Home > News and media > News > News archive > 2007 > LSE academic awarded Jay Wright Forrester Award


LSE academic awarded Jay Wright Forrester Award

Dr David C Lane, Managerial Economics and Strategy and Operational Research at the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) has been awarded the 2007 Jay Wright Forrester Award, the top international award in his field.

The award is given by the System Dynamics Society, for the 'Best Contribution to the Field of System Dynamics in the Preceding Five Years.' It was awarded jointly to co-researcher, Elke Husemann.

Their work explores the underlying social theory of the system dynamics approach with the threefold aim of: developing a more rigorous statement of the field's social theoretic grounding; positioning system dynamics within the broader domain of systems approaches; and improving the contribution that system dynamics can make to research within the broad range of social sciences.

The announcement of the award was made at the 2007 international conference of the System Dynamics Society, hosted by MIT in Boston.

David Lane said: 'I am extremely grateful for this honour. Increased awareness of system dynamics modelling is important because the approach has so much to offer policy makers - in the corporate sector and the public sector.'

David Lane teaches on the Masters degrees in Management and Strategy, Management and Economics, Operational Research and Decision Sciences and the Bachelors degree on Management Sciences at LSE. His research and teaching focus on problem structuring techniques for strategic thinking, in particular system dynamics, strategic modelling and systems thinking. Practical applications of his work include: healthcare management; the dynamics of project management; and the creation of marketing strategies for cinema films.

David Lane is a Fellow of the OR Society and an academic governor of the School. In 2005 he received an LSE award for outstanding performance and innovation in teaching.

Previous recipients of the Forrester Award include: John Sterman and Peter Senge (both MIT), Kim Warren and John Morecroft (LBS), Jac Vennix (Nijmegan University), Peter Milling (University of Mannheim), Erling Moxnes (University of Bergen) and Barry Richmond, the author of the STELLA software.

5 December 2007