PhD Students

satkeen

Satkeen Azizzadeh

Supervisors: Lucia Garcia|, Saadi Lahlou|

Contact Details: S.Azizzadeh@lse.ac.uk|

 
anonymous female

Donna Baillie

Supervisors: Alex Gillespie|, Jason Alexander 

Contact Details: D.H.Baillie@lse.ac.uk|

 
201026748

Sara Belton

Supervisors: Catherine Campbell|, Alex Gillespie|

Research Interests: 
Exploring the psychosocial barriers to children’s HIV service access in western Uganda

Contact Details: S.K.Belton@lse.ac.uk|


Profile page|

 
201024629

Apurv Chauhan

Supervisors: Catherine Campbell|, Sandra Jovchelovitch|

Research Interests:
Social Representations of Poverty in India

Contact Details: A.Chauhan4@lse.ac.uk|


Profile page|

 
anonymous male

Adam Christmas

Supervisor: Martin Bauer|

Research Interests:

My research focuses on experiences of stress and momentary assessment methods. For my thesis, I am developing an improved method for taking momentary measurements of stress and anxiety using mobile technology, and investigating how these measurements interact with others such as environmental context and temperament. My background is in programming, social design of information systems, methodology, and psychology.

Contact Details:  a.christmas@lse.ac.uk|

 
200319865

Natalia Concha

Supervisors: Sandra Jovchelovitch , Frederic Basso|

Research Interests:
The Psychosocial Transitioning of the Maternal Self

Contact Details: N.Concha@lse.ac.uk|

 
Kevin_Corti_sm

Kevin Corti

Supervisors: Alex Gillespie|, Tom Reader|

Research Interests:
I am interested in developing new methods of experimentation for illuminating social psychological phenomena, principally how implicit attributions shape intersubjective contexts. The research projects for my PhD focus on two specific domains of intersubjective analysis.
The first concerns how humans experience socializing with “human-like” forms of artificial intelligence.

The second concerns how implicit self-representations affect behaviour, strategy, and outcomes in distributive economic bargaining simulations. Beyond these domains, my other research interests include evolutionary psychology, consumer psychology, and political social psychology.  

Contact Details: k.corti@lse.ac.uk| and kcorti@gmail.com|

 
coultas_thumb2

Clare Coultas

Supervisors: Catherine Campbell|, Flora Cornish
|
Research Interests:
My current research focuses on social representations of youth sexuality in the Tanzanian 'development' context, particularly exploring their construction and interaction through communicative encounters between young people, NGO workers and institutions (mediated through documents such as curricula, guidelines and reporting templates).

My interest in this area stems from my five years experience working in NGO programmatic and research roles focusing mainly on child and youth issues in East and Central Africa. My research interests also include intercultural communication, community participation, gender, global health, narratives and arts-based methodologies. I hold a BSc in Human Sciences and MSc in International Primary Health Care, both from University College London, UK. 

Contact details: c.j.coultas@lse.ac.uk|

 
40972

Simon Evans

Supervisors: Saadi Lahlou|, Bradley Frank
|


Profile page|

 
200725237

Bankole Falade

Supervisors: Martin Bauer|, Bradley Franks|

Research Interests:
Vaccination resistance, religion and attitudes to science in Nigeria’

Contact Details: B.Falade@lse.ac.uk|

 
anonymous male

Philippe Fauquet-Alekhine

Supervisors: Saadi Lahlou|, Tom Reader|

Research Interests:
Determinants of professionalization for high risk industrial professions in a social context of skills drain

Contact Details: P.Fauquet-Alekhine@lse.ac.uk|

 
200724294

Andrea Gobbo

Supervisors: Saadi Lahlou|, Lucia Garcia |

Contact Details: A.Gobbo@lse.ac.uk|

 
anonymous female

Balissa

Supervisor: Jan Stockdale

Research Interests: My current research examines the experiences of working life for  Foreign and Commonwealth Soldiers in the British Army and provides a commentary on the process of doing research in a hierarchical power-based organisation.  The implications for the process of conducting social psychological research and researchers are highlighted. 

My research interests include how  social and organisational identity affect working life and experiences of work, power, gender and ethnicity in the workplace.

Contact Details: b.p.greene@lse.ac.uk|

 
201033016

Imara Ajani Rolston

Supervisors: Catherine Campbell|, Frederic Basso|

Research Interests:
Between the Brick and the Ballot: Exploring Community Conversations, Direct Democracy, and the Cultivation of Collaborative Social and Structural HIV/AIDS interventions in South Africa’s Eastern Province

Contact details: I.A.Rolston@lse.ac.uk|


Profile page|

 
sandraJackson

Sharon Jackson

Supervisors:Catherine Campbell|, Alex Gillespie
|
Research Interests:
My current research interests are around the social dimensions of responses to HIV and climate change in sub-Saharan Africa. The initial focus of my PhD is on examining this through a comparative analysis of community participation in responses to HIV and climate change in Tanzania.
My background includes over ten years of professional and research experience in academia and civil society organisations working on international development, HIV, AIDS and climate change, alongside research interests in gender, social psychology, eastern and southern Africa, global health, gender-based violence, ecological sustainability and socio-economic issues. I hold a BA in Psychology and Philosophy from Trinity College Dublin and an MA in African Studies from Yale University. 

