Department of Law

Page Contents >

Postgraduate Research Scholarships

For the academic year 2011/2012, the Department of Law at the London School of Economics will offer up to four Postgraduate Research Scholarships.

These awards will be available to all applicants wishing to pursue study leading to the degree of MPhil/PhD. Applicants must meet the entry conditions a specified in their offer of admission from LSE. The LSE Law Department received the highest ranking in the country in the Research Assessment Exercise 2008. 75 per cent of our research was rated either world-class or of international renown. We are the top research university in law, whether that assessment is based either on the grade point average or the proportion of publications winning the accolade of 4* and currently have some 97 students in candidature for the MPhil/PhD degrees.

The scholarships will be awarded on the basis of merit and outstanding academic achievement. The scholarships cover fees and living expenses of £13,000 each year for up to three years. They are available for Home UK/EU and Overseas students undertaking research in Law. The four scholarships are available to those studying in any area of law. Up to two of the awards may take the form of named awards should suitable applicants be identified. The Wedderburn scholarship is a named award available to those specialising in Commercial Law, Company Law or Labour Law; the Judge Rosalyn Higgins scholarship is available to those specialising in the area of Public International Law.

All scholarships are for a term of up to three years. Subject to satisfactory completion of the first year the award may be renewed each year.

*The Wedderburn Scholarship is funded through the generosity of donors to the Wedderburn Trust Fund, established in the name of Professor Lord Wedderburn of Charlton, QC, FBA, Cassel Professor of Commercial Law at the LSE from 1964-92.

The Judge Rosalyn Higgins Scholarship is funded through the generosity of donors to the Higgins Trust Fund, established in the name of Professor Rosalyn Higgins, QC, DBE, Professor of International Law at the LSE from 1981-1995.

Application Process

Award recipients will be selected from applicants to the PhD programme| in the Department of Law.

The closing date for doctoral applications is 07 March 2011.

If you have been accepted on the Law Department's postgraduate research programme by the above date, you will automatically be considered for these Scholarships. There is no separate application form.

Enquiries about the PhD programme should be directed to Rachel Yarham| in the Department of Law.

Olive Stone Memorial Scholarship

A scholarship fund has been established under the terms of a bequest to the School by Dr Olive Stone, a former member of the Law Department. The purpose of the fund is to offer scholarships of a sufficient value to enable female students of 25 years and over who would not otherwise be able to do so to study at the School. 

The scholarship is open to prospective law students and law students already registered at the School. 

One or more scholarships may be offered at the discretion of the selection committee. The value of the scholarship will be determined by the selection committee.  (In 2010/11, two scholarships of £3500 were awarded). 

Applicants for this scholarship will normally be required to attend an interview.  

The scholarship is tenable for one year in the first instance, subject to the award-holder registering as a student of the School. The scholarship may be renewed subject to re-application by the student; such renewal applications must be made in writing. Students who apply to have their award renewed will normally be interviewed by the Panel. Renewal is subject to good academic progress and continuing financial need. 

Application process

To apply for this scholarship, you must download and complete an application form. The application form is available on Graduate Admissions' web tracker system| once you have been made an offer of admission by the School. You can also download the form here. Download a Postgraduate Research Scholarship Application Form| (PDF). By completing this form, you will ensure that you receive consideration for this and any other award(s) which you meet the eligibility criteria for. The deadline for the receipt of applications is: 07 March 2011.

Please return your application form with one academic reference to the Financial Support Office.

More information about references|