Moving On participants 'graduate' from the scheme

Primary school

At a time of transition for Year 6 and 7 students, Moving On shows them that change happens throughout life and can be a positive experience.

Today helped me to think what I might do when I grow older
Moving On participant

The Moving On scheme has been designed to complement the National Curriculum, with links to English, Geography and Mathematics. This is often the first taste of university for participants and so the activity is also designed to raise aspirations.

 

When and where does the scheme run?

LSE can accommodate up to 30 Year 6 or Year 7 pupils at a time on various dates spread throughout the year. Each event runs on the LSE campus from 10am - 1.15pm.

The following dates are currently available for 2017-18: 

All sessions run from 10am-1.15pm

December 2017
Monday 18 December 2017
Tuesday 19 December 2017
Wednesday 20 December 2017 

April 2018
Monday 16 April 2018
Tuesday 17 April 2018 
Thursday 19 April 2018  
Friday 20 April 2018     
Wednesday 25 April 2018 
Thursday 26 April 2018
Friday 27 April 2018
Monday 30 April 2018 

May 2018
Wednesday 2 May 2018  
Thursday 3 May 2018  
Friday 4 May 2018   
Tuesday 8 May 2018
Wednesday 23 May 2018

June 2018
Monday 18 June 2018
Tuesday 19 June 2018
Monday 25 June 2018
Tuesday 26 June 2018

What activities are included?

The main components are:

  1. Discover University: Familiarising pupils with university through an interactive quiz
  2. The life ladder: Looking at changes which take place throughout a lifetime
  3. Agony aunt (Year 6 only): Addressing concerns about secondary school while highlighting all there is to look forward to
  4. Career tree (Year 7 only): Demonstrating the links between school, university and careers
  5. A campus tour: Completing questions along a guided campus trail
  6. Planning a day out: Becoming more independent by planning a hypothetical trip around London
  7. Graduation: Looking at a graduation outfit and graduating from Moving On.

The interactive scheme is led by Widening Participation staff, with LSE students facilitating group work and acting as role models.

How many school staff should accompany the pupils?

We ask for at least two members of staff to accompany a group of 30 pupils.

What training do LSE staff receive?

All staff and students involved in the sessions receive appropriate training before the event. Staff or students working directly and regularly with young people on activities receive specific training on working with children, in line with LSE’s Safeguarding and Child Protection Policy. They also undergo an appropriate level Disclosure and Barring Service check.

Are there any costs involved?

There is no cost to attend. Please note that lunch is not provided.

Who is eligible?

Please see our core eligibility criteria.

How can I find out more and book?

Applications open on Tuesday 14 November 2017. Please click here to apply. Please contact the Widening Participation team at widening.participation@lse.ac.uk or on 020 7955 7717.

 

"Wow! What an inspirational and thought provoking day! I was amazed to see children who often struggle to formulate and share ideas having high-level discussions and engaging in activities. Moving On really inspires children to understand the higher educational options available to them and to question pre-conceived ideas about university."

Deborah Hogan, Thomas Buxton Primary School