There is a long history of philosophy at London School of Economics. Bertrand Russell was one of the School’s philosophical and financial founders, and lectured here various times over the course of his career.

The historic department of Philosophy, Logic & Scientific Method was founded in 1946 by Sir Karl Popper. Popper was later joined by Imre Lakatos in 1960; the building that the department now occupies now bears his name: the Lakatos building.

The Imre Lakatos Memorial Fund has made some resources about Lakatos available, including several audio clips of his lectures. Visit the Lakatos Page Here.

John Worrall on the History of the Department