Home > News and media > News > News archive > 2004 > LSE hosts 2004 UK Big Brother Awards


LSE hosts 2004 UK Big Brother Awards

The sixth annual UK Big Brother Awards will be held at the London School of Economics and Political Science on Wednesday 28 July. The awards, organised by Privacy International, recognise the people and organisations that have done the most to devastate privacy and civil liberties in the UK.

Now an annual event in seventeen countries, Privacy International's Big Brother Awards bring together a rich and unique mix of all ideologies and backgrounds. This year, for the first time, the award night will be open to the general public.  

The shortlist 'Dirty Dozen' of nominees is now online. Nominees include minister of state for children Margaret Hodge MP, Lloyds TSB, British Gas, Vodafone, the NHS National Programme for IT, the Citizen Information Project, education secretary Charles Clarke, and US Visit. To view the list, click here|.

Mark Thomas, formerly of Channel 4's Mark Thomas Comedy Product, will host the evening. 

Simon Davies, Department of Information Systems at LSE and director of Privacy International, said: 'The challenges facing civil liberties and privacy in Britain are more extensive than at any point since the Second World War. These fragile rights are under sustained and systematic attack by almost all parts of the public and private sector. Without care those freedoms will largely disappear.'

The 2004 UK Big Brother Awards will be held on Wednesday 28 July at 7.30pm in the Quad, East Building, LSE, Houghton Street, London WC2A. The event is free and open to all, but a seat must be reserved.


To attend this event, please contact Simon Davies, director of Privacy International, at simon@privacy.org| or call 020 7955 6579.


Privacy International is a London based civil rights group that has for the past 14 years raised awareness around the world about privacy threats ranging from military surveillance to workplace drug testing. Since their inception in 1998, Big Brother Awards are now held as an annual event in countries such as Japan, the United States, France, Germany, Austria, Denmark, Belgium, Spain, New Zealand and Australia. 

26 July 2004