Home > Language Centre > Staff Contacts and Office Hours

 

How to contact us

 

LSE Language Centre
Floor 7, Clare Market Building
Houghton Street
London, WC2A 2AE

 

Tel: +44 (0)20  7955 6713
Email: languages@lse.ac.uk|

 

Director
Nick Byrne|

 

Centre Manager
John Heyworth|

 

 

Staff Contacts and Office Hours

 Enquiries and Study Area Opening Times

  • The Enquiries and Study Area is located on Floor 7 of the Clare Market Building.
  • During Term Time the Language Centre Enquiries & Study Area is open 09:15-18:30 Monday-Thursday closing early on Fridays at 16:30.
  • During the rest of the year we are open 09:15-17:00 Monday-Thursday closing early on Fridays at 16:30.
  • For both the Christmas and Easter holiday weeks the LSE, and thus the Language Centre Enquiries & Study Area, is closed.

Staff Office Hours

Office hours are offered for the duration of the programme only. Many languages offer more than one and some are only for specific courses. Not all teachers have an office hour so you may need to go to the office hour of the Co-ordinator for the Course(s) in question.

From 2009-10 any programmes exclusive to LSE members, i.e. Degree Courses, EAP Insessional Support programme and the EAP Foundation programme will be using the new LSE for You| bookable office hour system.

Should an office hour be bookable using this system there will be a link to LSE for You| next to Office Hour. In all other cases, i.e. for non-bookable office hours, the time, day and location will be stated below.

Arabic

Lourdes Hernández-Martín
Assistant Language Co-ordinator (Spanish) with special responsibilities for Arabic
Contact Details: CMK.C807, +44 (0)20 7955 6772, l.hernandez-martin@lse.ac.uk| 
Office Hour and Support Session (Certificate courses): Wednesday 17:00-18:00.
Please email Lourdes to book an appointment during this hour.

Luay Hasan
Language Teacher (Arabic)
Contact Details: l.hasan@lse.ac.uk|
Office Hour: CMK.C804, Thursday 17:00-18:00

Nadim Ben-Mohamed-Mahjoub
Language Teacher (Arabic)
Contact Details: n.ben-mohamed-mahjoub@lse.ac.uk|
Office Hour: CMK.C804, Wednesday 14:30-15:30 

Catalan

Roser Pujadas Comas D Argemir
Language Teacher (Catalán)
Contact Details: r.pujadas@lse.ac.uk|
Office Hour: CMK.C804, Thursday 17:00-18:00

English for Academic Purposes

Alison Standring
Language Co-ordinator (EAP)
Contact Details: CMK.C613, +44 (0)20 7955 7019, a.standring@lse.ac.uk|
Office Hour: please use the LSE for You online booking system|

Mike McGarvey
Language Co-ordinator (ELT)
Contact Details: CMK.C519, +44 (0)20 7955 7040, m.mcgarvey@lse.ac.uk|
Office Hour: please use the LSE for You online booking system|

Chris New
on secondment to the LSE Office, International Programmes until October 2014
Assistant Language Co-ordinator (EAP)
Contact Details: CMK.C520, +44 (0)20 7955 6914, c.new@lse.ac.uk|
Office Hour: please use the LSE for You online booking system|

Christopher Sciberras
Co-ordinating Language Teacher (EAP)
Contact Details: CMK.C520, +44 (0)20 7955 6914, c.a.sciberras@lse.ac.uk|
Office Hour: please use the LSE for You online booking system|

Gwyneth James
Co-ordinating Language Teacher (EAP)
Contact Details: CMK.C619, +44 (0)20 7955 7577, g.m.james@lse.ac.uk|
Office Hour: please use the LSE for You online booking system|

Simon Roberts
Co-ordinating Language Teacher (EAP)
Contact Details: CMK.C619, +44 (0)20 7955 7577, s.j.roberts@lse.ac.uk| 
Office Hour:  please use the LSE for You oline booking system|

Gemma Stansfield
Co-ordinating Language Teacher (EAP)
Contact Details: CMK.C615, +44 (0)20 7955 6911, g.stansfield@lse.ac.uk| 
Office Hour: please use the LSE for You online booking system|

Jim Pavitt
Co-ordinating Language Teacher (EAP)
Contact Details: CMK.C615, +44 (0)20 7955 6911, j.pavitt@lse.ac.uk| 
Office Hour: please use the LSE for You online booking system|

Michael Jacob
Language Teacher (EAP)
Contact Details: CMK.C519, +44 (0)20 7955 7040, m.d.jacob@lse.ac.uk|
Office Hour: please use the LSE for You online booking system|

