How to contact us
See Web support for all the latest guidance and news about creating and editing content using the CMS and for the LSE web style guide, which is applicable to all web contributors.


Following a review between January and April 2009, the LSE website is now structured
as follows:

  • LSE website
    • Staff and students – the School's intranet
    • Academic department websites (21):
      1. Department of Accounting
      2. Department of Anthropology
      3. Development Studies Institute (DESTIN)
      4. Department of Economic History
      5. Department of Economics
      6. European Institute
      7. Department of Finance
      8. Department of Geography and Environment
      9. Department of Government
      10. Department of International History
      11. Department of International Relations
      12. Language Centre
      13. Department of Law
      14. Department of Management
      15. Department of Mathematics
      16. Department of Media and Communications
      17. Methodology Institute
      18. Department of Philosophy, Logic and Scientific Method
      19. Department of Social Policy
      20. Department of Sociology
      21. Department of Statistics
    • Research centre websites (19):
      1. Asia Research Centre
      2. Centre for the Study of Bioscience, Biomedicine, Biotechnology and Society (BIOS)
      3. Centre for Civil Society (CCS)
      4. Centre for Climate Change Economics and Policy
      5. The Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment
      6. Centre for Economic Performance (CEP)
      7. Suntory and Toyota International Centres for Economics and Related Disciplines (STICERD)
      8. Financial Markets Group (FMG)
      9. Centre for the Study of Human Rights
      10. IDEAS: Diplomacy and Strategy @ LSE
      11. International Growth Centre (IGC)
      12. LSE Global Governance
      13. LSE Health and Social Care
      14. LSE Cities
      15. Centre for Philosophy of Natural and Social Science (CPNSS)
      16. Centre for Analysis of Risk and Regulation (CARR)
      17. Centre for Analysis of Social Exclusion (CASE)
      18. Spatial Economics Research Centre (SERC)
      19. Centre for the Analysis of Time Series (CATS)
    • Library website



The LSE website as a whole is managed by the corporate web editor. Each sub-site is managed by a single managing editor who - depending on the size of each site - is optionally supported by one or more contributors. As it is rarely the case that contributors are within the managing editors' line management, some contributors are designated as senior contributors due to their seniority relative to other contributors working on the site. Senior contributors support managing editors to ensure effective and efficient management of sites. See Roles for more.


Prior to the review, the LSE website reflected a flat view of LSE's organisational structure. The LSE website was composed of around 354 sub-sites representing departments, groups, projects, and other activities. These websites were managed by around 410 web editors, coordinated by Web Services. Figure 1 – LSE website structure – illustrates the different websites – and types of website – that make up the LSE website.

LSE website structure
Figure 1 - LSE website structure


The LSE website has been in existence since the mid 1990s. Originally, a centralised model of production and provision was adopted, controlled by the Library. In 1999 this changed to a devolved publishing model and soon afterwards management of the LSE website was transferred to Planning and Corporate Policy Division (formerly Secretariat).