Home > Language Centre > Staff Contacts and Office Hours
How to contact us

LSE Language Centre
Ground Floor, 20 Kingsway
Houghton Street
London, WC2A 2AE

Tel: +44 (0)20  7955 6713
Email: languages@lse.ac.uk

 

DisabledGo guide for LSE

 

Director
Dr Neil McLean

 

Deputy Director
Alison Standring

 

Centre Manager
John Heyworth

 

Connect with us

Twitter_logo_blue_small  YouTube-icon-full_color_sma   facebookpage

 

 

Staff Contacts and Office Hours

Reception Opening Times

  • The Language Centre Reception is located on the ground floor of 20 Kingsway (20KSW). DisabledGo guide for LSE.
  • The Language Centre Reception is open 09:30-18:30 Monday-Thursday closing early on Fridays at 17:00.
  • For both the Christmas and Easter holiday weeks the LSE, and thus the Language Centre Reception, is closed.

Staff Office Hours

  • Language Centre Teaching Staff are situated in Tower 3 (TW3). DisabledGo guide for LSE.
  • Office hours are offered for the duration of the programme only. Many languages offer more than one and some are only for specific courses. Not all teachers have an office hour so you may need to go to the office hour of the Co-ordinator for the course(s) in question.
  • Any programmes exclusive to LSE members, i.e. Degree Courses, EAP Insessional Support programme and the EAP Foundation programme will be using the new LSE for You bookable office hour system.
  • Should an office hour be bookable using this system there will be a link to LSE for You next to Office Hour. In all other cases, i.e. for non-bookable office hours, the time, day and location will be stated below.

Arabic

Lourdes Hernández-Martín
Language Co-ordinator (Arabic) and Co-ordinator for Spanish Projects
Contact Details: TW3.6.01l, +44 (0)20 7955 6772, l.hernandez-martin@lse.ac.uk 
Office Hour and Support Session (Certificate courses): Please email Lourdes to book an appointment.

Luay Hasan
Language Teacher (Arabic)
Contact Details: l.hasan@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour: TW3.6.01, Tuesday 17:00-18:00

Nadim Ben-Mohamed-Mahjoub
Language Teacher (Arabic)
Contact Details: n.ben-mohamed-mahjoub@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour:  TW3.6.01, Monday 14:30-15:30 

Dr Nesrin Alrefaai
Language Teacher (Arabic)
Contact Details: n.alrefaai@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour:  TW3.6.01

Catalan

Ester Pou Jutglar
Language Teacher (Catalan)
Contact Details: e.pou-jutglar@lse.ac.uk 
Office Hour: TW3.6.01, Tuesday 17:00-18:00
Please email to book an appointment during this hour.

English for Academic Purposes

Alison Standring
Language Co-ordinator (EAP)
Contact Details:  TW3.6.01e, +44 (0)20 7955 7019,  a.standring@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour:
please use the LSE for You online booking system

Mike McGarvey
Language Co-ordinator (ELT)
Contact Details: TW3.6.01c, +44 (0)20 7955 7040, m.mcgarvey@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour:  please use the LSE for You online booking system

Christopher Sciberras
Co-ordinating Language Teacher (EAP)
Contact Details: TW3.6.01g, +44 (0)20 7955 6911, c.a.sciberras@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour: please use the LSE for You online booking system
 
Sarah Taylor
Co-ordinating Language Teacher (EAP)
Contact Details: TW3.6.01g, +44 (0)20 7955 6911, s.taylor5@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour: please use the LSE for You online booking system

Simon Roberts
Co-ordinating Language Teacher (EAP)
Contact Details: TW3.6.01j, +44 (0)20 7955 7577, s.j.roberts@lse.ac.uk 
Office Hour:  please use the LSE for You oline booking system

Michael Beaney
Co-ordinating Language Teacher (EAP)
Contact Details: 20KSW.G.09, +44 (0)20 7955 6899, m.a.beaney@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour: please use the LSE for You online booking system

Jim Pavitt
Co-ordinating Language Teacher (EAP)
Contact Details: TW3.6.01j, +44 (0)20 7955 7577, j.pavitt@lse.ac.uk 
Office Hour: please use the LSE for You online booking system

Michael Jacob
Language Teacher (EAP)
Contact Details: TW3.6.01, m.d.jacob@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour: please use the LSE for You online booking system

Andrew Mitchell
Co-ordinating Language Teacher (EAP)
Contact Details: 20KSW.G.10, +44 (0)20 7955 6914, a.b.mitchell@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour: please use the LSE for You online booking system

