Home > News and media > News > News archive > 2003 > LSE academic awarded FitzRoy Prize 2003


LSE academic awarded FitzRoy Prize 2003

Dr Leonard A Smith, director of the Centre for the Analysis of Time Series (CATS) and reader in the Department of Statistics at the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE), has been awarded the FitzRoy Prize for 2003 by the Royal Meteorological Society.

The FitzRoy Prize is named after Captain Fitzroy, who is most often remembered as the commander of HMS Beagle. Fitzroy also founded the Met Office in 1854 to provide meteorological and sea current information to mariners. The prize is awarded biennially to members of the Royal Meteorological Society for distinguished work in applied meteorology.

The Royal Meteorological Society is for all those whose profession or interests are in any way connected with meteorology or related subjects and aims to advance and promote the science of meteorology.

To read more about Dr Smith's work on meteorology, see the summer 2003 issue of the LSE Magazine, click here|, or visit the CATS website|


1 August 2003