Home > Department of Mathematics > News and Events > The Haya Freedman Prize

Contact and Address Details

Department of Mathematics
Columbia House
London School of Economics
Houghton Street
London WC2A 2AE, UK

Email: maths.info@lse.ac.uk|
Tel: +44(0)207 955 7732/7925

Click here| for directions to LSE and maps of the campus

The Haya Freedman Prize

Dr Haya Freedman, a member of the Sub-Department of Mathematics, (as it was then), at LSE for many years until her retirement in 1989, died on 19th July 2005. She is remembered as an exceptionally gifted teacher. You can find out more about Dr Freedman from her obituary|.


In memory of Dr Freedman, the Mathematics Department has established the Haya Freedman Prize. This prize will be awarded annually for 'Best Dissertation' produced by a student on the MSc in Applicable Mathematics. The prize consists of £200 and a book chosen by the Department. The winner of the prize will be selected by the staff of the Mathematics Department at the MSc Examination Sub-Board Meeting in the Michaelmas Term each year, and will be informed shortly afterwards. We hope that this is a very positive way of remembering Dr Freedman, and also of rewarding our students for excellence.

Past winners of the Haya Freedman Prize:

2013 - Marcello Rossi (MSc Applicable Mathematics)
2012 - Samuel Clowes Huneke (MSc Applicable Mathematics)
2011 - Robert John Arculus (MSc Applicable Mathematics)
2010 - Jacob Daniel Baron (MSc Applicable Mathematics)
2009 - Tom Bates and Preeyesh Bhadresha (MSc Applicable Mathematics)
2008 - Marta Casetti (MSc Applicable Mathematics)
2007 - Justas Bugnevicius (MSc Applicable Mathematics)
2006 - Julian Merschen (MSc Applicable Mathematics)
2005 - Gabe Rosenberg (MSc Applicable Mathematics)

If you would like any further details regarding this prize, please contact Rebecca Batey in the Mathematics Department, on email (R.Batey@lse.ac.uk|) or by telephone (0207 955 7925).

Haya Freedman