Contact Details: S.S.Jackson@lse.ac.uk|

 
meghanLeaver_63w_thumb

Meghan Leaver

Supervisors: Tom Reader|, Alex Gillespie|

Research Interests:
My research focuses on developing new methodology to extract and explore human factors in complex and risky organisations, specifically the factors found to be influential in the financial trading domain. This work draws on context driven behaviours that underlie risk taking and human error and influence team performance in the finance setting. My interests include; decision making, human error, cognition, perspective-taking, and teamwork.

Contact Details: m.p.leaver@lse.ac.uk|

 
anonymous female

Xuan Liu

Supervisors: Martin Bauer|, Derek Hook| 

 
212425_b

Jacob Metze

Supervisors: Martin Bauer|, Tom Reader|

Research Interests:

Towards a relational view of job satisfaction and wellbeing: Bringing in individual and relational dynamics

Contact Details: J.F.Metze@lse.ac.uk|

 
201330768

Liora Moskovitz

Supervisors:Lucia Garcia|, Tom Reader |

Research Interests:
Mobilising collective action for Healthcare Improvement in the NHS: A Social Movement Perspective to Large Scale Organisational Change

Contact Details: L.Moskovitz@lse.ac.uk|

 
201131371_2

Cathryn Nicholson

Supervisors: Caroline Howarth|, Alex Gillespie
|

Contact Details: C.G.Nicholson@lse.ac.uk|

 
201130236

Geetha Reddy

Supervisors: Ilka Gleibs|, Catherine Howarth |

Research Interests:
Ethnic Identity negotiation and its impact on well-being among mixed ethnicity individuals in Singapore and Malaysia

Contact Details: G.Reddy@lse.ac.uk|

 
200729934_

Celine Righi

Supervisor: Saadi Lahlou |

Contact Details: C.Righi@lse.ac.uk|

 
EmilyLeRoux_63w

Emily LeRoux-Rutledge

Supervisors: Catherine Campbell|, Tom Reader|

Research Interests:
My PhD research explores the impact of media on women’s empowerment and women’s narratives in South Sudan. I have also studied the impact of media on maternal and child health; HIV/AIDS; malaria; education; peacebuilding; governance and elections; and climate change.

My research covers a range of media platforms (television, radio, mobile) as well as a range of media formats (drama for development, factual programming, public service announcements, mobile value-added services).

I have conducted research in 21 countries across Africa, Asia and Eastern Europe – including Bangladesh, Cambodia, the Democratic Republic of Congo, India, Kenya, Niger, South Africa, Senegal, Serbia, Tanzania and Uganda.

In addition to pursuing my PhD, I work as an international development consultant for organisations with a media, information and communication focus. I have managed research for USAID, UNDP and DFID-funded projects.

Contact Details:emily.leroux.rutledge@gmail.com|


Profile page| | Academic| website | My Professional| website

 
201218509_janeRoberts

Jane Roberts

Supervisors: Sandra Jovchelovitch|, Alex Gillespie |

Research Interests:
Paediatric bipolar disorder in the US and UK: Representations of an emerging and contested diagnosis

Contact Details: J.Roberts7@lse.ac.uk|

 
200729934_

Celine Righi

Supervisor: Saadi Lahlou |

Contact Details: C.Righi@lse.ac.uk|

 
IMG_3506_93

Kyriaki Tortopidou-Derieux

Supervisors: Patrick Humphreys|, Prof Stephan Feuchtwang |(Anthropology)

Research Interests:
An Interdisciplinary Thesis, "The Politics of Religious Experience in 15th c Europe through an East-West Encounter: A Re-Interpretation".

Contact Details: tdkyriaki@gmail.com|

 
TWhitney-Portrait_93h

Teresa Whitney

Supervisors: Caroline Howarth|, Tom Reader |

Research Interests:
Representations of contact: Intergroup …. Space and and interfaith dialogue

Contact Details: T.Whitney@lse.ac.uk|

 
zhao

Mi Zhao

Supervisors: Sandra Jovchelovitch|, Bradley Franks|

Research Interests:
Citizenship as Social Representations: Forging Political Mindedness in Rural China

Contact Details: zhao12@lse.ac.uk|

 

 

 

Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|