Home > Website archive > News and media > News archives > 2013 > 07 > Dr Amy Gutmann becomes LSE Honorary Fellow

Dr Amy Gutmann becomes LSE Honorary Fellow

Dr Amy Gutmann and Professor Craig CalhounDr Amy Gutmann (pictured with Professor Craig Calhoun), President of the University of Pennsylvania, was made an Honorary Fellow of the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) today (Thursday 18 July).

Honorary Fellowships are awarded by LSE each year to people who have attained distinction in the arts, science, or public life, or who have rendered outstanding services to the School or its concerns.

LSE Director Professor Craig Calhoun read the oration for Dr Gutmann at the ceremony, which was held in London's Peacock Theatre. He said: "Dr Gutmann is an LSE graduate and an outstanding public intellectual whose elevation to the Honorary Fellowship will enrich the School community and recognise her great distinction over an extraordinary academic career."

Dr Amy Gutmann, President of the University of Pennsylvania since 2004 and a graduate of LSE, is internationally recognised for her success in increasing access to higher education and integrating knowledge across disciplines in order to maximise creativity and innovation. She created Penn's no-loan guarantee for undergraduates, which has become a model for American universities. She is also renowned for her scholarship on education, deliberation, and democracy.

Appointed by President Barack Obama in 2009, Dr Gutmann also serves as chair of the Presidential Commission for the Study of Bioethical Issues. She has published widely on the value of education and deliberation in democracy, on the importance of access to higher education and health care, and on the essential role of ethics in public affairs. Among her many publications are Democratic Education, Identity in Democracy, Democracy and Disagreement, Why Deliberative Democracy? and, most recently, The Spirit of Compromise (the last three with Harvard’s Dennis Thompson).

She is the W.E.B. DuBois Fellow of the American Academy of Political and Social Science, and she was elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1997 and a member of the American Philosophical Society (founded by Benjamin Franklin) in 2004.

Dr Gutmann received an MSc in Politial Science from LSE in 1972. She was presented with her Honorary Fellowship at an LSE graduation ceremony which also marked the graduation of students in economics, government, international development and international relations.


Pictures are available. Contact the LSE Press Office, 020 7955 7060 or email pressoffice@lse.ac.uk

18 July 2013