How to contact us:

 

Yasmin Hossain
Tel: 0207 955 7003
Email: Y.R.Hossain@lse.ac.uk|

 

 

 

Moving On (Years 6/7)

Moving On aims to make a positive contribution to Year 6 and Year 7 pupils' transition to secondary education by showing them that change happens throughout life and can be a positive experience. This is often the first taste of university for pupils and so the programme is also designed to help raise aspirations. The programme has been designed to fit into the National Curriculum with links to English, Geography, Maths and PSHE.

The main components of the programme are:

The life ladder: Looking at changes that take place throughout a lifetime 

Agony aunt: Hopes and fears for moving to secondary school

A campus tour: A guided campus trail completing questions along the way

Planning a day out: Becoming more independent by planning a hypothetical trip around London

Graduation: An opportunity to look at a graduation outfit and graduate from Moving On

"Well thought out and a really good day for raising aspirations for secondary school and aspirations for life. The ambassadors were very friendly and helpful; I hope the children will remember them when they think about their own future academic careers."
Primary School Teacher

"It helped me feel determined to go to university."
Primary pupil

LSE can accommodate up to 30 year 6 pupils at a time on various dates spread throughout the year.

Eligibility criteria

Schools that wish to participate must have over 35.1% of pupils on free school meals.  

To apply

Available dates are as follows:

  • Thursday, 13 November 2014
  • Tuesday, 18 November 2014
  • Tuesday, 16 December 2014
  • Wednesday, 17 December 2014
  • Thursday, 18 December 2014
  • Thursday, 8 January 2015
  • Friday, 27 February 2015
  • Wednesday, 4 March 2015
  • Tuesday, 24 March 2015
  • Thursday, 26 March 2015
  • Tuesday, 31 March 2015
  • Thursday, 16 April 2015
  • Tuesday, 21 April 2015
  • Wednesday, 22 April 2015
  • Thursday, 23 April 2015

 Please note that each event runs from 10.00am - 1.00pm and Lunch is not provided.

To book, please fill in the booking form|. Please note that there is a high level of competition for dates and they will be allocated on a first come first served basis. The deadline for returning the booking form is Friday 24 October 2014.

For more information please email Widening Participation|.  

Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|

 

MOelephant250x167