October 2013 Issue
If this email is not displayed correctly, please click here.









The London School of Economics and Political Science
Houghton Street
London WC2A 2AE
United Kingdom









Find us on Facebook, Twitter and Youtube.

You can join the Forum's mailing list here.

To join the Centre's mailing list write to philcent@lse.ac.uk

To join the Sigma Club mailing list write to R.P.Frigg@lse.ac.uk

To join the Choice Group mailing list write to A.Marcoci@lse.ac.uk



The Centre welcomes its new visitors:  Matej Cibik, Verena Halsmayer, Simon Lohse, Amanda MacAskill, Mikael Melan, Mariagrazia Portera, John Wigglesworth and Matthias Wurtenberger.  It renews its welcome to its continuing visitors: Bruce Caldwell, Stephan Guettinger, Hykel Hosni, Yuko Nishiyama, Flavia Padovani, Stefan Schubert and Christopher Thompson. For further information on our visitors please see here.


The Centre and Department are delighted to welcome its new members of staff:

Casey Helgenson, who arrived from the University of Wisconsin, Madison to take up a Postdoctoral Research Officer position working on the Managing Severe Uncertainty research project.

Hykel Hosni, who will spend his two year Marie Curie IEF Fellowship at CPNSS on the project "Rethinking Uncertainty: A problem-based approach". He will work closely with the Managing Severe Uncertainty group.

Anna Mahtani, a two year LSE Fellow.

Mike Otsuka, who arrived from UCL to take up a position as Professor of Philosophy.

Bryan Roberts, who arrived from University of Southern California to take up a position as Lecturer.


You are invited to the 2013 Sir Karl Popper Memorial Lecture and Reception, organised by the Department's Popper Memorial Fund and entitled The "Cunning of Uncertainty" on Tuesday 15th October, from 18:30 to 20:00 in the Sheikh Zayed Theatre, New Academic Building. The speaker is Professor Helga Nowotny (President of the European Research Council and Professor emerita of Social Studies of Science, ETH Zurich). The chair will be Professor John Worrall. #LSEuncertainty

The Centre is hosting the Relativity Meets Quantum Theory Conference on 28 and 29 November, in LAK 2.06. The speakers are: Adam Caulton (Cambridge), Fay Dowker (Imperial), Doreen Fraser (Waterloo), Leah Henderson (Carnegie Mellon), Miklós Rédei (LSE), Chris Smeenk (Western Ontario) Giovanni Valente (Pittsburgh), Jakob Yngvason (Vienna), David Wallace (Oxford). For other events taking place at the Centre, please see our new events page here.

The Forum for European Philosophy will host a discussion on "The Ethics of the Cognitive Sciences: Privacy and Respect for Persons" with Roger Brownsword (King's College London), Sarah Edwards (University College London)  and Sarah Richmond (University College London) on November 13, 18:30 to 20:00, Hong Kong Theatre, Clement House. A list of further events can be found here.

Choice Group: Hilary Greaves (Oxford) will give a talk entitled "Antiprioritarianism", on Wednesday, 27 November, from 17:30 to 19:00, in LAK 2.06.

Sigma Club: Samuel Fletcher (Logic and Philosophy of Science, University of California Irvine) will give a talk entitled "On the Reduction of General Relativity to Newtonian Gravitation", on Monday, 4 November from 17:15 to 18:45, in LAK 2.06.  

BSPS London Meetings: Chris Timpson (Oxford) will give a talk entitled "Timelike experimental metaphysics: What does violation of the Leggett-Garg inequality show?" on Monday, 14 October, from 17:15 to 18:45, in LAK 2.06.

The Popper Seminars: Professor Mike Otsuka (LSE) will give a talk entitled "How it Makes a Moral Difference that One is Worse Off than One Would Have Been" on 12 November at 14:00 in LAK 2.06.


Alex Voorhoeve, Reader in the Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method, appeared on the BBC Radio 4 show The Philosopher's Arms on August 6 at 3:30 pm to discuss exploitation. To listen, click here.

CFP: The Centre will co-organise the International Society for the Philosophy of Chemistry (ISPC) Annual Conference from 7 to 9 July 2014. The deadline for submissions is 23 May 2014. The title and 100 word (max) abstract should be sent to: ispc.ac2014@gmail.com with subject title “ISPC Abstract Submission”.