Around LSE 2010 archive

Yang Jiechi

How China's diplomats developed their skills at LSE (20 December 2010)

LSE’s role in helping to shape a generation of Chinese diplomats has been remembered by both former students and teachers who were involved in the country’s first foray onto Houghton Street.

High Holborn

High Holborn Silver Lining (10 December 2010)

LSE’s High Holborn residence wins silver for 'Best Budget Accommodation' at the prestigious 2010 Visit London Awards.

Garrick Hileman

Polar vision (10 November 2010)

In December 2011, LSE student Garrick Hileman will be part of a team trekking from the coast of Antarctica to the South Pole, to raise funds for two sight-related charities.

Elias Mossialos

LSE academic awarded prestigious Andrija Stampar Medal (2 November 2010)

Professor Elias Mossialos, Brian Abel-Smith Professor of Health Policy, director of LSE Health, has been awarded the 2010 Andrija Stampar Medal for distinguished services to public health.

Frank Land Skydive

Reliving the Journey: reflections on our skydive (1 November 2010)

Frank Land, emeritus professor in the Information Systems and Innovation Group at LSE, and his twin brother Ralph marked their 82nd birthday on Sunday 24 October with a skydive. Despite a broken ankle, the day was a success, with the brothers raising over £11,000 for Cancer Research UK. Here, Frank relives his journey.

Sarah Franklin

LSE academic receives Smith College Medal (4 October 2010)

Sarah Franklin, professor of social study and biomedicine and associate director of BIOS at LSE, is one of five Smith College alumnae to have been awarded the 2011 Smith College Medal.


The London School of Economics and Political Science launch with sQuid payments (20 September 2010)

sQuid, the electronic money provider, and LSE today announce the launch of sQuid on the LSE card. The personalised multi-function smart card incorporates ID, access control, eMoney, Loyalty, and Library membership.

Students talking

Student mentoring at LSE (9 August 2010)

For many undergraduates, starting university will be the biggest challenge they have faced so far. Economics undergraduate and student mentor Jerusha examines LSE's Student Mentoring Scheme, which aims to help students settle into life at LSE and beyond.


LSE welcomes its first bees to Passfield Hall of Residence (4 August 2010)

Two honey bee hives have been installed at Passfield Hall, making it one of the first university halls of residence with its own bees.

Life Goes On

LSE academics make their film debut (23 July 2010)

Anthropologist Dr Mukulika Banerjee and economist Lord Meghnad Desai have become film stars for the first time, starring in the new English-Bengali movie, Life Goes On.


LSE academic awarded British Society of Criminology Book Prize for 2010 (21 July 2010)

Dr Sharon Shalev, a fellow at the Mannheim Centre for Criminology at LSE, has been awarded the prestigious British Society of Criminology's Book Prize for 2010 for her book Supermax: controlling risk through solitary confinement.

Common Sense

Common Sense: reflections on the Human Rights Act (24 June 2010)

Professor Francesca Klug, director of the Human Rights Futures Project at LSE Global Governance, has edited and co-authored a new booklet on the Human Rights Act.

Eco Symbol

LSE100 wins Green Gown Award 2010 (17 June 2010)

LSE100: understanding the causes of things, a compulsory course for all undergraduate students that was launched by the School in January 2010, has won a prestigious Green Gown Award.

Dominic Lieven

LSE academic wins prestigious Wolfson History Prize (16 June 2010)

Professor Dominic Lieven has been awarded the Wolfson History Prize for his book about Napoleon's invasion of Russia. Dominic Lieven, professor of Russian history, is only the second LSE academic to win the esteemed award.

Richard Layard

Lord Layard wins first ever Royal College of Psychiatrists President’s Medal (16 June 2010)

Lord Richard Layard, founder and director of LSE’s Centre for Economic Performance, is one of eight people who have been awarded a medal by the president of the Royal College of Psychiatrists.

Jean Sykes

Honours for three leading figures at LSE (14 June 2010)

Chief Information Officer Jean Sykes, Governor Janet Gaymer, and Professor Tim Besley have all received awards in the Queen's Birthday Honours List.


LSE awarded a First for its environmental work (10 June 2010)

The London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) has been awarded a First for its environmental performance for the second year running by People & Planet Green League published in Times Higher Education.

PhD poster

First LSE PhD poster exhibition a success (2 June 2010)

The first LSE PhD Poster Exhibition was held at LSE on Wednesday 26 May with seven students being awarded prizes for their posters, including Vlad Glaveanu, Social Psychology Department, who won the Barclays Grand Poster Prize for his poster, Creativity and Cultural Context .

Professor Francesca Klug

LSE academic awarded Bernard Crick Prize for best essay (19 May 2010)

Professor Francesca Klug, professorial research fellow at Global Governance, has been awarded the Political Quarterly Bernard Crick Prize for best essay

Michel Herreria and Herve Didiot-Cook

Deja vu at the Language Centre as slogans of '68 are written anew (25 February 2010)

An outbreak of political graffiti on the walls of LSE's language centre is all about art and learning not vandalism

Julie Meyer

Dragons lie in wait as students get down to serious business

A project to help ordinary people create adverts for big corporations and a scheme that would allow shoppers to donate their loyalty card earnings to charity are among the innovative ideas which students are hoping will impress business dragons in an event at LSE.

Rom Harre

LSE professor receives lifetime achievement award (15 February 2010)

Professor Rom Harré, director of the Centre for Natural and Social Science at LSE, has been awarded a lifetime achievement award from the American Psychological Association (Division 24).

Richard Macve

LSE professor receives distinguished academic award (8 February 2010)

Professor Richard Macve, professor of accounting at LSE, has received the 2010 Distinguished Academic Award from the British Accounting Association.

Dr Ulf Axelsol
Department of Finance lecturer and former student take top two prizes at annual awards (11 January 2010) 

Dr Ulf Axelson and Dr Peter Kondor won prizes for outstanding academic papers at the annual meeting of the American Finance Association.