Around LSE 2013 archive


LSE Sustainable Projects Fund nominated for Guardian University Awards (16 December 2013)

LSE’s Sustainable Projects Fund (SPF) has been nominated for a 2014 Guardian University Award. LSE is one of three universities shortlisted in the Sustainability Project category.

Lord Stern

Professor Lord Nicholas Stern receives award for outstanding climate science communication (12 December 2013) 

Professor Lord Nicholas Stern, chair of the Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment, has won the 2013 Stephen H. Schneider Award for Outstanding Climate Science Communication.


Incident at LGBT Pride Week Stall (3 December 2013)

An incident occurred on Thursday afternoon at the LSESU LGBT Alliance’s stall on Houghton Street.

Houghton Street

LSE students Sleep Out for Spires (28 November 2013)

Around 20 LSE students will brave the winter conditions tonight in a 24 hour Sleep Out organised by the LSE Students’ Union RAG (Raising and Giving) society.


LSE academics honoured by the Political Studies Association (27 November 2013)

Two LSE academics, Professor Patrick Dunleavy and Dr Jean-Paul Faguet, have been honoured for their work in political science at the Political Studies Association annual awards ceremony.


LSE appoints new Pro-Director for Research and Vice-Chair of the Appointments Committee (21 November 2013)

Professor Julia Black, Department of Law, has been appointed as the Pro-Director for Research and Professor Eric Neumayer, Department of Geography and Environment, has been appointed as the Vice-Chair of the Appointments Committee. Both posts start on 1 January 2014.

Professor Michael Cox

Professor Michael Cox appointed as Foreign Office Expert Adviser (14 November 2013)

Michael Cox, Founding Co-Director of LSE IDEAS and Professor of International Relations, has been appointed to the Foreign and Commonwealth Office ‘Diplomatic Excellence External Panel.’

Pollinate Energy

LSE student's energy project awarded United Nations Momentum for Change award (12 November 2013)

Pollinate Energy, a social business co-founded by LSE student Katerina Kimmorley, has been named as a Lighthouse Activity under the 2013 United Nations Momentum for Change Awards.

Nick Byrne

Nick Byrne appointed to Advisory Board for British Academy project (7 November 2013)

Nick Byrne, Director of the LSE Language Centre, has been appointed to the Advisory Board of the British Academy project 'Born Global - Rethinking Language Policy for 21st Century Britain'.


LSE academic joins Bill Clinton on Rockerfeller Foundation's Resilient Cities judging panel (30 October 2013)

LSE Cities’ Director Ricky Burdett joins former presidents Bill Clinton and Olusegun Obsanjo and Deutsche Bank co-CEO Anshu Jain on the Rockerfeller Foundation’s Resilient Cities judging panel.

Susan Scholefield

LSE School Secretary appointed to the Competition Service (18 October 2013)

Susan Scholefield, LSE School Secretary, has been appointed by the Department of Business, Innovation and Skills as Non-Executive Member to the Competition Service.

Janet Yellen © Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco

From LSE to the Chair of the Federal Reserve (9 October 2013)

Professor Janet Yellen, a former lecturer in the Department of Economics, has been nominated to be the next Chair of the US Federal Reserve.  Professor Yellen, who was nominated by President Barack Obama, has recently accepted an invitation from LSE to receive the award of an Honorary Doctorate of the School.

Hult Prize

LSE students' social enterprise company shortlisted for prestigious Hult Prize 2013 (24 September 2013)

A team of students from LSE are among the runners up for the prestigious Hult Prize 2013 for their social enterprise initiative, SokoText. The team, two of whom are recent graduates, conceived of SokoText while studying at LSE.

Kevin Featherstone

LSE academic awarded Order of the Phoenix of the Hellenic Republic (18 September 2013)

Professor Kevin Featherstone has been bestowed the award of Commander, Order of the Phoenix of the Hellenic Republic. The award was presented to Professor Featherstone by H.E. Mr Konstantinos Bikas, Ambassador of Greece, on Tuesday 17 September.

Decentralization and Popular Democracy

LSE academic awarded W.J.M. Mackenzie Book Prize for 2013 (12 September 2013)

Dr Jean-Paul Faguet, Reader in the Political Economy of Development, has been awarded the 2013 W.J.M Mackenzie Book Prize for his book Decentralization and Popular Democracy: governance from below in Bolivia.

Linda Mulcahy

LSE professor becomes Academician of the Academy of Social Sciences (9 September 2013)

Linda Mulcahy, Professor of Law at LSE, has become an Academician of the Academy of Social Sciences.

Ronald Coase

Ronald Coase: 1910-2013 (4 September 2013)

Professor Ronald Coase, the Nobel Prize winning economist and former LSE student and member of staff, has died.

Arne Westad in China

'A new government - a changing China?' ask experts at this year's LSE China Conference (21 August 2013)

LSE held its third annual LSE China Conference, and its fourth Beijing-based LSE graduation ceremony, on Thursday 15 August in Beijing, China.

Dorothee Wierling

Dorothee Wierling becomes Gerda Henkel Visiting Professor 2013-14 (25 July 2013)

Dr Dorothee Wierling, Deputy Director of the Forschungsstelle für Zeitgeschichte in Hamburg, has been appointed Gerda Henkel Visiting Professor 2013-14 in the International History Department.


LSE academic gives evidence to Political and Constitutional Reform Committee (18 July 2013)

Professor Patrick Dunleavy, Professor of Political Science and Public Policy and Co-Director of Democratic Audit at LSE, has given evidence to Parliament’s Political and Constitutional Reform Committee.

Ollie Cook

LSE student ambassador for sport wins rowing world cup for Great Britain (25 June 2013)

Ollie Cook, an LSE Sports Ambassador, was one of the eight men team who won a thrilling race at the World Cup this weekend for Great Britain.

Paul Kelly

LSE extends Chevening visiting scholarship and MSc scholarship programmes (18 June 2013)

LSE, the Chinese Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA) and the British Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) signed Memorandums of Understanding extending two joint LSE-MFA-FCO programmes this week.

Richard Murphy

LSE academic commended by ESRC Celebrating Impact Prize awards (3 June 2013)

LSE academic Richard Murphy, has been awarded second place by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) in its Celebrating Impact Prize Awards.

Bianca Nobilo

LSE student nominated for NUS/Student Hubs award (6 February 2013)

Bianca Nobilo has been shortlisted for an NUS/Student Hubs volunteering award, for her work educating young people about the risk of Sudden Adult Death Syndrome and the importance of keeping a healthy heart while at school and university.


LSE Professor awarded honorary doctorate (28 January 2013)

Professor Michael Power, a professor of accounting and director of the Centre for the Analysis of Risk and Regulation (CARR) has been awarded an honorary doctorate by Uppsala University in Sweden. 

Dr Mahaveer Golechha

LSE student amongst world's top Alzheimer's Young Scientists (16 January 2013)

LSE student Dr Mahaveer Golechha has been selected for the prestigious Alzheimer’s Drug Discovery Foundation’s 'Young Investigator Scholarship Award'.

Christian List

LSE academic awarded Leverhulme Major Research Fellowship (10 January 2013)

Professor Christian List has been awarded a Leverhulme Major Research Fellowship from October 2013 to September 2016.