Home > Website archive > News and media > News archives > 2014 > 07 > British Academy elects four Fellows from LSE

British Academy elects four Fellows from LSE

LSEFour academics from the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) have been elected Fellows of the British Academy in recognition of their outstanding research.

Each year, the British Academy elects into its Fellowship UK-based scholars who are highly distinguished academics and who are recognised for their outstanding research and work across the humanities and social sciences.

Professors Katrin Flikschuh, Jeremy Horder, Christian List and Dimitri Vayanos are among 42 new Fellows elected this year.

On announcing the new Fellows, British Academy President Professor Lord Nicholas Stern, the first President of the British Academy from LSE since Lord Robbins in 1962, said: “I am delighted to welcome these fine researchers and scholars into our Fellowship. Our Fellows are elected from across the UK for their distinction in the humanities and social sciences. Together they represent an unrivalled reserve of expertise and knowledge.”



Commenting on the announcement, Professor Katrin Flikschuh, Department of Government, said: "I am greatly honoured by this election and the public recognition of my field of research it represents."



Professor Jeremy Horder, who is based in LSE's Department of Law, added: “I was both surprised and thrilled to hear of my election!”

Professor Christian List, who is jointly of the Departments of Government and Philosophy, said: "It is a great honour to be elected to the British Academy. On this occasion, I would like to express my gratitude to the School, and especially the Government and Philosophy Departments, for the vibrant and supportive academic environment which I have enjoyed over the years, and which makes LSE a wonderful place to do interdisciplinary work."


“I feel very honoured to be elected at the British Academy, and to be part of such a select group of scholars. I am delighted that Finance research at LSE continues to be recognized at the highest levels” said Professor Dimitri Vayanos of LSE's Department of Finance.