Home > Department of Social Policy > Who's who > Emeritus and visiting research staff
How to contact us

Department of Social Policy

2nd Floor, Old Building

London School of Economics and Political Science

Houghton Street

London WC2A 2AE

Contact the Department


Contact the Web Team

Follow us:              Twitter40x40      Facebook-Logo091437x40

Submit updates via online forms: 


Emeritus and visiting research staff


Billis, Dr David –  Emeritus Reader in Social Policy
Contact details: d.billis@lse.ac.uk 

Carrier, Dr John–  Emeritus Researcher
Contact details: j.carrier@lse.ac.uk

Downes, Professor David -  Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
Research interests: Causes, character and consequences of mass imprisonment in the USA, comparative trends in crime, inequality, the regulation of drug use, welfare services and criminal justice. 
More information:
 LSE ExpertsMannheim Centre for Criminology
Contact details:
Glennerster, Professor Howard -  Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
Associate, Centre for Analysis of Social Exclusion
Research interests: The economics and finance of health education and long term care and other aspects of social welfare; the allocation of resources between areas; the history of social policy; the comparative study of social policy especially in respect to the United States 
More information: LSE Experts
Contact details: h.glennerster@lse.ac.uk
Langford, Dr Chris -  Emeritus Reader in Demography
Research interests: Fertility in Britain and Greece; influenza pandemic, 1918-19; mortality, Sri Lanka; marriage patterns; general demography.
More information: LSE ExpertsPopulation at LSE
Contact details:
Wilson, Dr Gail - Emeritus Reader in Social Policy
Research interests: Ageing; ethnicity; migration; health and social services; and gender.  Recent projects include covert resistance in intergenerational oppression; the secondary analysis of life histories of pioneer geriatricians in UK (with Professor Joanna Bornat, Open University); ethics in qualitative research; and the contribution of migrant doctors to the NHS. 
Contact details:


Please refer to the Human Resources web pages for more information about visiting appointments.

Brennan, Professor John – Visiting Professor
Contact details: j.brennan3@lse.ac.uk

Craig, Dr Ian -  Visiting Professor
Research interests: Schooling systems and structures
Contact details: i.craig1@lse.ac.uk 

De-Graft Aikins, Professor Ama – Visiting Senior Fellow
Contact details: tba

Hemerijck, Professor Anton- Centennial Professor in the Department of Social Policy
Research interests: Comparative research on the welfare state across rich European democracies. Read more here (PDF)

Contact details: A.C.Hemerijck@lse.ac.uk

Macnicol, Professor John -  Visiting Professor
Research interests: Age discrimination, ageing and social policy, retirement, pensions. Poverty, social exclusion and the history of the 'underclass' idea.  Professor Macnicol has recently been awarded a two year Leverhulme fellowship for a project entitled 'From "Underclass" to "Social Exclusion"'.
More information: Curriculum Vitae   (PDF)
Contact details: j.macnicol@lse.ac.uk  

Nieboer, Dr Jeroen- Post-Doctoral Fellow
More information: LSE Experts
Contact details:  j.nieboer@lse.ac.uk

Orsini, Dr Chiara – Visiting Fellow
Contact details: c.orsini@lse.ac.uk

Torry, Dr Malcolm- Visiting Senior Fellow
Research interests: The reform of the benefits system, and particularly the desirability and feasibility of increased coverage of unconditional and nonwithdrawable benefits; the characteristics and management of religious and faith-based organisations.
More informationCurriculum Vitae
Contact details: malcolm@torry.org.uk

Associated research centres, societies and groups

Full staff listings for the Department' associated research centres, societies and groups are available here.