Home > Department of Mathematics > News and Events > The Haya Freedman Prize
How to contact us

Department of Mathematics
Columbia House
London School of Economics
Houghton Street
London WC2A 2AE, UK


Email: maths.info@lse.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)207 955 7732/7925
Follow us on Twitter: Twitter
Read our research blog:  http://blogs.lse.ac.uk/maths/
Connect with us on LinkedIn: LinkedIn
Watch our videos on YouTube: Icon of the YouTube logo


Click here for information on how to get to LSE using public transport and maps of the campus


The Haya Freedman Prize

Dr Haya Freedman, a member of the Department for many years until her retirement in 1989, died on 19 July 2005. She is remembered as an exceptionally gifted teacher. You can find out more about Dr Freedman in her obituary.

In memory of Dr Freedman, we have established the Haya Freedman Prize. It will be awarded annually for the best dissertation produced by a student on the MSc in Applicable Mathematics. 

The prize consists of £200 and a book chosen by the Department. The winner(s) of the prize will be selected by staff at the MSc in Applicable Mathematics Examination Sub-Board Meeting. 

We hope that this is a positive way of remembering Dr Freedman, and also of rewarding our students for excellence.


Winners of the Haya Freedman Prize
2015/16 Jessica L Ryan and Rafael Veiel
2014/15 Alastair Maxwell and William C Palmer
2013/14  Roelandus Daamen and Franciscus De Ruiter  
2012/13 Marcello Rossi
2011/12 Samuel Clowes Huneke 
2010/11 Robert John Arculus
2009/10 Jacob Daniel Baron
2008/9 Tom Bates and Preeyesh Bhadresha
2007/8 Marta Casetti 
2006/7 Justas Bugnevicius 
2005/6 Julian Merschen
2004/5 Gabe Rosenberg
Haya Freedman