Home > Website archive > News and media > News archives > News archive > 2009 > 06 > LSE congratulates alumni named in this year's Queen's Birthday Honours

LSE congratulates alumni named in this year's Queen's Birthday Honours

LSE is delighted to congratulate the following alumni, who were honoured in the Queen's Birthday Honours 2009:

Professor Andrew Ashworth LLB 1968
Chairman, Sentencing Advisory Panel
CBE for services to the administration of justice.

Honor Bailey (née Kibblewhite) BSc (Econ) International Relations 1957
MBE for services to heritage and to the community in Richmond-upon-Thames.

Professor Paul Corrigan BSc Sociology 1969
Management consultant and executive coach
CBE for services to healthcare.

Professor Sir David Hendry MSc (Econ) 1967, PhD Econometrics 1970
Professor of Economics, University of Oxford
Knight Bachelor for services to social science.

Sir William Johnston BSc Social Science and Administration 1982
Chief constable, British Transport Police
Knight Bachelor for services to the police.

Peter Methven BSc (Econ) Geography 1959
OBE for services to the marine industry.

Vicky Pryce BSc (Econ) 1973, MSc (Econ) 1976
Director-general economics and joint head, Government Economic Service, Department for Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform
Companion of the Order of the Bath.

Philemon Sealy Diploma in Social Administration 1966
MBE for services to the community in the London Borough of Brent.

Dr Elizabeth Sidwell PhD Geography 1976
Chief executive, Haberdashers' Aske's Federation, Lewisham, London
CBE for services to local and national education. 

Allan Stewart BSc(Econ) Economics 1972
Principal, Selby College, North Yorkshire
OBE for services to local and national further education.

Daniel Taubman BSc(Econ) Economics 1970
MBE for services to adult and further education. 

For the full list of honours

18 June 2009