Home > Department of Mathematics > News and Events > The Cyril Offord Prize
How to contact us

Department of Mathematics
Columbia House
London School of Economics
Houghton Street
London WC2A 2AE, UK


Email: maths.info@lse.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)207 955 7732/7925
Follow us on Twitter: Twitter
Read our research blog:  http://blogs.lse.ac.uk/maths/
Connect with us on LinkedIn: LinkedIn
Watch our videos on YouTube: Icon of the YouTube logo


Click here for information on how to get to LSE using public transport and maps of the campus

The Cyril Offord Prize

Professor Cyril Offord was the first Professor of Mathematics at the LSE. He was world famous for his work in classical analysis and was a pioneer in the field of probabilistic analysis. He died in June 2000, aged 93. You can read more about his in his obituary

In memory of Professor Offord, the Department has established the Cyril Offord Prize. It will be awarded annually for Outstanding Performance in Mathematics on one of the following degree programmes: the BSc in Mathematics and Economics, the BSc Mathematics with Economics, and the BSc in Business Mathematics and Statistics. 

The prize consists of £200 and a book chosen by the Department. The winner(s) of the prize will be chosen by the staff at the Examination Sub-Board Meeting in late June/early July each year.

We hope that this is a very positive way of remembering Professor Offord, and also of rewarding our students for excellence.


Winners of the Cyril Offord Prize
2015/16 Sicen Liu (BSc Mathematics and Economics)
2014/15 Jeremy MacRae (BSc Mathematics and Economics)
2013/14 Stephen Waugh (BSc Mathematics with Economics)
2012/13  Jasdeep Kochhar (BSc Mathematics with Economics)
2011/12 Joshua Bernstein (BSc Mathematics and Economics)
2010/11 Alexander Christou, Vanessa Do, Maathumei Vijayakumaraguru (all BSc Mathematics and Economics)
2009/10 Mei Lien Chew (BSc Mathematics and Economics)
2008/9 Stephen Almond (BSc Business Mathematics and Statistics)
2007/8 Sakhee Joisher and Neelan Santhirarajah (both BSc Mathematics and Economics)
2006/7 William Bryce (BSc Mathematics and Economics)
2005/6 Sayeed Zaman (BSc Business Mathematics and Statistics)
2004/5 Shahin Namati-Nasab (BSc Mathematics and Economics)
2003/4 Peter Chapman and Pavitra Kumar (both BSc Mathematics and Economics)
2002/3 Kanishk Sarin (BSc Mathematics and Economics)
2001/2 Li Shan Shi (BSc Mathematics and Economics)
2000/1 Kevin Sheedy (BSc Mathematics and Economics)