Conference

Annual Conference

The British Society for Population Studies holds an annual conference in a different venue each September. Programmes, abstracts, and reports of previous conferences can be accessed from the archive link at the bottom of the page.  

BSPS Annual Conference 2018  

Monday 10 – Wednesday 12 September, University of Winchester 

Booking Form 2018

Timetable 2018 - Provisional programme

In 2018, BSPS welcomes the participation in the Conference of The Netherland Demographic Society (NVD). There are two NVD-organized sessions in the programme & a Dutch plenary speaker.

All Conference sessions are on site, where Conference catering & high-standard accommodation are available. The booking forms is now available, together with the draft programme. Abstracts will be added in the next few weeks. The plenary theme of the Conference is Demography, inequality & social policy.  

Information updates on the Conference will be posted on this site as available. 

Strands & sessions, with organizers (who may be contacted with queries):  

Ageing & the life course: Strand organizer: Athina Vlachantoni (University of Southampton) – a.vlachantoni@soton.ac.uk

Data quality (session):Session organizer: Phil Humby (Office for National Statistics) – philip.humby@ons.gsi.gov.uk

The demographic consequences of Brexit (session): Session organizer: Athina Vlachantoni (University of Southampton) - a.vlachantoni@soton.ac.uk

Demography, inequality & social policy: Strand organizer: Wendy Sigle (London School of Economics) – W.Sigle@lse.ac.uk

Elections & electoral geographies: Strand organizer: Paul Norman (University of Leeds) – p.d.norman@leeds.ac.uk

Ethnicity & religion: Strand organizer: Fran Darlington-Pollock (University of Liverpool) – f.darlington-pollock@liverpool.ac.uk

Families & households: Strand organizer: Alice Goisis (London School of Economics) – A.Goisis@lse.ac.uk

Fertility & reproductive health: Including session: Gender and Fertility: Strand organizers: Rachel Scott, Alyce Raybould (London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine) – rachel.scott@lshtm.ac.uk;  alyce.raybould1@student.lshtm.ac.uk 

Health & mortality: Strand organizer: Amos Channon (University of Southampton) – a.r.channon@soton.ac.uk

Historical demography: Strand organizer: Hanna Jaadla (University of Cambridge) – hj309@cam.ac.uk

Innovative data, methods and models: Including theme: Feminist approaches to demography and quantitative social science: Strand organizers: General session: Jason Hilton (University of Southampton) - J.D.Hilton@soton.ac.uk. Feminist approaches to demography & quantitative social science: Heini Väisänen (University of Southampton) – h.e.vaisanen@soton.ac.uk

Local demography and its impact on local policy : Strand organizer: Piers Elias (Demographic Support), piers.elias@gmail.com.

 Migration & mobilities: Strand organisers: Hill Kulu (University of St Andrews), Alan Marshall (University of Edinburgh) – hill.kulu@st-andrews.ac.uk; alan.marshall@ed.ac.uk

NVD-organized sessions:  

1. Residential relocations in a family context: Session organizer : Clara Mulder (University of Groningen) –c.h.mulder@rug.nl

2. Regional population change : Session organizer : Leo van Wissen (NIDI) – wissen@nidi.nl

Posters: Strand organizers: Ginevra Floridi,Vicky Donnaloja(London School of Economics) –G.Floridi@lse.ac.uk; V.Donnaloja@lse.ac.uk

Telling the story in statistics: Strand organizers: Kirsty MacLachlan, Esther Roughsedge (National Records of Scotland) - kirsty.maclachlan@nrscotland.gov.uk; esther.roughsedge@nrscotland.gov.uk

 

Previous conferences (archive)

2017    2016    2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006    2005    2004    2003    2002    2001