Andrew Mitchell
Co-ordinating Language Teacher (EAP)
Contact Details: CMK.C520, +44 (0)20 7955 6914, a.b.mitchell@lse.ac.uk|
Office Hour: please use the LSE for You online booking system|

French

Florence Niclot
Language Co-ordinator (French)
Contact Details: CMK.C803, +44 (0)20 7955 6774, f.niclot@lse.ac.uk|
Office Hour (Certificate courses): Wednesday 14:00-16:00
Office Hour (Degree courses):  please use the LSE for You online booking system|

Christophe Millart
Assistant Language Co-ordinator (French)
Contact Details
: CMK.C803, +44 (0)20 7955 6774, c.millart@lse.ac.uk|
Office Hour (Certificate courses):  Wednesday 14:00-16:00
Office Hour (Degree courses):  please use the LSE for You online booking system|

François Simon
Co-ordinating Language Teacher (French)
Contact Details: CMK.C803, +44 (0)20 7955 7021, f.simon@lse.ac.uk|
Office Hour (Degree courses):  please use the LSE for You online booking system|

Abdel Halim Benzine
Language Teacher (French)
Contact Details: a.h.benzine@lse.ac.uk|

Cécile Alais
Language Teacher (French)
Contact Detailsc.alais@lse.ac.uk|

Stéphanie Beltrando
Language Teacher (French)
Contact Details: s.v.beltrando@lse.ac.uk|

Jérôme Bertherat
Language Teacher (French)
Contact Details: j.bertherat@lse.ac.uk|

Pierre Dagonnot
Language Teacher (French)
Contact Details: p.dagonnot@lse.ac.uk|

Catherine Gaitte
Language Teacher (French)
Contact Details: c.h.gaitte@lse.ac.uk|

Patricia Gaudron
Language Teacher (French)
Contact Details: p.a.gaudron@lse.ac.uk|

Patricia Morabo
Language Teacher (French)
Contact Details: p.morabo@lse.ac.uk|

Thierry Semo
Language Teacher (French)
Contact Details: t.semo@lse.ac.uk|

German

Dr. Peter Skrandies
More Information:LSE Experts|
Language Co-ordinator (German)
Contact Details: CMK.C616, +44(0)20 7955 7041, p.j.skrandies@lse.ac.uk|
Office Hour (Degree courses):  please use the LSE for You online booking system|

Susanne Müller-Menckens
Language Teacher (German) 
Contact Details: s.muller-menckens@lse.ac.uk|

Doris Hermann-Ostrowski
Language Teacher (German)
Contact Details: d.hermann-ostrowski@lse.ac.uk|

Dr. Felicitas M. Starr-Egger
Language Teacher (German)
Contact Details: CMK.C616, +44(0)20 7955 7041, f.m.starr-egger@lse.ac.uk|

Italian

Anna Maria Giuffria
Language Teacher (Italian)
Contact Details: a.m.giuffria@lse.ac.uk|
Office Hour: CMK.C804, Thursday 16:00-17:00

Flavia D'Angelantonio
Language Teacher (Italian) 
Contact Details: f.d'angelantonio@lse.ac.uk|

Japanese

Nobuko Leslie
Language Teacher (Japanese)
Contact Details: n.leslie@lse.ac.uk|
Office Hour: CMK.C804, Thursday 16:00-17:00

Hiromi Stewart
Language Teacher (Japanese)
Contact Details: h.stewart@lse.ac.uk|
Office Hour: CMK.C804, Wednesday 15:00-16:00

Korean

You-kyung Ju
Language Teacher (Korean)
Contact Details:  y.k.ju@lse.ac.uk|

Literature

Dr. Angus Wrenn
More Information:LSE Experts|
Co-ordinating Language Teacher (EAP) with special responsibilities for Literature Degree Options
Contact Details: CMK.C614, +44 (0)20 7955 7020, a.j.wrenn@lse.ac.uk| 
Office Hour: please use the LSE for You online booking system|

Mandarin

Dr Catherine Hua Xiang
More Information:LSE Experts|
Language Co-ordinator (Mandarin, Japanese, Korean)
Contact Details: CMK.C516, +44(0)20 7955 6929, h.xiang@lse.ac.uk|
Office Hour: please use the LSE for You online booking system|

Dr Lijing Shi
More Information: LSE Experts|
Assistant Language Co-ordinator (Mandarin)
Contact Details: CMK.C521, +44(20) 7107 5561, l.shi3@lse.ac.uk|
Office Hour: please use the LSE for You online booking system|

