Home > News and media > News > News archive > 2002 > New LSE Honorary Fellows


New LSE Honorary Fellows

The London School of Economics and Political Science has conferred five new Honorary Fellowships.

Those to be honoured are:

  • Alexander Clement Gilmour, currently chair of On Bourse Ltd, a former stockbroker and an LSE governor for 32 years;
  • Jan Kavan, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Czech Republic;
  • Dr Spiro Latsis, Director of the European Financial Group Ltd;
  • Professor Kenneth Minogue, Professor Emeritus of LSE;
  • Professor Barry Supple, former Director of the Leverhulme Trust.

LSE confers Honorary Fellowships each year to people who have attained distinction in the arts, science, or public life, or who have rendered outstanding services to the School or its concerns. With these five new additions, LSE will have a total of 154 Honorary Fellows.

Alexander Gilmour was elected at the School's Presentation ceremony on Friday 21 December 2001. Other Honorary Fellows will be formally elected at the Presentation ceremonies on 18 and 19 July 2002.


Further information: Jessica Winterstein, LSE Press Office, on 020 7955 7060 or email j.winterstein@lse.ac.uk|

8 January 2002