LSE named awards

Each year, the LSE offers a number of "named" scholarships to postgraduate students.  These are awarded on academic merit, though we also consider financial need.  The terms and value of the awards vary. 

These awards will be awarded automatically to applicants for other LSE awards.


Brief summary


Alfred Zauberman Award 

Preference for students of Eastern European countries and for the study of the economics of those countries.

1 award of £2000

Benjamin Lippincott Scholarship

For students researching the history of political ideas, analytical and critical theory.

1 award of £1500.

Jackson Lewis Scholarship

One award with no restrictions on eligibility for a research student.

1 award of £3000

Metcalfe Studentship for Women

Two studentships annually for a student undertaking research on a social, economic or industrial problem which is approved by the School.

£2000 is available.

Morris Finer Memorial Studentships

To enable research, either contemporary or historical, in a socio-legal field connected with labour law, social services law, criminal law, family law, welfare law, criminology, social administration, or sociology.

£4000 is available, which would normally be split between candidates