The rich history of this building began in 1912, and from its origins as the Land Registry Building to its new proposed function at LSE, the building has seen much change both in itself and the surrounding area.
Despite sustaining damage to its central wing during the Second World War, LSE's redevelopment is the largest since 1953.
The School’s vision was to reinvigorate this spectacular listed building by stripping back unattractive elements. LSE enhanced its original features and made contemporary additions that serve its new use as a prestigious academic building. The refurbishment provides LSE with much needed teaching space. There are three teaching floors comprising a conference suite, two Harvard lecture theatres, 20 teaching rooms and 20 seminar rooms, a Post Graduate common room and PhD study space, as well as catering facilities.
The building houses the Department of Economics and its associated research centres and programmes.
A new inclusive and accessible entrance pavilion has been built. Enabling work commenced on the site in October 2011, and LSE took residence in January 2013. The building was formally opened by HRH The Princess Royal in April 2013.
This building marks another chapter in LSE’s ambitious estates strategy, which aims to create a world class estate commensurate with the School’s academic reputation. The School continues to seek donations for this project.
If you are interested in learning more about supporting 32 Lincoln’s Inn Fields please call +44 (0)20 7955 7361 or contact the Development Office.