Home > Website archive > News and media > News archives > 2016 > 10 > Professor Christine Chinkin wins UN award for distinguished service

Professor Christine Chinkin wins UN award for distinguished service

Christine Chinkin, Director of LSE’s Centre for Women, Peace and Security, has been awarded the Sir Brian Urquhart Award for distinguished service to the United Nations by a UK citizen.

Professor Chinkin, who is also Emerita Professor of International Law at LSE, received the award from the United Nations Association UK (UNA-UK) at the Danish Embassy on October 24 to mark United Nations day 2016.christine1

The UNA-UK said the award was given “as a mark of our admiration for her work – as an academic and as a practitioner – in the fields of human rights; women, peace and security; and international law, justice and accountability. The award would also be a mark of our gratitude for all the support that she has provided to UNA-UK over the years.”

Professor Chinkin has been a consultant or advisor to UN bodies on a range of issues including human trafficking gender-based persecution in armed conflict, peace agreements and gender and violence against women. She was a member of the UN fact-finding missions to Gaza in 2007 (Beit Hanoun) and 2009 (the Goldstone Report), and a member of the Kosovo Human Rights Advisory Panel. Her current work with the UN is focussed on the Centre for Women, Peace and Security’s partnership in support of the UN Special Rapporteur on Violence Against Women.  

The award celebrates the work of Sir Brian Urquhart, the second person recruited to the fledgling UN Secretariat who was instrumental in creating the organisation's administrative framework. He served at the UN for four decades, playing a critical role in the direction of peacekeeping operations – notably in the Middle East, Cyprus, Kashmir, Lebanon and Congo – and in the establishment of the International Atomic Energy Agency.

Past award recipients include: Lord Hannay of Chiswick (2015), Professor Lynn Davies (2014), Ian Martin (2013), Sir Richard Jolly (2012) and Dame Margaret Anstee (2011). 

 25 October 2016