Home > Website archive > News and media > News archives > 2010 > 07 > British Academy Elects Four Fellows from LSE

British Academy Elects Four Fellows from LSE

In recognition of their outstanding scholarship, four professors from the London School of Economics and Political Science have been elected as Fellows of the prestigious British Academy, the UK's national body for the humanities and social sciences.

British_Academy_logoEach year the British Academy elects into its Fellowship UK-based scholars who have attained distinction in any branch of the humanities and social sciences. The rigorous electoral process means that only a very small number of scholars in any field are elected.

This year LSE's Francesco Caselli, Neil Duxbury, Conor Gearty and John Van Reenen are among 38 scholars elected to join the 900-strong British Academy Fellowship.

Commenting on the announcement Professor Van Reenen, Director of the Centre for Economic Performance, said:

"I am honoured to be made a fellow in the British Academy. At a time of financial pressure, it is important to maintain the tradition of rigorous economic science and policy engagement that has been the hallmark of the Academy."

Professor of Economics, Francesco Caselli added:

"Becoming a Fellow of the Academy is one of the greatest honours that can befall an academic, and I am immensely grateful to the Fellowship for this election."

The announcement was made at the British Academy AGM on Thursday 22nd July. All Fellows will be formally admitted to the Academy in a ceremony in September.

For more information please contact the press office pressoffice@lse.ac.uk or Kate Turnbull, British Academy Press and PR Manager: 0207 969 5263 / k.turnbull@britac.ac.uk