Home > Department of Social Policy > Who's who > Research and affiliated staff
How to contact us

Department of Social Policy

2nd Floor, Old Building

London School of Economics and Political Science

Houghton Street

London WC2A 2AE

Contact the Department

 

Contact the Web Team

Follow us:              Twitter40x40      Facebook-Logo091437x40


Submit updates via online forms: 

 

Research and affiliated staff

Please also refer to the web pages for the Centre for Analysis of Social Exclusion and LSE Health and Social Care for further listings of research staff within the Department.

Research staff

Carrier, Dr John
Contact details: Room OLD 2.24, 020 7955 6707, j.carrier@lse.ac.uk

Freeman, Dr Emily- Research Officer
Contact details: Room OLD 2.24, E.Freeman@lse.ac.uk

Hind, Audrey - Programmer, Education Research Group
Contact details: Room OLD 2.24, 020 7955 7810, a.hind@lse.ac.uk (Tuesdays only)

Keenan, Dr Katy- Research Officer
Contact details: Room TW1 8.01, 020 3486 2908, K.Keenan1@lse.ac.uk

Nieboer, Dr Jeroen- Post-Doctoral Fellow
More information: LSE Experts
Contact details: Room OLD 2.24, 020 7955 7668, j.nieboer@lse.ac.uk

Noden, Dr Phillip - Research Fellow, Education Research Group
More information: LSE Experts, Education Research Group
Contact details:
Room OLD 2.24, 020 7955 7381, p.noden@lse.ac.uk

Roberts, Dr Jonathan -  Researcher, Education Research Group
More information: LSE ExpertsEducation Research Group
Contact details: Room OLD 2.24, 07754 834974, j.j.g.roberts@lse.ac.uk

Centennial

Hemerijck, Professor Anton- Centennial Professor in the Department of Social Policy
Research interests: Comparative research on the welfare state across rich European democracies. Read more here (PDF)

Emeritus

Downes, Professor David - Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
Research interests: Causes, character and consequences of mass imprisonment in the USA, comparative trends in crime, inequality, the regulation of drug use, welfare services and criminal justice.
More information:
LSE Experts, Mannheim Centre for Criminology
Contact details:
Room OLD 2.53, 020 7955 6445, d.downes@lse.ac.uk 

Glennerster, Professor Howard - Emeritus Professor of Social Policy
Associate, Centre for Analysis of Social Exclusion
Research interests: The economics and finance of health education and long term care and other aspects of social welfare the allocation of resources between areas; the history of social policy; the comparative study of social policy especially in respect to the United States
More information: LSE Experts
Contact details: Room LRB R5z27B, 020 7955 6003, h.glennerster@lse.ac.uk

Langford, Dr Chris - Emeritus Reader in Demography
Research interests: Fertility in Britain and Greece;influenza pandemic, 1918-19;mortality, Sri Lanka;marriage patterns;general demography.
More information: LSE Experts, Population at LSE
Contact details:
Room OLD 2.24, 020 7955 6159, c.langford@lse.ac.uk

Roberts, Dr Jonathan - Researcher, Education Research Group
More information: LSE ExpertsEducation Research Group
Contact details:
Room OLD 2.24, 07754 834974, j.j.g.roberts@lse.ac.uk

Wilson, Dr Gail - Emeritus Reader in Social Policy
Research interests: Ageing; ethnicity; migration; health and social services; and gender.  Recent projects include covert resistance in intergenerational oppression; the secondary analysis of life histories of pioneer geriatricians in UK (with Professor Joanna Bornat, Open University); ethics in qualitative research; and the contribution of migrant doctors to the NHS.
Contact details:
Room OLD 2.24, 020 7955 7347, g.wilson@lse.ac.uk 

Visiting

Please refer to Human Resources web pages for more information about visiting appointments.

Brown, Professor Jennifer - Visiting Professor, Mannheim Centre for Criminology
Research interests: Police occupational culture (stress experienced by officers, diversity and coping strategies); Investigation of rape; decision making in murder enquiries.
Contact details: Room OLD 2.53, 020 7955 6445, j.brown5@lse.ac.uk

Craig, Dr Ian - Visiting Professor
Research interests: Schooling systems and structures
Contact details: Room OLD 2.24, 020 7955 6263, i.craig1@lse.ac.uk   

Engberg Pedersen, Dr Lars - Visiting Senior Fellow

Research interests: international development cooperation, development policies in fragile situations, the future of development cooperation, and aid management practices.
Contact details: lep@diis.dk

Macnicol, Professor John - Visiting Professor
Research interests: Age discrimination, ageing and social policy, retirement, pensions. Poverty, social exclusion and the history of the 'underclass' idea.  Professor Macnicol has recently been awarded a two year Leverhulme fellowship for a project entitled 'From "Underclass" to "Social Exclusion"'.
More information: Curriculum Vitae   (PDF)
Contact details: Room OLD 2.24, 020 7955 7744, j.macnicol@lse.ac.uk  

Madeira, Dr Ligia- Visiting Senior Fellow
Research interests: Developing countries and social policy, CCT and alleviation poverty programs, comparative judicial studies, judiciary and social policy.
More information: Curriculum Vitae
Contact details:
Room OLD 2.24, 020 7955 6208, l.madeira@lse.ac.uk

Shalev, Dr Sharon - Visiting Fellow, Mannheim Centre for Criminology
Research interests: Human rights, criminology, supermax prisons, solitary confinement
More information: Personal Web Page
Contact details:
Room OLD 2.53, 020 7955 6445, s.shalev@lse.ac.uk

Welch, Professor Michael - Visiting Professor, Mannheim Centre for Criminology
Research interests: Punishment, Social Control, Human Rights
More information: Personal Web Page
Contact details: retrowelch@aol.com

 

 

Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|