Annual conference

The British Society for Population Studies holds an annual conference in a different venue each September. Programmes, abstracts, and reports of previous conferences can be accessed from the relevant link on the left.  

     BSPS Annual Conference 2016 

Monday 12 - Wednesday 14 September 2016, University of Winchester 

PLEASE SEE THE 2016 CONFERENCE PAGE FOR FULL DETAILS, INCLUDING PROVISIONAL PROGRAMME, BOOKING FORM & TRAINING SCHEDULE. SELECT FROM THE MENU ON THE LEFT.   

The 2016 BSPS Conference will be held at the University of Winchester, 12-14 September. All Conference sessions will be held on site, where Conference catering and high-standard accommodation are available at very reasonable rates.

There will be two plenary sessions on the theme of Demography & evidence-based policy  

2016 strand and session organisers are:   

Ageing & the life course:   

Strand organisers: Dr. Athina Vlachantoni, University of Southampton & Dr. Stephen Jivraj, University College London: a.vlachantoni@soton.ac.uk, stephen.jivraj@ucl.ac.uk.


Demography & policy: the local dimension 

Strand & session organisers: Piers Elias, Greg Ball, Gemma Quarendon: piers.elias@gmail.com, gregball@orangehome.co.uk and gemma.quarendon@hants.gov.uk


Ethnicity & religion:   

Strand organisers: Dr. Stefanie Doebler, Dr. Ian Shuttleworth:   s.doebler@qub.ac.uk i.shuttleworth@qub.ac.uk 
Session convenor: Nicola Martin: nmartin@essex.ac.uk


Families & households:   

Strand organiser: Professor Wendy Sigle, London School of Economics: W.Sigle@lse.ac.uk


 Fertility & reproductive health:   

Strand organisers: Professor Melinda Mills and Dr. Nicola Barban, University of Oxford:  melinda.mills@sociology.ox.ac.uk nicola.barban@sociology.ox.ac.uk


Health & mortality:   

Strand organiser: Dr. Alan Marshall, University of St. Andrews: alan.marshall@st-andrews.ac.uk


 Historical demography:   

Strand organiser: Dr. Romola Davenport, University of Cambridge: rjd23@cam.ac.uk 


Innovative data, methods and models:   

Strand & organiser: Dr. Jakub Bijak, University of Southampton: j.bijak@soton.ac.uk
ADRN session convenor:  Emma White, University of Southampton: e.e.white@soton.ac.uk


Latin America & the Caribbean 

Strand organisers: Professor Ludi Simpson, University of Manchester; Dr. Tiziana Leone, London School of Economics: ludi.simpson@manchester.ac.uk; T.Leone@lse.ac.uk


Migrations & mobilities: 

Strand organiser: Professor Hill Kulu, University of Liverpool: hill.kulu@liverpool.ac.uk


Posters: 

Strand organisers: Nele Van Der Wiele & Bernice Kuang, University of Southampton: n.van-der-wielen@soton.ac.uk; bk2g14@soton.ac.uk  


General & administrative enquiries: BSPS Secretariat - pic@lse.ac.uk -- 020 7955 7666 (phone). Website: www.bsps.org.uk    

Poster Competition at the BSPS Conference 

  • A prize fund of £100 in book tokens is offered for the poster(s) judged to      be the best on display.
  • At least 50% of the value of the Prize will be awarded to the best student      poster.
  • All posters accepted for the Conference will be entered automatically for the      Poster Prize.
  • The invited judges will be announced later.   

 Provisional timetable: 

Closing date for strand & sessionproposals:                                     Friday 8 January

Call for papers & posters issued:                                                      Mid-January

Closing date for paper & poster submissions:                                  Tuesday 12 April

Early-bird registration rate ends                                                        Sunday 31 July 

Conference booking closes:                                                              Friday 2 September  


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|