

## **News Archive**

# September 2018 – August 2019

## **October 2018: Excellence in Education Awards**



Congratulations to <u>Peter Allen</u>, <u>Tugkan Batu</u>, <u>Christoph</u> <u>Czichowsky</u>, <u>Ioannis Kouletsis</u> and <u>Paul Duetting</u>, who were recognised last night at the Excellence in Education Awards! Also a congratulations to <u>Johannes Ruf</u> and <u>Konrad Swanepoel</u> for their Teaching Promotion Awards. We are all very proud of you and for your contributions to the Department of Mathematics.



## November 2018: New Book!

<u>Albina Danilova</u> and <u>Umut Çetin</u> have published 'Dynamic Markov Bridges and Market Microstructure: Theory and Applications' with Springer. Congratulations!

You can find out more here.



## December 2018: Savvy Investor Award

Congratulations to <u>Johannes Ruf</u> (et al) for being awarded runner-up for "Best Factor Investing Paper 2018" by Savvy Investor! To read the paper, <u>see here.</u>

You can find out more about the awards here.

## **December 2018: Academic Prize Winners**



## Ailsa Land Prize

This is the first year we are awarding the Ailsa Land prize for the best overall performance by a student on the MSc Operations Research & Analytics. Our first winner is Ruilan Wang. Congratulations! For more information on the prize and on Ailsa Land, please see here.

## Haya Freedman Prize

Congratulations to our joint winners **Canishk Naik** and **Anna Gautier** for winning the Haya Freedman Prize. The prize is awarded annually for the best dissertation produced by a student on the MSc in Applicable Mathematics. <u>More information on the prize can be found here.</u>

### December 2018: Graduation - Class of 2018



As a Department, we want to congratulate all our students from our MSc Applicable Mathematics and MSc Operations Research & Analytics programmes who graduated yesterday afternoon! We are immensely proud of all of your achievements whilst you studied with us here at the LSE, and we wish you all the best in your futures!



### February 2019: Adams Prize 2018-19

We are delighted to announce that <u>Dr Luitgard Veraart</u> is the co-winner of the <u>Adams Prize 2018-19</u> from the University of Cambridge! The prize is one of Cambridge's oldest and most prestigious prizes, named after mathematician <u>John Couch Adams</u>. Congratulations Luitgard!



# March 2019: Stanton Medal

We would like to congratulate <u>Professor Robin Wilson</u> who was awarded the Stanton Medal by the <u>Institute of Combinatorics and its</u> <u>Applications</u>. Despite knowing he had been awarded for over a year, Robin only received the medal last week during the 50th Southeastern International Conference on Combinatorics, Graph Theory & Computing (4-8 March). Congratulations Robin - it was worth the wait!



#### May 2019: Departmental New Teacher Prizes

Congratulations to <u>David Kohan-Marzagao</u>, <u>Stan Kucera</u>, <u>Asuka</u> <u>Kumon</u>, <u>Danny Scarponi</u> and <u>Amedeo Sgueglia</u> who were awarded the Departmental New Teacher Prize for 2019! These are awarded to recognise the achievements of those new to teaching in our Department.

### May 2019: Student-Led Teaching Excellence Awards

LSE STUDENTS' UNION

Congratulations to <u>Jan van den Heuvel</u> for being Highly Commended in the Inspirational Teaching category, and to <u>James Ward</u> for being Highly Commended in the Sharing Subject Knowledge category! Find out more about the awards <u>here</u>.

#### May 2019: LSE Class Teacher Awards



We are proud to announce that the winners of the LSE Class Teacher Awards this year from the Department are <u>Siri Kouletsis</u>, <u>Asuka</u> <u>Kumon</u>, <u>Laurence O'Toole</u> and <u>Niccolo' Salvatori</u>! <u>Stan</u> <u>Kucera</u> and <u>Amedeo Sgueglia</u> were also highly commended. Congratulations to all our fabulous class teachers!



## May 2019: PhD Poster Presentation Prize Winners

Congratulations to the PhD Poster Presentation prizewinners at the <u>Colloquia in Combinatorics 2019</u>! 1st Prize: **Jan Corsten** (LSE) 'Tiling edge-coloured graphs with few monochromatic tiles'

2nd Prize: **Alberto Espuny Diaz** (Birmingham) 'Resilient degree sequences with respect to hamiltonicity in random graphs'

Highly Commended: **Akshat Mudgal** (Bristol) 'Sums of linear transformations in higher dimensions'



# June 2019: Best Student Paper Prize

Congratulations to <u>Edin Husić</u>, who received the Best Student Paper Award at <u>WG 2019 Conference</u> for the paper 'A polynomial-time algorithm for the independent set problem in {P\_10,C\_4,C\_6}-free graphs'. This work was in collaboration with <u>Martin Milanič</u>.



## June 2019: ACM SIGecom Best Full Paper Award

We are proud to announce that <u>Paul Duetting</u>, along with coauthors <u>Jose Correa</u>, <u>Felix Fischer</u> and <u>Kevin Schewior</u>, were awarded the ACM SIGecom Best Full Paper Award 2019! This was presented to them at <u>EC'19, the 20th ACM Conference on Economics and</u> <u>Computation</u> for their paper 'Prophet Inequalities for I.I.D. Random Variables from an Unknown Distribution'. Congratulations to everyone involved!



## July 2019: Prize Winners

John Ying Wah Gibson Citizenship and Voluntary Prizes Congratulations to our joint winners of the Citizenship Prize, Tanvi Aggarwal and Cunhao Liu (both pictured) for all their hard work and dedication to society and the LSE community! The winner of the Voluntary Work Award goes to Lennart Niermann congratulations Lennart! Details fo the Prize and Award can be read here.

## **Cyril Offord Prize**

Congratulations to **Cunhao Liu** (pictured), a BSc Mathematics and Economics student, who has been awarded the Cyril Offord Prize for Outstanding Performance in Mathematics. <u>Details of the Prize can be read here</u>.

#### Farr Prize

The Farr Prize is awarded to the best performer in final year examinations for a BSc student in the Department of Mathematics or Statistics. This year, we congratulate **Jianbo Sun** on their outstanding performance in their exam. <u>More information on the Prize can be found</u> <u>here.</u>

## **Wynne-Roberts Prizes**

The Wynne-Roberts Prizes are awarded to both first and second year students who have achieved best performance in their mathematics courses. The winner from our first year cohort is **Natasha Qian Hui Tai** – congratulations Natasha!

The winner this year for best performance in second year mathematics courses goes to **Yumeng Cai**! <u>More information on the Prize can be found here.</u>

### Joseph Abraham Prize

The Joseph Abraham Prize, named after an MSc Financial Mathematics student who sadly died in 2015, is given to those on the same programme who have shown outstanding achievement in their studies on the MSc Financial Mathematics degree. This year our winner is **Jun Cheng** – congratulations Jun! <u>More information on the Prize can be found here.</u>

## July 2019: Graduation - Class of 2019

Congratulations to everyone who graduated this academic year, from undergraduate to masters to PhD!

We are so proud of all you have achieved and look forward to seeing what you go on to achieve in the future!

