Terms of reference

The Advisory Board meet formally once a year but are encouraged to work closely with the Grantham Research Institute at the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) and the Grantham Institute at Imperial College London between meetings.

The main role of the Board is to:

Advise on strategic direction of the Institutes and priorities and gaps in programmes;

Provide insights on the climate scene and key developments and events based on individual member’s knowledge;

Give advice on the priority issues on which to engage and how best might the Institutes exert influence;

Act as ambassadors for the Institutes at the national and international level;

Propose funding opportunities which the Institutes should pursue and advice on how to realise those potential opportunities;

Members will serve for a period of four years, renewable once.


Current members are:

Jeremy Grantham, Donor, Grantham Foundation for the Protection of the Environment

Hannelore Grantham, Donor, Grantham Foundation for the Protection of the Environment

And (listed alphabetically by surname):

Declan Conway, Research Director, Grantham Research Institute, LSE

Tamsin Cooper, Strategy Director, Green Alliance

Juliet Davenport, Founder and CEO of Good Energy

Professor Ottmar Edenhofer, Director, Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK)

Prof Joyeeta Gupta, Professor of Environment and Development in the Global South, University of Amsterdam

Prof Jo Haigh, Distinguished Research Fellow, ICL

Professor Simon Hix, Pro-Director for Research, LSE

Professor Sir Brian Hoskins, Chair, Grantham Institute, ICL

Emma Howard-Boyd, Chair of the Environment Agency

Professor Nick Jennings, Vice Provost for Research, ICL

Sam Lee, Imperial College Union, Deputy President (Finance and Services), ICL

Dr Gerard Lyons, Economic Adviser, Mayor of London Office

Joan Macnaughton, Chair of The Climate Group

Jennifer Morgan, Co-Executive Director, Greenpeace

Ramsay Ravenel, Grantham Foundation for the Protection of the Environment

Professor Judith Rees, Vice Chair, GRI, LSE

Professor Lord Martin Rees OM PRS, Master of Trinity, University of Cambridge

Mr Carter Roberts, President and CEO, World Wildlife Fund

Professor Martin Siegert FRSE, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, University of Exeter, Cornwall

Mr James Smith, Chairman, The Carbon Trust

Prof. Lord Nicholas Stern, Chair, GRI, LSE

Mr Marc Stuart, Private Equity Investor, Allotrope Ventures, East Bay, CA

Sir Richard Sykes, Chairman of the Royal Institution and Imperial College Healthcare, and Chancellor of Brunel University

Richard Templar, Grantham Director of Innovation, ICL

Nigel Topping, Executive Director, Carbon Disclosure Project (CDP)

Professor Ralf Toumi,  Co-Director, Grantham Institute, ICL

Sophie Trott (LSE Student Union, Environment and Ethics Officer)

Dr Paul Woolley, Centre for the Study of Capital Market Dysfunctionality, LSE

Michaela Wright, Head of Corporate Sustainability, HSBC UK

Keep in touch with the Grantham Research Institute at LSE
Sign up to our newsletters and get the latest analysis, research, commentary and details of upcoming events.