Home > News and media > News > News archive > 1999 > Lakatos Award 1999


Lakatos Award 1999

The London School of Economics and Political Science announces that this year's Lakatos Award, of £10,000 for an outstanding contribution to the philosophy of science, goes to Professor Brian Skyrms,(University of California, Irvine),for his book Evolution of the Social Contract (Cambridge University Press, 1996).

He will visit LSE to give a lecture and receive the award during May 2000. 

Further information: Charlotte Walter (Administrator, Lakatos Award) Tel 020 7955 7901 Fax 020 7955 6845 Email C.L.Walter@lse.ac.uk|


Previous winners of the Lakatos Award:
Bas Van Fraassen, Hartry Field, Michael Friedman, Philip Kitcher, Michael Redhead, John Earman, Elliott Sober, Peter Achinstein, Alexander Rosenberg, Michael Dummett, Lawrence Sklar, Abner Shimony, Jeffrey Bub and Deborah Mayo.

Imre Lakatos
Died in 1974 aged 51, had been Professor of Logic with special reference to the Philosophy of Mathematics at LSE since 1969. He joined the Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method in 1960. Born in Hungary in 1922, he graduated (in Physics, Mathematics and Philosophy) from Debrecen University in 1944. He then joined the underground resistance. (His mother and grandmother perished in Auschwitz.) After the War he was active in the Communist Party and had an influential position in the Ministry of Education. In 1950 he was arrested and spent the next three years as a political prisoner. After his release, he was given refuge in the Hungarian Academy of Science where he translated western works in science and mathematics into Hungarian. After the suppression of the Hungarian uprising he escaped to Vienna and thence, with the aid of a Rockefeller fellowship, to Cambridge, England. He there wrote the doctoral thesis out of which grew his famous Proofs and Refutations Two volumes of Philosophical Papers, edited by John Worrall and Gregory Currie, Cambridge University Press, appeared in 1978. 

16 November 1999