Home > News and media > News > News archive > 2003 > Four LSE academics elected Fellows of the British Academy


Four LSE academics elected Fellows of the British Academy

Four LSE academics have been been elected Fellows of the British Academy at its annual general meeting on Thursday 3 July. 

Up to 35 Fellows are elected every year by the British Academy. Election to Fellowship of the British Academy is in recognition of high scholarly distinction in some branch of the humanities or social sciences, as evidenced by published work. The LSE academics elected this year are:

To view the full list of Fellows elected at this meeting, click here| 


For more information, contact:


The British Academy founded in 1902, is the national academy for the humanities and the social sciences, the counterpart of the Royal Society which covers the natural sciences. It is an independent learned society which has responsibility by Royal Charter for promoting research and scholarship in all branches of humane and social studies, from philosophy, language and literature to economics, law, sociology and politics. Up to 35 Fellows can be elected each year, and there are currently 751 Ordinary Fellows, 310 Corresponding Fellows, scholars of international distinction, and 15 Honorary Fellows. 
15 July 2003

For more information, visit http://www.britac.ac.uk/index.html|

15 July 2003