Home > Website archive > News and media > News archives > 2016 > 07 > British Academy honours four LSE Fellows for distinguished research

British Academy honours four LSE Fellows for distinguished research

Brit Acc 2016 fellows 480p

Four LSE professors have been elected as Fellows of the prestigious British Academy, the UK's national body for the humanities and social sciences.

In recognition of their outstanding research, Professors Emily Jackson (Law), Judy Wajcman (Sociology), Robin Burgess (Economics) and Michael Power (Accounting)  are among 66 new distinguished scholars elected to join the 1000-strong British Academy Fellowship.

Professor of Accounting, Michael Power, said: 

"As  the first accounting academic to be elected to the British Academy, this is a wonderful honour for me personally.  More importantly, it is also recognition for the field of sociologically-oriented accounting research which  was established at LSE several decades ago, and which now has so many vibrant connections to the wider social sciences and humanities."

Professor of Economics, Director of the IGC and a member of STICERD, Robin Burgess, said:

"Never has the process of linking economic research with public policy been more necessary in the interconnected world we inhabit. I look forward to working with the British Academy in this exciting endeavour."

Commenting on the announcement, LSE Pro-Director of Research, Professor Julia Black, said:

“The School congratulates all four professors on their election to the Academy, which champions the humanities and social sciences and the important role they play in our daily lives. Their election as Fellows is testament to their outstanding scholarship and research contribution to their respective fields.”

In addition to the UK Fellows, the British Academy elected 20 new Corresponding Fellows from overseas universities in the US, Australia, Spain and Germany as well as four Honorary Fellows.

Lord Nicholas Stern, IG Patel Professor of Economics at LSE and Chairman of the Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change, is stepping down as President of the British Academy after four years. His successor is Professor Sir David Cannadine.

The full list of 2016 Fellows is available here.

18 July 2016