Youlan Yu
Language Teacher (Mandarin)
Contact Details: y.yu1@lse.ac.uk|
Office Hour: CMK.C804, Wednesday 12:00-13:00 & 15:00-16:00; Friday 12:00-13:00

Hongyi Xin
Language Teacher (Mandarin)
Contact Details: h.xin@lse.ac.uk|

Zhaoxia Pang
Language Teacher (Mandarin)
Contact Details: z.pang@lse.ac.uk|

Feifei Yang
Language Teacher (Mandarin)
Contact Details: f.yang2@lse.ac.uk|

Xiaolan Bi
Language Teacher (Mandarin)
Contact Details:  x.bi@lse.ac.uk|

Becky Yue
Language Teacher (Mandarin)
Contact Details:  m.yue@lse.ac.uk|

Portuguese

Benvinda Alves
Language Teacher (Portuguese)
Contact Detailsb.alves@lse.ac.uk|
Office Hour: CMK.C804,Monday 17:00-18:00

Russian

Dr. Olga Sobolev
More Information:LSE Experts|
Language Co-ordinator (Russian)
Contact Details: CMK.C614, +44 (0)20 7955 7020, o.sobolev@lse.ac.uk|
Office Hour (Certificate courses):  Thursday 13:00-14:00
Office Hour (Degree courses):  please use the LSE for You online booking system|

Natasha Bershadski
Language Teacher (Russian)
Contact Details: n.bershadski@lse.ac.uk|

Irina Forbes
Language Teacher (Russian)
Contact Details: i.forbes@lse.ac.uk|

Ekaterina Rogatchevskaia
Language Teacher (Russian)
Contact Details: e.rogatchevskaia@lse.ac.uk|

Spanish

Mercedes Coca
Language Co-ordinator (Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, Catalan)
Contact Details: CMK.C513, +44 (0)20 7955 7025, m.coca@lse.ac.uk|
Office Hour (Certificate courses):  Wednesday 12:00-13:00
Office Hour (Degree courses): please use the LSE for You online booking system|

Lourdes Hernández-Martín
Assistant Language Co-ordinator (Spanish) with special responsiblilities for Arabic
Contact Details: CMK.C807, +44 (0)20 7955 6772, l.hernandez-martin@lse.ac.uk|
Office Hour (Certificate courses): Friday 15:00-16:00
Office Hour (Degree courses): please use the LSE for You online booking system|

Rafael Peñas Cruz
Co-ordinating Language Teacher (Spanish)
Contact Details: CMK.C806, +44 (0)20 7955 7934, r.cruz@lse.ac.uk|
Office Hour (Certificate courses):  Monday 15:00-16:00
Office Hour (Degree courses): please use the LSE for You online booking system|

Roser Martinez-Sanchez
Language Teacher (Spanish)
Contact Details: r.martinez-sanchez@lse.ac.uk|
Office Hour: CMK.C806, Wednesday 17:00-18-00

Dr. Rocio Diaz Bravo
Language Teacher (Spanish)
Contact Details: r.diaz-bravo@lse.ac.uk|
Office Hour: CMK.C806, Wednesda
y 17:00-18:00

Esteban Lozano
Language Teacher (Spanish)
Contact Details: e.lozano@lse.ac.uk|
Office Hour: CMK.C804, Monday 15:00-16:00

Director

Nick Byrne
Director
More Information:LSE Experts|
Contact Details: TW1.8.01F, +44 (0)20 7955 6899, n.byrne@lse.ac.uk|

Learning Support and Administration

John Heyworth
Centre Manager
Contact Details: CMK.C804, +44 (0)20 7955 7933, j.heyworth@lse.ac.uk|

Inés Alonso-García
Teaching and Learning Facilitator
Contact Details: CMK.C804, +44 (0)20 7955 6713, i.alonso-garcia@lse.ac.uk|

Helen Mayer
Teaching and Learning Facilitator 
Contact Details: CMK.C804
, +44(0)20 7955 6713, h.m.mayer@lse.ac.uk|

Karolina Marek-Paraschidis
Teaching and Learning Facilitator
Contact Details: CMK.804, +44 (0)20 7955 6713, k.m.marek-paraschidis@lse.ac.uk|

Matteo Fumagalli
Teaching and Learning Facilitator
Contact Details: CMK.C804, +44 (0)20 7955 6713, m.fumagalli@lse.ac.uk|

Structure of the Centre

Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|
Investors in People
BALEAP
Cercles

AULC