Home > News and media > News > News archive > 2003 > Honorary awards from LSE for international figures


Honorary awards from LSE for international figures

Five new Honorary Fellowships will be presented at the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) this week (Thursday 17 and Friday 18 July).

The awards will be formally presented to:

  • Thursday 17 July at 11am; Dame Eugenia Charles (LLM 1949), former prime minister of Dominica
  • Thursday 17 July at 2.30pm: Dr Gro Harlem Brundtland, director general of the World Health Organisation
  • Friday 18 July at 11am: Mervyn King, governor of the Bank of England and former LSE professor of economics
  • Friday 18 July at 11am: Jorma Ollila (MSc Econ 1978), chairman and chief executive officer, Nokia Corporation.
  • Friday 18 July at 2.30pm: Sir Gordon Manzie (BSc Econ 1960), former second permanent secretary, Department for the Environment and chief executive of the Property Services Agency

The presentations will take place as the School congratulates around 1,000 students on their graduation achievements. The ceremonies are held in the Peacock Theatre, Portugal Street, London WC2. Director of LSE, Professor Anthony Giddens conducts the ceremonies alongside the vice-chairmen of the School's Court of Governors, Bryan Sanderson and Bernard Asher.

LSE confers Honorary Fellowships each year on people who have attained distinction in the arts, science, or public life, or who have rendered outstanding services to the School or its concerns.


Notes to journalists:

Any media wishing to photograph the Honorary Fellows on the day, please contact Jess Winterstein, Press Office, on 020 7955 7060 or email j.winterstein@lse.ac.uk|

11 July 2003