Home > News and media > News > News archive > 2005 > General Election update: LSE alumni elected to parliament


General Election update: LSE alumni elected to parliament

The following are those LSE alumni who stood for re-election and as new candidates in the UK General Election 2005, Thursday 5 May. One current student, Hannah Hedges|, also stood as a candidate.  

Name  Party Constituency Comment
Miss Charlotte JS Atkins MP Labour Staffordshire Moorlands Re-elected
Mr Richard M Bacon MP Conservative  South Norfolk Re-elected
Ms Annette Brooke MP Lib Dem Mid Dorset and North Poole Re-elected
Ms Karen Buck MP Labour Regent's Park and Kensington North Re-elected
Ms Yvette Cooper MP Labour Pontefract and Castleford Re-elected
Mr James M Cousins MP Labour Newcastle upon Tyne Central Re-elected
Mr Andrew Dismore MP Labour Hendon Re-elected
Mr Frank G Dobson MP Labour Holborn and St Pancras  Re-elected
Ms Barbara Follett MP Labour Stevenage Re-elected
Mr Mark Hoban MP Conservative Fareham Re-elected
Mrs Margaret E Hodge MBE MP Labour Barking Re-elected
Mr Brian D Jenkins MP Labour Tamworth Re-elected
Ms Ruth M Kelly MP Labour Bolton West Re-elected
Mr Michael H Meacher MP Labour Oldham West and Royton Re-elected
Mr Andrew Miller MP Labour Ellesmere Port and Neston Re-elected
Ms Maria Miller MP Conservative Basingstoke Newly elected
Mr Ed Miliband MP [updated 16 May] Labour Doncaster North Newly elected
Mr Stephen P Pound MP Labour Ealing North Re-elected
Mr Andrew Selous MP Conservative South West Bedfordshire Re-elected
Mr Barry J Sheerman MP Labour/Co-op Huddersfield Re-elected
Mr Richard CS Shepherd MP Conservative Aldridge-Brownhills Re-elected
Jo Swinson MP Lib Dem East Dunbartonshire Newly elected
Mr Ian C Taylor MBE MP Conservative Esher and Walton Re-elected
Dr Rudolf J Vis MP Labour Finchley and Golders Green Re-elected
Mr Malcolm H Wicks MP Labour Croydon North Re-elected
Jennifer Willot Lib Dem MP [updated 12 May] Lib Dem Cardiff Central Newly elected
Mr David J Winnick MP Labour Walsall North Re-elected
Dr Anthony W Wright MP Labour Cannock Chase Re-elected

21 June 2005