London School of Economics ESRC DTC Training

The Department of Methodology offers a number of workshops throughout the academic year as part of the ESRC DTC network. 

These can be purchased through the LSE Online Shop and are linked to on the NCRM website. All workshops cost £30 and will be open for booking around one month before the scheduled event.

Please note that LSE students can sign up for these workshops for free through the LSE's Training and Development System (please select "Methodology" from the training provider drop-down menu). Please see courses MY530 (qualitative) and MY560 (quantitative) on Moodle for further details.

Advanced Qualitative Research workshops for 2016/17

All these workshops follow the format of a lecture from 10am - 12pm and a practical session from 13:00 - 15:00.

DTC Training
Date  Workshop

Friday 25th November 2016

In-depth interviewing (sold out)

Friday 2nd December 2016

Avoiding fallacies of deduction, induction and abduction

Wednesday 18th January 2017

Research ethics

Friday 27th January 2017

Thematic Analysis (sold out)

Wednesday 1st February 2017

Social network analysis and visualization with UCINET and Netdraw (sold out)

Friday 10th February 2017

Discourse analysis (sold out)

Friday 24th February 2017

Participant observation (sold out)

Friday 3rd March 2017

Qualitative content analysis (sold out)

Friday 10th March 2017

Designing mixed method evaluation research

Friday 17th March 2017

Participatory research

 

Advanced Quantitative Analysis workshops for 2016/17

All these workshops follow the format of a lecture from 10am - 12pm and a practical session from 14:00 - 16:00.

DTC Workshops
Date Workshop

Wednesday 25th January 2017

Machine learning

Monday 20th February 2017

Matching for causal effects **Afternoon session will be from 14:30 - 16:30.

Monday 27th February 2017

Regression discontinuity designs

Tuesday 21st March 2017

Event history analysis 1

Wednesday 22nd March 2017

Event history analysis 2

Tuesday 2nd May - Friday 6th May 2017 

Social network analysis

Tuesday 16th May 2017

Bayesian methods 1

Tuesday 23rd May 2017

Bayesian methods 2

 

Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|