Page Contents >

The LSE Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method was founded by Professor Sir Karl Popper in 1946. The Department has long been a world-leading centre for philosophy of the natural and social sciences and in recent years has expanded its core focus to include rationality and philosophy of public policy.

Philosophy@LSE comprises the Department, the Centre for the Philosophy of Natural and the Social Sciences, which houses a range of research projects, and the Forum for European Philosophy, which features a rich public outreach programme.

Research at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences, including the social sciences and economics, has been the basis of the Department’s contributions to various policy debates. Topics include the measurement of well-being, democracy and opinion-polling, evidence-based decision-making in medicine, universal coverage and disease priority setting in world health, voting power in the EU Council of Ministers, burden-sharing in EU refugee policy, and policies addressing climate change and sustainable living.

The Department’s collaborative work with mathematicians, computer scientists, physicists, biologists, economists, political scientists, climate scientists, and medical researchers is published in top research outlets in the respective disciplines, in relevant text books, and often finds its way into the popular media.

The Department’s strengths are reflected in the results of the 2014 Research Excellence Framework assessment: the Department, which submitted 100 per cent of its researchers for assessment, was ranked joint fifth in the UK for the quality of its overall performance. 74 per cent of its research was considered either ‘world-leading’ (4 star) ’ or ‘internationally excellent’ (3 star).

Departmental Results: Philosophy|

Impact Case Study Summaries