Home > Department of Mathematics > Seminars > Seminars on Discrete and Applicable Mathematics in 2010

Contact and Address Details

Department of Mathematics
Columbia House
London School of Economics
Houghton Street
London WC2A 2AE, UK

Email: maths.info@lse.ac.uk|
Tel: +44(0)207 955 7732/7925

Click here| for directions to LSE and maps of the campus

Seminars on Discrete and Applicable Mathematics in 2010

Below you'll find an overview of previous seminars in this series, as they have been held in 2010. The seminars are listed in reverse chronological order, hence the most recent ones come first.

 

Thursday 9 December

Maya Stein| (Universidad de Chile)

Abstract|

The Loebl-Komlos-Sos conjecture: the regularity approach

   

Thursday 2 December

Samuel Mimram| (ENS Lyon)

Abstract| 

 Algebraic tools in game semantics

   

Thursday 25 November

 Mark Broom (City University)

Abstract|

 Models of Evolution on Structured Populations

   

Thursday 18 November 

Luitgard Veraart |(LSE)
 

Abstract  |

The relaxed investor with partial information

   

Thursday 11 November 

Olof Sisask| (Queen Mary, University of London)
 

Abstract  |

Arithmetic progressions in sums of low-density sets

   

Thursday 28 October

Abraham Neyman| (Centre for the Study of Rationality, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)

Abstract|

Generalized Discounted Stochastic Games and Applications

   

Thursday 14 October

Mitch Keller (LSE)

Abstract|  

Interval Partitions and Stanley Depth

   

Thursday 7 October

Ryan Martin| (Iowa State University) 

Abstract  |

Recent results on the edit distance of graphs

   

Thursday 30 September

Ron Lavi| (Technion-Israel Institute of Technology)

Abstract 
|

Side-Communication Yields Efficiency of Ascending Auctions: TheTwo-Items Case 

   

Tuesday 21 September

Harry Miller| (International University of Sarajevo) 

Abstract  |

Old and new problems in Analysis

   

Thursday 6 July

Karoly Bezdek| (Calgary, Canada) 

Abstract| 

Plank problems - the discrete geometric side 

   

Thursday 24 June

Richard Steinberg| (LSE)

Abstract|

Pricing of Media Service Provision 

   

Monday 21 June

 Doreen Thomas| (University of Melbourne) 

Abstract  |

Optimisation of Underground Mine Networks   

   

Thursday 17 June

Leszek Gasieniec| (University of Liverpool) 

Abstract
|

Location aware asynchronous rendezvous in discrete 2D-spaces 

   

Thursday 10 June

Tristan Tomala| (HEC Paris)

Abstract| 

Mechanism Design and Communication Networks 

   

Friday 4 June

Eran Shmaya| (Kellog School of Management)  

Abstract|

Expressible tests need not be manipulable

   

Thursday 3 June

Ken Binmore| (UCL)  

Abstract|

Sexual Drift

   

Thursday 27 May

Karl Schlag (Universitat Pompeu Fabra)  

Abstract| 

Finite Sample Nonparametric Tests for Linear Regressions 

   

Friday 21 May

John Bell| (University of Western Ontario, Canada)   

Abstract|

Continuity and Infinitesimals

   

Thursday 13 May

Colin McDiarmid| (Statistics, University of Oxford)

Abstract| 

Random graphs with few disjoint cycles

   

Thursday 6 May

Yannick Viossat|  (Paris-Dauphine) 

Abstract|

Time-Average Replicator and Best-Reply Dynamics

   

Thursday 29 April

Dan Archdeacon| (University of Vermont, USA) 

Abstract|

Monohedral Tilings 

   

Friday 19 March

Imre Leader| (Cambridge)

Abstract  |

Higher Order Tournaments  

   

Thursday 18 March 

Jozef Siran| (Open University)  

Abstract|

Residual finiteness and highly symmetric maps 

   

Thursday 11 March

Thomas Erlebach| (University of Leicester) 

Abstract  |

Domination Problems in Geometric Intersection Graphs 

   

Thursday 25 February

Bill Jackson| (Queen Mary, University of London)

Abstract
|

A zero-free interval for chromatic polynomials of 3-connected planar graphs 

   

Thursday 18 February

Dan Hefetz| (ETH Zürich)

Abstract  |

On two generalizations of the Alon-Tarsi polynomial method 

   

Thursday 11 February

Miklós Reiter (University of Cambridge)

Abstract|

A Game-Theoretic Model for Pricing Internet Service

   

Thursday 4 February

Boris Bukh| (University of Cambridge)

Abstract|

Sum-product theorems for polynomials

   

Thursday 28 January

Amarpreet Rattan| (University of Bristol)

Abstract|

Lattice paths below a cyclically shifting boundary

   

Thursday 21 January

Reto Spöhel| (ETH Zürich, Switzerland)

Abstract
|

Upper bounds for asymmetric Ramsey properties of random graphs

   

Thursday 14 January

Jan Hladky| (University of Warwick)

Abstract|

On tree packing conjectures

 

Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|