French

Florence Niclot
Language Co-ordinator (French)
Contact Details: TW3.6.01d, +44 (0)20 7955 6774, f.niclot@lse.ac.uk  
Office Hour (Certificate courses): Wednesday 14:00-16:00
Office Hour (Degree courses):  please use the LSE for You online booking system

François Simon
Assistant Language Co-ordinator (French)
Contact Details
: TW3.6.01k, +44 (0)20 7955 7021, f.simon@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour (Certificate courses):
Office Hour (Degree courses):  please use the LSE for You online booking system

Jean Souvignet
Co-ordinating Language Teacher (French)
Contact Details: TW3.6.01k, +44 (0)20 7955 7021, j.l.souvignet@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour (Degree courses):  please use the LSE for You online booking system

Abdel Halim Benzine
Language Teacher (French)
Contact Details: a.h.benzine@lse.ac.uk

Cécile Alais
Language Teacher (French)
Contact Detailsc.alais@lse.ac.uk

Stéphanie Beltrando
Language Teacher (French)
Contact Details: s.v.beltrando@lse.ac.uk

Jérôme Bertherat
Language Teacher (French)
Contact Details: j.bertherat@lse.ac.uk

Pierre Dagonnot
Language Teacher (French)
Contact Details: p.dagonnot@lse.ac.uk

Catherine Gaitte
Language Teacher (French)
Contact Details: c.h.gaitte@lse.ac.uk

Patricia Gaudron
Language Teacher (French)
Contact Details: p.a.gaudron@lse.ac.uk

Patricia Morabo
Language Teacher (French)
Contact Details: p.morabo@lse.ac.uk

Thierry Semo
Language Teacher (French)
Contact Details: t.semo@lse.ac.uk

Sandrine Victor
Language Teacher (French)
Contact Details: s.k.victor@lse.ac.uk

German

Dr. Peter Skrandies
More Information:  LSE Experts
Language Co-ordinator (German)
Contact Details:  TW3.6.01f, +44(0)20 7955 7041, p.j.skrandies@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour (Certificate courses): Tuesdays 15:00-16:00
Office Hour (Degree courses): please use the LSE for You online booking system

Susanne Müller-Menckens
Language Teacher (German) 
Contact Details: s.muller-menckens@lse.ac.uk

Doris Hermann-Ostrowski
Language Teacher (German)
Contact Details: d.hermann-ostrowski@lse.ac.uk

Florian Fischer
Language Teacher (German)
Contact Details: f.r.fischer@lse.ac.uk

Martina Rohr
Language Teacher (German)
Contact Details: m.rohr@lse.ac.uk

Italian

Anna Maria Giuffria
Language Teacher (Italian)
Contact Details: a.m.giuffria@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour: TW3.6.01, Thursday 17:00-18:00

Flavia D'Angelantonio
Language Teacher (Italian) 
Contact Detailsf.d'angelantonio@lse.ac.uk

Japanese

Yoko Aldous
Language Teacher (Japanese)
Contact Details: y.aldous@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour: TW3.6.01, Thursday 14:30-15:30

Nobuko Leslie
Language Teacher (Japanese)
Contact Details: n.leslie@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour: TW3.6.01

Yukie Yagioka
Language Teacher (Japanese)
Contact Details: y.yagioka@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour: TW3.6.01

Korean

Allan Christopher Simpson
Language Teacher (Korean)
Contact Details: a.c.simpson@lse.ac.uk

Literature & Linguistics

Dr. Angus Wrenn
More Information: LSE Experts
Co-ordinating Language Teacher (EAP) with special responsibilities for Literature Degree Options
Contact Details: TW3.6.01a, +44 (0)20 7955 7020, a.j.wrenn@lse.ac.uk 
Office Hour: please use the LSE for You online booking system

Dr. Olga Sobolev
More Information: LSE Experts
Language Co-ordinator (Russian)
Contact Details: TW3.6.01a, +44 (0)20 7955 7020, o.sobolev@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour (Certificate courses):  Thursday 13:00-14:00
Office Hour (Degree courses):  please use the LSE for You online booking system

Dr. Peter Skrandies
More Information:  LSE Experts
Language Co-ordinator (German)
Contact Details:  TW3.6.01f, +44(0)20 7955 7041, p.j.skrandies@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour (Certificate courses): Tuesdays 14:00-15:00
Office Hour (Degree courses): please use the LSE for You online booking system

Mandarin

Dr. Catherine Hua Xiang
More Information: LSE Experts
Language Co-ordinator (Mandarin, Japanese, Korean)
Contact Details: TW3.6.01b, +44(0)20 7955 6929, h.xiang@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour: please use the LSE for You online booking system

