Home > Website archive > News and media > News archives > News archive > 2009 > LSE academics awarded for excellence

LSE academics awarded for excellence

Professor Christian List and Dr Franz Dietrich have been selected for the fifth Social Choice and Welfare Prize, for their work on the theory of judgment aggregation.

Awarded every two years by the Society for Social Choice and Welfare, the prize is to honour scholars, under the age of 40, who have achieved excellence in the area of social choice theory and welfare economics.

Professor List and Dr Dietrich were chosen for their work on the theory of judgement aggregation, which looks at how the judgments of several individuals on some controversial questions can be merged into coherent judgments for a whole group.

Judgment aggregation problems arise in many contexts, from legislatures to referenda, expert panels to juries and courts, and from company boards to international organisations. The theory seeks to provide a general framework for investigating some of the common properties of different judgment aggregation problems, and their solutions.

ChristianListProfessor List (pictured right), who was also recently awarded the Laurance S Rockefeller Visiting Fellowship from Princeton University's Center for Human Values, was delighted to be recognised by the Society. He said: 'The award has been a huge surprise for both of us, and we are thrilled, and feel honoured, to receive this recognition.'



franzdietrichDr Dietrich (pictured left) said: 'It is a wonderful recognition of our area of research, and we both feel very motivated to make further contributions.'

The official award will be given at the 2010 meeting of the Society, held this time in Moscow, where Professor List and Dr Dietrich will deliver the Prize Lecture.


Further information about the academics' work on judgment aggregation is available on their personal webpages at http://personal.lse.ac.uk/list/ and www.personeel.unimaas.nl/f.dietrich or on the online bibliography at http://personal.lse.ac.uk/LIST/doctrinalparadox.htm



Professor List is a professor of political science and philosophy in the Departments of Government and Philosophy at LSE. Dr Dietrich is a Nuffield Foundation New Career Development Fellow at LSE and assistant professor in the Department of Quantitative Economics at the University of Maastricht, Netherlands. He will take up the Ludwig Lachmann Fellowship in the Philosophy Department at LSE in October 2009.

Previous prize winners are Professor Matthew Jackson, Stanford University, Professor François Maniquet, Université catholique de Louvain, Professor John Duggan, University of Rochester, and Professor Tayfun Sönmez, Boston College.

12 February 2009