Home > News and media > News > News archive > 2000 > Lakatos Award 2000


Lakatos Award 2000

The International Steering Committee for the Lakatos Award, having given detailed consideration to the reports from the Panel of Selectors on the books nominated this year, have decided that no award will be made.

For further information please contact Sadaf Hafiz, Administrator, Lakatos Award, on 020 7955 7901, fax 020 7955 6845 or email s.hafiz@lse.ac.uk|


Previous winners of the Lakatos Award: Bas Van Fraassen, Hartry Field, Michael Friedman, Philip Kitcher, Michael Redhead, John Earman, Elliott Sober, Peter Achinstein, Alexander Rosenberg, Michael Dummett, Lawrence Sklar, Abner Shimony, Jeffrey Bub and Deborah Mayo, and Brian Skyrms

Imre Lakatos, who died in 1974 aged 51, had been Professor of Logic with special reference to the Philosophy of Mathematics at LSE since 1969. He joined the Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method in 1960. Born in Hungary in 1922, he graduated (in Physics, Mathematics and Philosophy) from Debrecen University in 1944. He then joined the underground resistance (his mother and grandmother perished in Auschwitz). After the War he was active in the Communist Party and had an influential position in the Ministry of Education. In 1950 he was arrested and spent the next three years as a political prisoner. After his release, he was given refuge in the Hungarian Academy of Science where he translated western works in science and mathematics into Hungarian. After the suppression of the Hungarian uprising he escaped to Vienna and thence, with the aid of a Rockefeller fellowship, to Cambridge, England. He there wrote the doctoral thesis out of which grew his famous Proofs and Refutations. Two volumes of Philosophical Papers, edited by John Worrall and Gregory Currie, Cambridge University Press, appeared in 1978.

The award, set up in his honour, is for the best recent book in philosophy of science from those nominated in a given year and is for the value of £10,000.

28 November 2000