Dr. Lijing Shi
More Information:  LSE Experts
Assistant Language Co-ordinator (Mandarin)
Contact Details: TW3.6.01h, +44(20) 7107 5561, l.shi3@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour (Degree courses): please use the LSE for You online booking system
Office Hour (Certificate courses): Wednesday 16:00-17:00

Hongyi Xin
Co-ordinating Language Teacher (Mandarin)
Contact Details: TW3.6.01g, +44(20) 7955 6595, h.xin@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour (Degree courses): please use the LSE for You online booking system
Office Hour (Certificate courses): Wednesday 16:00-17:00

Fang Pan
Co-ordinating Language Teacher (Mandarin)
Contact Details: TW3.6.01h, +44(20) 7107 5561, f.pan2@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour (Degree courses): please use the LSE for You online booking system
Office Hour (Certificate courses): Thursday 14:00-15:00

Xiaolan Bi
Language Teacher (Mandarin)
Contact Details:

Portuguese

Benvinda Alves
Language Teacher (Portuguese)
Contact Detailsb.alves@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour:  TW3.6.01, Tuesday 17:00-18:00

Russian

Dr. Olga Sobolev
More Information: LSE Experts
Language Co-ordinator (Russian)
Contact Details: TW3.6.01a, +44 (0)20 7955 7020, o.sobolev@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour (Certificate courses):  Thursday 13:00-14:00
Office Hour (Degree courses):  please use the LSE for You online booking system

Natasha Bershadski
Language Teacher (Russian)
Contact Details: n.bershadski@lse.ac.uk

Irina Forbes
Language Teacher (Russian)
Contact Details: i.forbes@lse.ac.uk

Dr. Ekaterina Rogatchevskaia
Language Teacher (Russian)
Contact Details: e.rogatchevskaia@lse.ac.uk

Spanish

Mercedes Coca
Language Co-ordinator (Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, Catalan)
Contact Details: TW3.6.01i, +44 (0)20 7955 7025, m.coca@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour (Certificate courses):  Wednesday 12:00-13:00
Office Hour (Degree courses): please use the LSE for You online booking system

Lourdes Hernández-Martín
Language Co-ordinator (Arabic) and Co-ordinator for Spanish Projects
Contact Details: TW3.6.01l, +44 (0)20 7955 6772, l.hernandez-martin@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour (Degree courses): please use the LSE for You online booking system

Rafael Peñas Cruz
Co-ordinating Language Teacher (Spanish)
Contact Details: TW3.6.01l, +44 (0)20 7955 7934, r.cruz@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour (Certificate courses):  Wednesday 13:00-14:00
Office Hour (Degree courses): please use the LSE for You online booking system

Dr. Roser Martinez-Sanchez
Co-ordinating
Language Teacher (Spanish)
Contact Details: TW3.6.01g, +44(20) 7955 6595, r.martinez-sanchez@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour (Certificate courses):  Friday 14:00-15:00
Office Hour (Degree courses): please use the LSE for You online booking system

Esteban Lozano
Language Teacher (Spanish)
Contact Details: e.lozano@lse.ac.uk
Office Hour:  TW3.6.01, Monday 15:00-16:00

Paula de Santiago Gonzalez
Language Teacher (Spanish)
Contact Details:
Office Hour:  TW3.6.01, Thursday 15:00-16:00

Director

Dr. Neil McLean
Director
Contact Details: 20KSW.G.07 +44 (0)20 7955 7180, n.d.mclean@lse.ac.uk

Deputy Director

Alison Standring
Deputy Director
Contact Details:  TW3.6.01e, +44 (0)20 7955 7019,  a.standring@lse.ac.uk

Learning Support and Administration

John Heyworth
Centre Manager
Contact Details: 20KSW.G.06, +44 (0)20 7955 7933, j.heyworth@lse.ac.uk

Inés Alonso-García
Teaching and Learning Facilitator
Contact Details: 20KSW.G.03, +44 (0)20 7955 6910, i.alonso-garcia@lse.ac.uk

Helen Mayer
Teaching and Learning Facilitator
Contact Details: 20KSW.G.03, +44 (0)20 7955 6910, h.m.mayer@lse.ac.uk

Vacant
Receptionist
Contact Details: 20KSW.G.03, +44 (0)20 7955 6713,

Emmanuelle Rodet
Course Administrator
Contact Details: 20KSW.G.03, +44(0)20 7955 6910, e.rodet@lse.ac.uk

Maria Auxiliadora do Prado
Course Administrator
Contact Details: 20KSW.G.03, +44(0)20 7955 6910, m.a.do-prado@lse.ac.uk

Structure of the Centre

Share:Facebook|Twitter|LinkedIn|
Investors in People
BALEAP
Cercles

AULC