LSE is a DELF & DALF testing centre

These are the only official French language proficiency qualifications

Make your CV stand out with a French diploma

What is it?

  • The DELF (Diplôme d’Etudes en Langue Française) and DALF (Diplôme Approfondi de Langue Française) are the only official French language proficiency qualifications.
  • These exams evaluate four skills: listening, reading, speaking and writing.
  • There are 6 levels to choose from: beginners and intermediate students can opt for the DELF and advanced users for the DALF.

Why should I take it?

  • The diploma you receive is awarded by the French Ministry of Education.
  • It is valid for life and recognised throughout Europe and beyond.
  • It will boost your employability by making your CV stand out.
  • It will enable you to find jobs throughout the French-speaking world.

Declaration by candidates

  1. I understand that the fee is non refundable and cannot be transferred to a future examination session.
  2. I confirm that my name and details are exact / correctly spelt, as they appear on my passport.
  3. I agree to collect and sign for any “attestation de réussite” and diploma awarded to me at the examination centre and within two weeks of notification. No certificate/diploma will be sent directly to candidates by post.
  4. I agree to inform the LSE Language Centre, in writing, should my address/email change during the examination period (from enrolment to the arrival of diplomas up to 6 months later).
  5. I understand that oral examinations may take place early in the day/late in the evening and that there may be a long gap between my oral and my written examination. I understand that my oral examination may be on a different day to my written examination.
  6. I understand that my oral examination may be recorded.
  7. I understand that exam dates may be subject to alterations or cancellation in cases of force majeure.   
  8. I understand that all requests for diploma re-prints after the session will incur a cost of £10.
  9. I agree to be bound by the regulations for the DELF/DALF examinations.

How to register and what happens next

Follow the link here to the LSE eShop to register and pay for the examination you wish to take.

We are offering the following examinations dates in 2018

DELF A1  Monday, 11 June 2018 
DELF A2 Tuesday, 12 June 2018
DELF B1 Thursday, 14 June 2018
DELF B2 Friday, 15 June 2018
DALF C1 Monday 18, Tuesday 19 June 2018
DALF C2 Thursday 21, Friday 22 June 2018

The registration closing date is 10 May 2018.

Approximately 3-4 weeks after the registration closing date you will receive a confirmation of enrolment with your candidate number and the exam(s) you have registered for.

Once you receive this please check that your details are correct on the confirmation of enrolment and please contact us if there are any errors.

Closer to the examination date you will receive your statement of entry with confirmation of the date, exact time and locations of your examination.

Please bring your statement of entry with you to the examination as well as some form of official photo ID, e.g. passport, driving licence or national identity card.

Oral examinations

Please note that your oral examination may take place early in the day or late in the evening and that there may be a few hours between your oral and written examinations. This will enable us to hold both parts of the examination on the same day whenever possible. Please also note your oral examination may be recorded.


Results will be available from 08 August 2018

Candidates are expected to pick up their results certificates in person from their testing centre. We are not be authorised to give results out over email or by phone.

You will need to bring official photo ID, e.g. passport, driving licence or national identity card and sign an acknowledgement form.

Later you will receive official certificates from Paris (approximately 3 months after the results date) and these will also need to be collected from your testing centre in the same way.