Research Committee

In June 2002, the Department agreed to establish a Research Committee. Its purpose is to foster research initiatives, research culture and research dissemination that will develop LSE Sociology's role in the discipline, nationally and internationally.

Within the department, the Committee will be working to develop research clusters based on both common intellectual agendas and practical activities; to increase funded research by encouraging and coordinating funding proposals; and to help develop a core identity for LSE Sociology through collective discussions and a research newsletter.

Externally, the Committee aims to develop the public role and profile of the department within the School, the discipline and in interdisciplinary forums; to build links with cognate departments, centres and institutes within the School; to ensure that department research clusters are actively positioned within broader research networks and collaborations; and to promote closer relationships with user constituencies.

The Committee is currently chaired by Judy Wajcman, with Chetan Bhatt, Ricky Burdett, Louise Fisher, Carrie Friese, Bridget Hutter, Anna Johnston, Juan Pablo Pardo-Guerra, Mike Savage and Charis Thompson as members and Attila Szanto as secretary.  Research Committee terms of reference (PDF), meeting minutes and information on research funding can be found on our Departmental research page (internal staff access only - login required).