; European constitutional law)

Dr Niamh Dunne
(competition; regulation)

Professor Carol Harlow KC, FBA (Emeritus)
(European Administrative Law, and Accountability in the EU)

Professor Trevor Hartley (Emeritus)
(European constitutional law; European conflicts of law)

Professor Veerle Heyvaert
(European environmental law)

Dr Elizabeth Howell
(Corporate finance; Business associations)

Dr Martin Husovec
Intellectual property; Digitial rights)

Professor Pablo Ibáñez Colomo
(Substantive EU Law)

Dr Orla Lynskey
(data protection and technology regulation)

Professor Niamh Moloney
(European Financial Services Law)

Professor Jo Murkens
(Institutional and Constitutional law of the EU)

Mr Ian Roxan
(European taxation law)

Professor Michael Wilkinson
(EU law and political theory, European constitutional law)

Dr Floris de Witte
(EU law and political theory; Constitutional and Substantive EU law)

Dr Jan Zglinski
(EU Constitutional Law; Internal Market Law; Empirical Legal Research)

Post-doctoral research fellows

Grigorios Bacharis

Dr Madalina Busioc

Dr Marco Dani

Dr Claire Marzo

Dr Szymon Osmola

Dr Nikos Skoutaris

Research students

Jacob van de Beeten

Katherine Nolan

Bob Roth


Recent publications