How to contact us

LSE Growth Commission,
London School of Economics,
Houghton Street,
London WC2A 2AE

Tel: +44 20 7955 7285





Photograph of Professor Tim Besley

Tim Besley (Co-chair of the commission)

Timothy Besley is Professor of Economics and Political Science and W. Arthur Lewis Professor of Development Economics at the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE). He is also a Visiting Professor at the Institute for International Economic Studies at Stockholm University.

From September 2006 to August 2009, he served as an external member of the Bank of England Monetary Policy Committee. He also serves as a Research Fellow at the Institute for Fiscal Studies and is a program member of the Institutions, Organizations and Growth Program of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research (CIFAR).

Professor Besley is the 2005 winner of the Yrjö Jahnsson Award of the European Economics Association which is granted every other year to an economist aged under 45 who has made a significant contribution to economics in Europe. His research, which mostly has a policy focus, is mainly in the areas of Development Economics, Public Economics and Political Economy.

Stephen Machin

Stephen Machin (Co-chair of the commission) 

Stephen Machin is Professor of Economics at the London School of Economics, and the new Director of the Centre for Economic Performance, where from 2003 he was previously Research Director. He has served as an Independent Member of the Low Pay Commission and a Special Advisor to the Select Committee on Academies and Free Schools.

Professor Machin is one of the world's leading researchers in fields as diverse as education, labour, crime and firm performance.

Photograph of Lord Nicholas Stern

Lord Nicholas Stern  (Co-chair of the commission)

Lord Stern is the IG Patel Chair of Economics & Government, Director of the LSE Asia Research Centre and Chair of the Grantham Research Institute.

He has also served as Head of the Government Economic Service, Second Permanent Secretary to Her Majesty's Treasury, Chief Economist and Senior Vice President at the World Bank and Chief Economist at the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development.

His research interests include the economics of climate change, economic development and growth, public policy, economic theory and tax reform.

Photograph of Professor Philippe Aghion

Philippe Aghion 

Robert C. Waggoner Professor of Economics at the LSE and the Collège de France, Paris.

His main research work is on growth and contract theory. With Peter Howitt, he developed the so-called Schumpeterian Paradigm, and extended the paradigm in several directions; much of the resulting work is summarised in his joint book with Howitt entitled Endogenous Growth Theory


Tera Allas

Visiting Fellow at McKinsey Global Institute and member of the Governing Board of Innivate UK.

Tera Allas is originally an engineer, but has worked on economic issues in financial institutions, business and in the UK Government for the last 20 years. She has been involved in shaping the Government’s growth and industrial strategy, and understanding and finding solutions to boost productivity.

Photograph of Lord John Browne

Lord John Browne 

Lord Browne is Partner and Managing Director of Riverstone and co-head of Riverstone’s Renewable Energy Funds. Prior to joining Riverstone, he spent 41 years at BP serving in turn as Group Treasurer, Managing Director and Group Chief Executive of BP and Amoco.

Lord Browne also served as President of the Royal Academy of Engineering from 2006-2011, and is a Fellow of the Royal Society and a foreign member of the U.S. Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Photograph of Professor Francesco Caselli

Francesco Caselli 

Francesco Caselli is Professor of Economics and the London School of Economics and Director of Macro Programme at the Centre for Economic Performance, LSE. Previous appointments include Assistant Professor of Economics at the University of Chicago Graduate School of Business and Associate Professor of Economics at Harvard University.

Professor Caselli is a member of the governing council of the European Economic Association, co-editor of the Journal of Economic Development, editor at large of Economica, and director of Review of Economic Studies, Ltd. His research interests include economic development and political economy. 


Sir Richard Lambert 

Richard Lambert is Chancellor of the University of Warwick. From 2006-2011 he served as Director-General of the Confederation of British Industry. From 2003-2006 he was a member of the Bank of England’s Monetary Policy Committee, and from 1991-2001 was the Editor of the Financial Times.

In 2003, Sir Richard published the Lambert Review of Business-University Collaboration. The report made a series of recommendations which encouraged universities to identify distinctive strengths in research, and encouraged business to give a greater priority to understanding the opportunities for exploiting innovation and creativity through universities.

Photograph of Rachel Lomax

Rachel Lomax 

Rachel Lomax is a British economist who served as Deputy Governor of the Bank of England from 2003 until 2008 and was a top civil servant.

Before joining the Bank, Rachel was Permanent Secretary of three government departments between 1996 and 2002, including the Department of Work and Pensions and the Welsh Office as well as the Dept. for Transport. She was a Vice President and Chief of Staff to the President of the World Bank in 1995-6 and Head of the Economic and Domestic Secretariat at the Cabinet Office in 1994.

In 2008 Rachel was appointed as a non-executive director of HSBC where she is also a member of several audit and risk committees.

Gianmarco Ottaviano

Gianmarco Ottaviano 

Gianmarco is Professor of Economics at the London School of Economics and Political Science, Director of the Globalization Programme at the Centre for Economic Performance and Honorary Professor of Economics at the University of Bologna. He is the co-author of many works in international trade, urban economics and economic geography.

His recent publications focus on the competitiveness of firms in the global economy as well as the economic effects of immigration and offshoring on employment and wages. 

Photograph of Christopher Pissarides

Christopher Pissarides 

Chris Pissarides is School Professor of Economic and Political Science the London School of Economics. His research interests focus on several topics of macroeconomics, notably labour, economic growth, and economic policy. In 2010, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in economics, jointly with Peter A. Diamond and Dale Mortensen, for his contributions to the theory of search frictions and macroeconomics.

Xavier Rolet

Xavier Rolet 

Xavier Rolet is Chief Executive of the London Stock Exchange. From 2000 to 2008 he was a senior executive at Lehman Brothers and, most recently, CEO of Lehman in France. Prior to Lehman Brothers, he held senior positions at Dresdner Kleinwort Benson from 1997 to 2000, Credit Suisse First Boston from 1994 to 1996 and Goldman Sachs from 1984 to 1994.

Richard Davies

Richard Davies 

Richard is the Growth Commission's Chief of Staff.  He was previously special economics advisor to the UK Chancellor of the Exchequer, George Osborne, and prior to that, Economics Editor of The Economist.

Richard has a great deal of experience in both the public and private sectors; before joining the Economist he worked at the Bank of England, where he was a lead author of the bank's Financial Stability Report. He began his career as a microeconomist, working for a private-sector consultancy, and then as a government antitrust economist at the UK Competition Commission. His academic research has been published in the Journal of Money, Credit and Banking and the Journal of Financial Stability.